Customer Reviews for

The Shining

Average Rating 4.5
( 1164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(832)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Terror Fun

As you read you hear noise of in the distance you jump but look backdown in your book. You read past twelve, one, and two your mind starting to form the story. The book is so powerful you can't stop reading for the horror would leave you restless thats why t...
As you read you hear noise of in the distance you jump but look backdown in your book. You read past twelve, one, and two your mind starting to form the story. The book is so powerful you can't stop reading for the horror would leave you restless thats why this book is excelent

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

horrible nightmares!

this is the scariest book ever! in case ur wondering what age would be appropriate for id say above twelve! my daughter who is that age read this book and wouldnt go into the bathroom that had a bathtub for like three days, so if you are gonna be a good parent dont let ...
this is the scariest book ever! in case ur wondering what age would be appropriate for id say above twelve! my daughter who is that age read this book and wouldnt go into the bathroom that had a bathtub for like three days, so if you are gonna be a good parent dont let ur kids read it!

posted by 6389483 on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 212 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Scary movie! Scary movie!

    I heard that this book is sooo scary

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Creepy

    Very creepy book. Wht is up with that kid saying redrum i think it neans murder

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    I thought this book was better than 'Salem's Lot, but not as goo

    I thought this book was better than 'Salem's Lot, but not as good as It. The fear factor was definitely there!




    Without giving too much away, the book centres around Jack and Wendy Torrence, and their son Danny. Danny has a supernatural ability to read people's minds, and sometimes to see things before they happen.




    I'm sad to say that I think the Torrence family have become somewhat of a horror trope these days, but I'm sure when Stephen King wrote them, the concept was cutting edge.




    I don't want to say too much about this book, in case any of you haven't read it yet, but there were times when it gave me the creeps in a way that only Stephen King can. Suffice to say, I'm really glad I don't have a bath with a shower curtain!




    The ending was pretty satisfying as well, although also a bit cliched by now, I think. It was a good set up for Doctor Sleep, though - can't wait! The thing is, I'm not sure how I would've felt about it if I didn't know there was a "sequel" (well, of sorts, anyway).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Kkkkdkdkddkd

    Djdjsksxmnxdmdnddnnnjjjjjdxjdjxxxnnmxnxxmm

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    In anticipation of Dr. Sleep¿s release, I decided to brush up on

    In anticipation of Dr. Sleep’s release, I decided to brush up on this classic for the first time since I was a teenager. It’s amazing how much I remember from the movie, which is one of my all time favorites, instead of the book. Not that there are too many dissimilarities, but if you haven’t read the book, it’s a worthwhile experience, since both Jack’s and the Overlook’s backstories are expanded upon and the ending  differs quite a bit.




    All in all, nothing I say will ever take away from The Shining’s status as an all-time horror classic, which it deserves. Still, as King’s third published novel, he appears to want to be more literary (ie – taken more seriously than a pulpy genre fiction author) and some of his writing techniques were jarring and distracted from the story. Likewise, there is an overuse of exposition in the beginning of the book (twice flashbacking to Jack’s abuse of a student at school.) However, these are nitpicky complaints and every fan of haunted house fiction needs to pick up a copy of the Shining now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Excellent Writing

    I have never before read Stephen King, and this is a terrific introduction to his work. I have seen the Jack Nicholson movie version of The Shining and enjoyed it, but as in most cases, the book is much better. King's Jack Torrence is truly frightening - much more so than any ghostly character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Recommend

    Starts out slow as most of King's books do but, when things get started you'll be trying read faster than you possibly can. One of his best works for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Classic Stephen King

    I had never read this one nor even seen the movie. It was a good read. Maybe not my favorite of King's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Once again, Stephen King proves why we love him. My only complaint is that he didn't say "Heeeeere's Johnny!" like in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Lanternkit

    Sure im curious

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    A good one

    It is better then the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    For anyone who loves Stephen King knows he is an exceptional author. The Shining doesn't disappoint. I couldn't put it down. It's definitely a must read. I saw the movie many times over but didn't actually read the book until recently. Love them both!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Introduction This book is very long and boring in the beginning.

    Introduction
    This book is very long and boring in the beginning. It is a lot of thing put together with a five year old boy that is super intelligent beyond his years that has a gift that seems like a curse! This boy can see ghost! It is about a classic Art Deco hotel tucked deep within the Rocky Mountains of Colorado whose name is respected but nevertheless has a mysterious past.
    Description and summary of main points
    The Shinning is about a lot of things that are unreal and scary. It is about a young boy and his father that is a recovering alcoholic with a very dark soul. He is battling both in order to keep his family financially afloat. It is also about his wife who is a great mother and has stayed threw the fathers ups and downs and wants to trust him but just can’t. They were trapped in this hotel by a huge snow storm! Jack the father influenced by a supernatural presence he becomes crazy and tries to murder his wife and son.
    Evaluation
    The Shinning is one of my favorite horror stories to date. Most of kings stories have horror that is seems real but imagined. If you want a great scare with a good story to back it up you should read this book.
    Conclusion
    You will remember this book for a long time like a scary movie. It stays in your head for a long time after you read it because of Stephen Kings skills in story telling. This book will be remembered for as long as your brain can keep it.
    Your final review
    One of Stephen King’s best horror stories of all time! I think this is a must read and it was really good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    It just wasn't for me

    I'm not going to lie, I know this is a big deal book that people have claimed is some of King's best work.

    It was just so-so for me.

    Yes, it was gripping at times. Yes, it kept me turning pages. Yes, it was sad and scary and strange sometimes. But did it hit me like some of King's other books (The Dark Tower, The Stand, etc)? Nope. Not even a little.

    I'm probably in the minority here, but I just didn't find this to be one of his better stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I LOVED THIS NOVEL

    Stephen King takes you on a wild ride with all sorts of twist and turns. You literally cant put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    ~Twi

    "AH'M an ADULT, and Ah c'n forks IN the toaster oven IN the bathtub!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Fernstar

    Dont care. We actually have a magical thing called CREATIVITY!!!!!!! UNLIKE U!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Ok

    It was hard to understand though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Read this review

    I liked this book but It was not very scary. I guess it is scary if you cannot handle people seeing wierd things or if you do not handle blood very well. I will give the book this, though: it is eerie. I'm a young teen and I am mostly done with this. The Overlook is not very frightening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 212 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11