Customer Reviews for

Shine

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Great weekend read, great plot, great characters. Finished it in a few hours time

posted by bookholiday on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It was okay....

It was okay...not my kind of book really. But good enough for me to read and finish! There is elements that i didn't like and that i did.

posted by 11318721 on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Vgggggghhhhhh

    Hhhhhh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    EMERGENCY

    Everyone i had just heard that the chosen clans(?) are destroying other clans. I believe we need to hide. my sister has a clan called fogclan if we go there than we could be safe or we could try to fight it off if they come they took out 3 so far so i am going to go to fogclan you can join me at nekonion all results you might see adds but i am just warning you i dont know if they will find you but be safe good bye everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Firtree

    He sighed and cleaned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Spiritblaze

    -she nods- She has blackcough though. Her post is in the first result, titled,'Unknownkit'. -the cat looks at the kit before padding out-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Hollykit

    Ok

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Icetail

    Sorts herbs and helps set up the common herb stock.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Havenpaw

    Patches them with cobwebs. (Sorry gtgtb! Ill help u tomorrow mousefeather)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    NIGHTSTAR TO ALL

    WE ARE MOVING TO LITTLE ALL RESULTS!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Amazing!

    An engaging story from beginning to end. I could not put this book down. It is beautifully written and is definitely a must-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Best Young Adult Book Ever

    As a teenager who LOVES to read, it's hard for me to find a young adult book that fits my taste. However, Shine was such a good book that I finished the day I bought it. It has the mystery element that I enjoy (My favorite authors are Agatha Christie and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) and it is captivating and leaves you guessing til the end. Most young adult books either have some sort of romance with some kind of supernatural being or a love triangle that's horribly cliche. But Shine addresses real issues that young teenagers face, and allows you to connect with the characters in a way the most teen books can't. I recommend this book to anyone, young, old, teen, man, woman, whoever. It is an excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Tornpelt

    K see u there. Tornpelt

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Raw Southern Story about a Hate Crime Mystery

    Loved it. Not for anyone under 17 I would say, some Graphic content, not much but nothing I would want my kids to read. Little to do with the fact that it was a hate crime, more to do with the journey of tracking down the person who did the crime with a intertwining story on the main character who is doing the tracking because it is her best friend who got hurt. Worth a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Good book

    Really a good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    By far my favorite book

    I am ussually not into teen fiction, however this book changed my views on everything. It had me hooked from the first page. After I read it then raved to everyone about it, they all wanted to read it- even my english teacher. The story will make you fall in love with the charecters and they'll haunt you- in a good way- even after finishing the book. Everyone can learn things from the book such as forgiveness, love, and having a true friend. It will keep you guessing untill the very end and have you in tears many times. I cannot describe how much this book means to me but I can tell you, you will never regret reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Sparrow

    She shook her tiny head. "Your information is wrong. Try again."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Captivating!

    This is not something I would normally read but it kept me interested till the end. I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    YA Version of Justified

    I got this because it seemed to be an Appalachian noir, like Winter's Bone. Once I began did I realize Myracle is a YA author. The book has to go through some teen character cliches, most notably an out-of-place romance with a character whose opening act is so dispicible that he spends the rest of the novel trying to redeem himself. He never does.

    What we end up with is something tamer than Winter's Bone. Young Adult Justified. Myracle tackles mature themes but can't quite commit to the darkness. That said, if you want a quick whodunit with a spunky lead and an LGBT angle, I recommend Shine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    WOW.

    Simply the best book i have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Must read!!!!!

    I want to start off saying i finished this book in 5 hours. This book really surprised me with all the twist and turns it absolutly keeps you wanting more and you wont want to put it down! I recommend this to anyone who wants to read a book that could easily be realistic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6