Customer Reviews for

Shine

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Great weekend read, great plot, great characters. Finished it in a few hours time

posted by bookholiday on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It was okay....

It was okay...not my kind of book really. But good enough for me to read and finish! There is elements that i didn't like and that i did.

posted by 11318721 on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    It was okay....

    It was okay...not my kind of book really. But good enough for me to read and finish!
    There is elements that i didn't like and that i did.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Just OK

    I thought this book was just ok. Very predictable and at times boring.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    This was a good read.

    This is a good read for coming of age n parents to read together.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "I loved everyone who said yes to the world and tried to ma

    "I loved everyone who said yes to the world and tried to make it better instead of worst, because so much in the world was ugly - and just about all the ugly parts were due to humans. I counted myself among those pitiful ranks. I didn't slam meth or get stinking drunk or go off and molest anyone, but that didn't let me off the hook. I hid in the shadows, but hiding had the power to hurt, too."

    This book has been on my Kindle for several months - at least. I kept putting off reading it because of the difficult subject matter it dealt with. I hate reading about the worst in human beings. But, I finally decided to read it a few days ago. I finished it relatively quickly and have been thinking about how to rate/review it since the moment I finished. 

    I didn't grow up in the south, but I did grow up in a very rural area in Pennsylvania. The description of rural America was spot on. (I'm generalizing here. I know not everyone who lives in the south or a rural area is a bigot.) Small towns all too often come with small minds. The setting was so-well written that I could almost identify it as home and I could believe something this truly awful potentially happening there. 

    The characters were very complex. I identified with Cat straight off. Her dedication to finding out who attacked her friend and bringing them to justice was so very powerful and believable for me. If, god forbid, something like this happened to one of my friends, I think I would do exactly this. She obviously grappled with the bad things from her past and how she pulled away from her friends after what happened. I loved learning about Patrick throughout the book. He was a powerful character, though he was unconscious for the majority of the book. 

    Ok, now the not-so-great things. I'll try not to give anything away. Cat confronting the meth dealer? Really? I can't imagine someone being that dumb. The big climax scene was borderline ridiculous to me. You could almost see it coming a mile away. The love story for Cat was absolutely unnecessary in my mind. The other relationships in the book were so powerful that it didn't need that added dimension. 

    The thing that infuriated me beyond belief was how things were handled once the attacker's identity was revealed. I know, I know, it took care of itself in the end, but the forgiveness and acceptance was unbelievable to me. After committing actions so reprehensible, I believe it should have been made known. 

    So, all in all, I really did appreciate this book. All that said, however, I think it will be a long time before I read another book about a subject quite this heavy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1