Customer Reviews for

Shine, Coconut Moon

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Servaljump

    "Fine"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Shiningshadow

    She gets up and pads away (in the direction of the HorseClan camp.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Whitefoot

    "What is it? Do you want to tell me at our place?" ~Whitefoot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    birdstrike

    *he purrs* i already told u at our place*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    It's great!

    This book captures all that people from the middle east were dealing with around 9/11

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Shine On Sam

    Neesha Memingers' Shine Coconut moon is about a 15 year-old Punjabi American girl named Samara, or Sam. Sam's mom, a clinical psychologist, has been estranged from her family for almost all of Sam's life. She's raised Sam with no sense of cultural identity.

    Shine Cocount Moon opens the week of the September 11, 2001 attacks. Sam's uncle, her mother's brother, shows up and turns Sam's comfortable middle-class suburban life upside down.

    Sam discovers she's got a family tree with deep roots. She questions her identity as a girl of Southeast Asian descent who never hangs with kids of her ethnicity at school and knows none of her family or culural history. Worst yet, she's never even met her grandparents, who live a short drive away. And her mother wants to keep it that way.

    Tension mounts as Sam, influenced by her loving uncle, struggles to find herself outside of the confines of her mother's issues with Sam's grandparents and the Indian culture as a whole.

    I loved reading this novel about a character who, through a tight storyline and a host of relatable and compelling characters, opened my eyes to issues I probably would not have considered with as much thought as I do now.

    M. LaVora Perry, Author
    www.mlavoraperry.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Awesome chick lit/young adult book from a new perspective

    I love coming of age books for all their awkwardness, self-consciousness, friendships, family relationships, and ultimately new self-awareness. What sets Shine, Coconut Moon apart from any others I have ever read (and I have read a LOT!) is that this one is from the perspective of a Sikh living in the NYC area, post-9/11. It was refreshing to read a book that touched on more than the "typical" anxieties of youth and instead also looked at racism.

    I could picture this book being made into a movie. It was very current and thoughtful and the momentum grew as the story went on. I won't recount the plot, but I will say that the ending was very satisfying and realistic and yes, I cried.

    Well done Neesha Memminger. I look forward to your next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    The cover of SHINE, COCONUT MOON should be enough to draw readers to the contents of Ms. Meminger's story. But if the cover doesn't pull you in, then the story should capture your attention.

    Samar has always considered herself American. She had a few incidents when she was younger of being treated as an outsider, but when Molly befriended her, Sam was accepted without any problems.

    It isn't until after September 11, 2001, that life changes for Sam. A strange man in a turban shows up at her door claiming to be her long lost uncle - Uncle Sandeep. Her mom had severed all ties to her family, so the man on their porch is a stranger to Sam. Sam's curiosity is piqued and she wants Sandeep to be a part of her life.

    But in the days post-9/11, anyone that even remotely looks like a terrorist is instantly regarded with suspicion, and Uncle Sandeep in his turban stands out in town. By association, people start looking at Sam differently. Sam knows nothing of her Indian heritage, and seeks out other girls like her at school for guidance.

    Sam begs her uncle to take her to her maternal grandparents. But when her grandparents realize that Sam's mother knows nothing of the trip, they cut the visit short. They insist they want to get to know Sam, but will only do so with Sharan's blessing.

    The novel shares the struggles of Samar coming to terms with who she is in a new post-9/11 society. Having been denied her heritage, she's hungry for knowledge of who she is and what her mother is running away from. Samar wants to fit in without controversy, but she also wants to be true to herself.

    SHINE, COCONUT MOON will make you angry with the way innocent people were put under scrutiny in the days following September 11, 2001, but it will also make you think about the way you consider those who are different from you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1