Customer Reviews for

Shine

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Great weekend read, great plot, great characters. Finished it in a few hours time

posted by bookholiday on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It was okay....

It was okay...not my kind of book really. But good enough for me to read and finish! There is elements that i didn't like and that i did.

posted by 11318721 on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    Great weekend read, great plot, great characters. Finished it in a few hours time

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I have followed Myracle's career since the beginning to try to understand what my daughters and older grandchildren were so excited about, so I picked up Shine thinking I knew what was coming. I didn't. This book isn't Winnie or Zoe or Mad Maddie. Nor is it Vicks or Jessie. Myracle's readers will know to whom I refer. Those of you who aren't can read Shine without being misdirected by prior knowledge of Myracle's sunny prose and "all's well that ends well" philosophy.

    Shine is gritty--sometimes raw and always intense. It drags prejudices and human frailty into the spotlight for close examination, dealing with subjects that aren't sunny, such as homophobia and drug use, poverty and isolation. It is not like anything Myracle has ever written before, but like her prior stories, it is well-crafted and entertaining. Shine belongs in the adult section. I think it is her best work.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Let the sun shine down!

    Let me preface this review with a disclaimer: This is my first Lauren Myracle book, but if this is what I can expect from her, then I may just bring myself to reading her other works although I think I may pass on the Internet Girls series.


    Shine is a remarkable read that is sure to be timeless. I am in awe of Lauren Myracle for tackling such a emotionally-charged topic and doing so with great care, respect, and brutal honesty. I don't think I have read anything quite like it. At a time where the paranormal genre runs rampant with angels and unicorns and werewolves, I strongly urge everyone to take a breather and check out Shine. It is definitely worth your while!


    There are so many things to digest after reading Shine that I hardly know where to start. Cat makes for a perfect narrator who has to brace herself against the "small town = small minds" of Black Creek in order to find who had left her best friend for dead. Additionally, Cat has to reconcile with her own demons in the form of an older brother who disappointed her at the most critical moment of her life and a classmate who has wronged her in the most unforgivable way. As she digs deeper into the truth, she discovers that the small town has been infiltrated by meth - and among its users are some of her classmates.


    The ending of Shine will be sure to grip you in an unexpected manner, and it will force you to take a step back and see everyone involved in a new light. Even villains can have a heart. Even villains can redeem themselves. Then again, even villains can remain villains, no matter how you try hard to save them.




    Gritty, dark, disturbingly and sadly real, Shine comes at the right time in our lives where society is still hesitant about homosexuality. This is what happens, and this is what has to stop happening! I love that Shine addresses hate crime, but at the same time I am sad that it has to.


    Do yourselves a favor. Go and read Shine.



    Then spread the love. Stop the hate.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling

    Lauren Myracle's Shine starts off with a bang. The first few pages are of a newspaper article focusing on the brutal beating of Patrick, a gay high school student. After reading the "article" I couldn't help but be taken back several years to the headlines surrounding the beating of Matthew Shepard, and I immediately found myself drawn into the story.

    Sixteen-year-old Cat used to be best friends with Patrick. One day, three years ago, Cat withdrew from her friends after an unfortunate run-in with one of her brothers friends. Now that Patrick is lying in a coma, Cat decides she needs to do the right thing, and feels she owes it to Patrick to find out who did this to him.

    Patrick & Cat live in a very small town in the mountains of North Carolina. The people are poor, white trash, "clannish", some of them drug dealers and meth heads, and most of them quite backwards in their ways of thinking. The local sheriff doesn't want to believe that someone from the town would do this, but Cat thinks differently. During her investigation into what happened, Cat is forced to reconnect with old friends (and enemies) to find out who would do such a thing to Patrick, and most importantly, find out why.

    The author paints each character with depth and precision. Having grown up in a small town, very similar to Black Creek, it wasn't hard for me to buy into the characters or the situations presented in the novel at all. This book kept me up late as I raced to finish it, and left me thinking about it long afterward. The copy I read was an advance copy from NetGalley, but I will definitely be going out to buy the hardcover version as soon as it is released. This one deserves a spot on my shelf.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Wow!

    I read this last summer and I loved it. It was the most intense book I've ever read. This book isn't like Lauren Myracle's past books. She shows hardship and determination. This book should be made into a MOVIE . I've said this for soooo long. It has all the aspects to make a great film.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Beautiful.

    READ THIS BOOK!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Shine Shines

    Lauren Myracle has grown up since the Internet Girls series. Shine is a book that will stay with you long after you finish the last page. Cat's former best friend Patrick becomes a victim of a hate crime in their poor, Carolina mountain town. While he is in a coma, Cat investigates the crime since she knows the local sheriff will do little to solve the case. During her investigation Cat must face her own past demons as well as those of the town. Ultimately she not only discovers what happened to Patrick but she manages to find herself.

    Myracle treats the subject matter with great sensitivity including sexual abuse, drug addiction and the hate crime itself. Her characters, while many of them flawed, are extremely likable and heartbreaking. Myracle maintains a high level of suspense throughout the novel that will make you race through the last pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    This book is amazing. It is so good that it should be made into

    This book is amazing. It is so good that it should be made into a movie. When it was over I cried because I loved that book so much. It only took my about a day to read it. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Moisefeather to havenpaw

    *grabs his head*grrrrr

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Bellakit

    Sighs

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    URGENT

    A CAT IS GIVING BIRTH AT FIRST RESULT ICETAIL YOU MIGHT RECOGNIZE THIS CAT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Vgggggghhhhhh

    Hhhhhh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    EMERGENCY

    Everyone i had just heard that the chosen clans(?) are destroying other clans. I believe we need to hide. my sister has a clan called fogclan if we go there than we could be safe or we could try to fight it off if they come they took out 3 so far so i am going to go to fogclan you can join me at nekonion all results you might see adds but i am just warning you i dont know if they will find you but be safe good bye everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Firtree

    He sighed and cleaned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Spiritblaze

    -she nods- She has blackcough though. Her post is in the first result, titled,'Unknownkit'. -the cat looks at the kit before padding out-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Hollykit

    Ok

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Icetail

    Sorts herbs and helps set up the common herb stock.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Amazing!

    An engaging story from beginning to end. I could not put this book down. It is beautifully written and is definitely a must-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Best Young Adult Book Ever

    As a teenager who LOVES to read, it's hard for me to find a young adult book that fits my taste. However, Shine was such a good book that I finished the day I bought it. It has the mystery element that I enjoy (My favorite authors are Agatha Christie and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) and it is captivating and leaves you guessing til the end. Most young adult books either have some sort of romance with some kind of supernatural being or a love triangle that's horribly cliche. But Shine addresses real issues that young teenagers face, and allows you to connect with the characters in a way the most teen books can't. I recommend this book to anyone, young, old, teen, man, woman, whoever. It is an excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Tornpelt

    K see u there. Tornpelt

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4