Customer Reviews for

The Shining

Average Rating 4.5
( 1150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(819)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Terror Fun

As you read you hear noise of in the distance you jump but look backdown in your book. You read past twelve, one, and two your mind starting to form the story. The book is so powerful you can't stop reading for the horror would leave you restless thats why t...
As you read you hear noise of in the distance you jump but look backdown in your book. You read past twelve, one, and two your mind starting to form the story. The book is so powerful you can't stop reading for the horror would leave you restless thats why this book is excelent

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

horrible nightmares!

this is the scariest book ever! in case ur wondering what age would be appropriate for id say above twelve! my daughter who is that age read this book and wouldnt go into the bathroom that had a bathtub for like three days, so if you are gonna be a good parent dont let ...
this is the scariest book ever! in case ur wondering what age would be appropriate for id say above twelve! my daughter who is that age read this book and wouldnt go into the bathroom that had a bathtub for like three days, so if you are gonna be a good parent dont let ur kids read it!

posted by 6389483 on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast paced, frightening novel that will keep you on the edge!

    Are you intrigued by eerie, gruesome novels that frighten you? If so, The Shining, by Stephen King, is a commendable novel for you. In this novel, the Torrance family consists of three members: Wendy, Jack, and Danny. The Torrance family is struggling because Jack loses his job as a writer/teacher at a college University due to his alcoholism. In order to break the habit and keep his marriage from falling apart, he takes up the job offer as a caretaker at The Overlook Hotel. The Torrance's will be the only people occupying the hotel from winter until spring rolls around. They will be essentially trapped in the hotel until after winter because of the heavy snow. Danny, who is accompanied by his imaginary friend Tony, has the ability to see into the future. While at the hotel, Danny, Jack, and Wendy begin to experience weird happenings. The giant, animal shaped hedges appear to move, and Room 217 is haunted by a dead lady. Danny tells his parents that he has a bad feeling about the place and that he keeps seeing things, but they reassure him that everything will be fine even though they are seeing things as well. Jack's temper has begun to grow worse like it did when he was a drunk. Little do they know, the hotel is slowly leading Jack to insanity and that they are about to take part in a gruesome, frightening battle for their lives.
    The Shining was beyond interesting. The beginning of the novel is somewhat slow, but the rest of the book draws you in until the very end. One of the reasons I loved this novel was because the way Stephen King set up the book. He would build suspense and then leave you hanging in order to update you on what was happening in other parts of the hotel. Therefore, making it impossible to put down. The other reason I loved the book was because I felt like I knew the characters in the story and that I was actually there with them. The Shining is an outstanding novel that will keep you on the edge of your chair until the last page.

    HTHS AL

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    The Shining a classic horror novel

    I personally liked this book no question, but i thought it was a little bit too long but it was still an enjoyable book to read and think about like i thought after reading it wow what if that hapened to me sort of thing. In my opinion it's better then the movie "The Shining" 1980 because the movie could of been a alot better if the used the the ideas of the book more. Anyone who likes chilling and thrilling novels read this you will like it.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Really , amazingly, good!!!!!!!

    Best Stephen King book ever! Kind of creepy, but it keeps you glued to the pages. REDRUM! REDRUM!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    I just want to sleep!

    Forgive me if this review is disjointed as I am running on little sleep, since I decided to finish The Shining before bed last night. Bad idea! I laid awake most of the night wondering if I could hear the sounds of a party in my living room- UNMASK! The movie has become somewhat of a Halloween tradition for me (I always seem to find it on some channel this time of year) and I genuinely thought I enjoyed it until I read the book! I know, I know, isn't that always the case? Truly though, if you read the book you will have a new respect for Jack Nicholson as an actor- he plays the slowly unraveling Jack Torrance with so much skill it is almost disturbing! Shelley Duvall? In my opinion she reduces Wendy to an imbecile, I was happy to see that King has not written her as she was portrayed. This isn't exactly a spoiler, but I will say I was much happier with the ending of the book than I was with the ending of the movie! Overall, I say read it. But don't read it at night, in the dark, next to your husband who sometimes mutters in his sleep

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    This is one of my favorite books from King. I couldn't put it d

    This is one of my favorite books from King. I couldn't put it down I read it within two days! I've been to the hotel before I read the book and it was just so alive reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    One of King's best!

    King goes into so much more detail its incredible. Seeing the movie helps visually imagine being there but the book takes it to another level. A few boring unimportant parts that can easily be skimmed but otherwise a classic must-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    This one was so dark, it actually put me off slightly. It's one

    This one was so dark, it actually put me off slightly. It's one of the most powerful King books, but possibly the domestic violence in here is just too much. It's from back when King was still at the height of his powers, and obviously there is a lot of biographical/personal influence in here. I think the book is really strong, but I can't give it a 5. I've read a lot of King, but this one stood out and unpalatably sinister. It's his style for sure, but I didn't get my normal buzz from reading it. Maybe it's just me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    It was worse than the movie

    It was wores than the movie the movie was awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    The shinninh

    Weird book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Some parts of this book scared the living hell out of me and hau

    Some parts of this book scared the living hell out of me and haunted my dreams!!!! WHY?! Even though it was one of his fairly older books it was still a good read and a good set up for Dr. Sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    To below

    About 496. Buy it now or i eat your soul. Oh to all who are reading this if you have a miiverse account then friend Rosalina-lumas yellowpik3 and eddiezesouleater.ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Really good!

    While a feel the book drags on a little bit at some parts, it is still a fantastic book to read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    YES ITS A GOOD BOOK RILEE

    :-)))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    One of the best books that i have ever read.

    This is an amazing book for anyone who likes climaxes that jump at you. I recomend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    I¿m writing this review assuming you¿ve read the book, because,

    I’m writing this review assuming you’ve read the book, because, really who hasn’t?

    The first time I read The Shining was almost two decades ago.  During that time I’ve seen the Kubrick film countless times, laughed at the Simpson’s version with Homer as Jack, and actually stayed at the historic Stanley Hotel upon which the book is based—as a result, I’ve ‘visited’ the Overlook from different angles and had my memory of the book thoroughly warped.  Upon rereading The Shining in preparation for Doctor Sleep, two thing struck me: the cleanness of the writing and the fact that most of the iconic images that I’ve come to associate with The Shining, were not, in fact, in the book.       

     Let’s be honest, even King himself has said it: he suffers from diarrhea of the word processor.  Sometimes, in his books you learn all kinds of stuff about random gas-station attendants or waitresses or whatever that have zippo to do with the actual story.  That, in fact, is one of the things I’ve always loved about King’s writing, I’m always along for the ride.  So I was surprised at how little excess there was in The Shining (I found the same to be true of Doctor Sleep, FYI).  Not a bad thing or a good thing, just an observation.

     And then we get to the iconic Shining images: Jack with the ax, the twins who really want to play with Danny, the pages and pages of non-writing Wendy discovers, Danny talking to Tony on his index finger, the hedge maze—all of it, not in the book!  It’s no secret King has never been a fan of Kubrick’s version.  While the movie is a classic, I finally understand King’s point.  There’ something sinister and memorable about the little puffs of plaster that burst from the wall every time Jack swings his roque mallet that you don’t get with an ax.  An unseen child-thing grabbing your foot in a playground tunnel is a way scarier playmate than two polite, well-groomed young ladies.  Hedge animals that stalk you when you aren’t looking are a much bigger threat than a maze.  And ultimately, the shove that sends Jack over the edge is not necessarily the ghosts in the hotel but his constant struggle with his failings as a father, writer, husband, human being—this doesn’t come across as powerfully in the Kubrick version and that’s too bad.  Because, really, what’s scarier than facing your demons?

     As is usually the case: the book is just better.   It was nice to revisit the Overlook in its true and horrific form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Excellent!

    Much better than the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Instant love

    Just read the sample anf i already love itI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Much better than the movie...movies (I almost forgot about the m

    Much better than the movie...movies (I almost forgot about the made for tv version movie). It's my favorite of all of Stephen King's books. The scenery is creepy. The fact that there is a hotel that this story is inspired by is just awesome. The ghost hunting show went there, and it was really amazing to see the real building. Do yourself a favor and grab this book, but then also get the Jack Nickolson movie. They are both good enough that it's worth grabbing both of them to compare. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Cool

    I personaly think this is a good but scary book by 3 things the actual book the lenth and the use of words. This book has 460 pages and curses alot so i do not recomend this for children under 13

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11