Customer Reviews for

Shine

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    This book was just AHHHHHmazing. From the emotional rollercoaste

    This book was just AHHHHHmazing. From the emotional rollercoaster to the beauty of Ireland and Scotland to the insane action and drama....it was top notch. I have to admit, I love my sensitive, tortured boys. Sucks for Zachary, but it makes me love him that much more. It was a perfect ending to a unique story. I was so happy to see all the characters get to make an appearance in this book and it will be so sad to say goodbye to them. Loved it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Goodreads Description: In this dramatic conclusion to the Shade

    Goodreads Description:

    In this dramatic conclusion to the Shade trilogy, Aura and Zachary’s relationship sizzles as the secrets of the Shift are revealed.

    Life can change in an instant, and no one understands that better than Aura. It’s been almost a year since her boyfriend tragically died. She’s finally letting go of Logan’s violet-hued ghost, but not her search to uncover the truth about her past.

    As the first in a generation that can see ghosts, Aura is convinced she has a connection to the Shift. She’s trusted Zachary, ever patient and ever by her side, with all that she knows. But when the government threatens his life in an attempt to learn Aura’s secrets, she will stop at nothing to protect herself and the one she loves...even if that means betraying her own heart.

    So I just finished this book at 1:30 am. I'm still not completely over it. Seriously. This entire series has had me from the get go and I am so head over heels in love with it.

    This book was the perfect ending to this series. So. Completely. Perfect. I cannot stress to you enough how big of a fan girl I am with this.

    What did I think?

    I have to say a special thank you to Andrea at The Bookish Babe and Jaime at Two Chicks on Books who encouraged *cough "pressured" cough* me to read this series. This has become one of my all time favorite series.

    Having said that, on with my review...

    I will try to do this with at less spoilers as I can but if I ruin something, I'm terribly sorry!

    From the very first chapter, Jeri had me freaking out. Seriously. It was pretty crazy there for a while. Once I started reading, I could not stop.

    We leftShiftin a somewhat happy/sad kind of state. Things were starting to look better even though it hurt. Quite a bit actually. I am a true Logan fan. I loved him from the first book and I've loved him throughout. One of the best parts about this book is that everyone is finding some semblence of peace with Logan. It made me smile and catch a few stray tears.

    I love Zachary too. Yes, he was awesome in the first two books, but guys, he was unbelievable in Shine. In a totally epic way. He was just the perfect guy. For everything. He was the strength that Aura needed.

    Not that Aura wasn't strong. But in the first two, you only got a small taste of what a powerhouse she can actually be. In Shine, she breaks through with flying colors. It was so awesome to see because I KNEW she had it in her. I knew it in my core that this was going to be her book.

    This book has it all. Suspense, action, emotion (soooooooo much emotion), and plenty of romance. Everything is written so beautifully. You feel EVERYTHING. I'm tearing up right now just thinking of some of the parts. *sniffles*

    I cannot stress it enough that Jeri Smith-Ready is truly brilliant. Her writing is uncomparable and completely touches your heart. You literally go through every emotion in her books. Especially this series.

    All I can truly say is wow. Jeri Smith-Ready blew me away.

    SIDENOTE: I also read Bridge in the anthology Enthralled where it was a Mickey & Logan story while reading Shine. Holy crap. Reading that short story while reading this book, made it's effect so much more I could hardly stand it.

    Favorite Quote:

    Our own journeys to peace would last us the rest of our lives. But I felt one certainty as surely as I felt the earth beneath my feet. This song was one of that journey's largest steps. -Pg 234

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I had the privilege of reading an ARC of Shine by Jeri Smith-Rea

    I had the privilege of reading an ARC of Shine by Jeri Smith-Ready a couple of months ago. I read the book in one sitting, not able to put it down because I just *had* to know how Zach and Aura's story would end, but also because it was just that good. My thoughts upon that first read: I loved every single word, even the ones that made me cry. Now that I've had a chance to re-read this exceptional book, I thought I'd expand on my earlier thoughts.

    Shine has it all: intrigue, mystery, suspense, love, heartache, resolution. It's a brilliant ending to an amazing series. I don't want to give too much away for anyone who hasn't read this amazing series (and if you haven't GO, read them NOW!), but if Shade is Logan's book and Shift is Zachary's, then Shine is most definitely Aura's book. All three are told from her point of view, but Shine really lets Aura ... for lack of a better word, shine.

    From the first chapter to the last Jeri takes the readers on an emotional roller coaster of a ride and you'd better hang on because there are twists and turns and ups and downs that will have you gripping your seat. Shine had me laughing and crying and holding my breath - sometimes all at the same time - as the story unfolded and we finally learn the mystery of the Shift.

    And while Zach and Aura are trying to solve the mystery of their births and how they (possibly) caused the Shift, their relationship grows. Zach and Aura have been through a lot already, and Jeri puts them through even more in Shine, but somehow they manage to come through it - their relationship stronger than ever because of what they've gone through. Jeri has been teasing her online readers with bits and pieces of the castle scene(s) since last summer and let me tell you - it's even better than you think. Many YA authors tend to gloss over sex scenes, but Jeri handled it perfectly. It was beautiful and poignant and sweet and funny and so ... well, just so Aura and Zach.

    All your favorite characters (Dylan, Megan, Siobhan, Mickey, Connor, Gina, etc.) are present. Yes, even Logan. For all those Logan fans out there, don't worry, Logan is very much present in this book and Jeri weaves his parts seamlessly throughout the story, from beginning to end. I think that's one of the things I loved most about Shine. Because even though Logan is gone, he is still so much a part of the story.

    We also get to meet a few new characters as well. Simon and Martin in particular stand out. If I'm ever in the need of a spy to watch over me, I'll take Simon in a heartbeat. And I loved Martin!! I can't wait to see more of him in Zach's book "Shattered" which comes out July 31st (if I'm not mistaken).

    My first impression still holds: I loved every single word, even the ones that made me cry. Jeri has written an exceptional ending to what is definitely one of my favorite YA series. I'm sorry to see this series end because I'll miss the characters and the world she created for them, but I'm grateful for an ending this good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Sooooo excited!!!!!!! Cant wait for this book!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Seriously the best!

    This book is beyond perfect. If you enjoyed Shade and Shift, then you'll love this book. I love this book. I love this series. I love Jeri. It is amazing. JUST READ IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Loved it

    I loved these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    I just can't even begin to tell you how much I adore Jeri Smith-

    I just can't even begin to tell you how much I adore Jeri Smith-Ready's Shade series. I'm talking total and complete squealie fan-girl LOVE. It's a rare and wonderful thing when you discover a series that you can't help but bestow 5 huge bedazzled stars on each and every book. Once I reached the end of Shine, I knew that this was one of those times.

    Shine starts off with a big, emotional bang when Aura has to send Zachary off at the airport since he's essentially been deported back to Scotland with his parents. She soon learns that his travel plans didn't go off like they were supposed to, and now they both are in some serious trouble as the DMP and other interest groups have their sights set on preventing them from learning more about the Shift.

    Shine was different from Shade and Shift. Aura and Zachary have been through so much by this time, both individually and together as a couple. Not much of the story is set in their high school for a change, although much of the story spans Aura's senior year. The school parts are glossed over in favor of focusing on the drama surrounding Zachary's attempted return home and his and Aura's attempts to try and figure out her mom's motives for going to Ireland originally in the hopes that it could lead to them ending the Shift.

    Shine is definitely the heaviest book in the trilogy. That much is apparent from the very beginning when a major tragedy occurs that rocks Aura and her whole community (the entire country, actually) to the core. Aura and Zachary are faced with some serious challenges to their relationship too, and not just whether or not Aura may still be in love with Logan. This time around they have to battle thousands of miles of distance, government agencies threatening their freedoms and lives, and friendships and relationships crumbling around them.

    The best part about Shine is that despite all the craziness going on around them, Aura and Zachary have finally - at LONG last - come to a good place in their relationship, and it's the shiny happy good thing that the reader has to hold on to as we get through all the bad stuff. Zachary is at his absolute best. Please tell me that guys like him really exist out there. Because, he is so utterly amazing. He's protective of Aura and supportive and so so in love with her. He's still awkward at times, doesn't always say and do the right things. But, when it really counts, you just know he will do what needs to be done.

    And Aura - I have to tell you. She bugged the crap out of me in Shade. Her back and forth between Logan and Zachary drove me up a wall. She was unsure of herself and kinda mean at times and I hated that about her. Finally in Shine she has found her place and stays there. It's certainly not easy - hell, it's downright dangerous at times. But, she never wavers, and that absolutely rocks.

    Shine was dangerous and exciting and frustrating and heartbreakingly romantic. Aura and Zachary are one of my favorite bookish couples of all time. They are sweet and funny and completely solid. Jeri Smith-Ready's knowledge of Irish and Scottish mythology, dialects and customs once again is so apparent, and it adds so much richness to the story. She's an amazing writer, and definitely one of my favorites.

    Once again, I listened to the audio version of Shine, even though I own a signed hard copy, mainly because Kristine Hvam does an absolutely OUTSTANDING job narrating. If you've never tried audiobooks before, the Shade series is a great one to start with. Hell - even if you have, just please. Go out and read this series. It is so incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Loved it

    This book was a great end to the series. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Ok I have waited over a year to read this book so it came as no

    Ok I have waited over a year to read this book so it came as no surprise that I sat up til 3am to finish reading it. That and it was freaking amazing.




    Shine starts right where Shift leaves off.. and anything I write after that becomes one giant spoiler. Let me sum it up.




    There was chase scenes, fight scenes, death scenes, love scenes, happy scenes, sad scenes and OMG scenes. If you feel anyway connected to the characters in this book then you need to make sure you have tissues handy.




    The only thing I would recommend is that you read the three books together, or very close together just to get the full impact of the story. Since it has been over a year since I read Shift I was a little hazy on some of the details, but obviously it didn't impede my enjoyment. Even though I have just finished reading I honestly cant wait to re-read this series back to back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Squirrelkit and Clawkit

    G'night. *they curl up in beds; Squirrelkit's is next to Morningkit's and Clawkit's is next to Dalmationkit's*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Asteidkit to bellakit

    I think greystone should be exiled

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Cats

    She pushed once more and a black tom with red flecks slid out. She started bleeding hard and her eyes started to dull. She whispered, take care of my kits... Elephantkit, Oceankit and Cirokit... she started to see the den go grey, then black as she fainted~Flutterwish

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Blackkit

    Hey-yo he said

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Shadowcw

    K

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Spiderfoot

    (R u tlking to greystone?) Smiles.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Blackspot

    Blackspot padded in looking for Mistfeater.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Silverheart

    Gtg. I will be back September 1st.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    ALPHAWOLF TO ALL

    Look in the first result. Please tell people about this in the morning. Because i might be in canada.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Morningkit

    Gtg. Nite everyone

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Larkstream

    She makes a new nest

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2