Customer Reviews for

Shinju (Sano Ichiro Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Fantastic!

    This book just blew me away! It was one of the best books on Japan that I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2000

    Simply Excellent

    Not only a great plot, but also the main character is very powerful and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Good

    Well written, but I was totally unimpressed with the protagonist's warrior skills. Somehow I expected a samurai to be less physically inept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Well written, enjoyable novel.

    This novel seems to be backed up by sound research of the times and characters. An easy, enjoyable read. I hope the sequel comes up to scratch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Amazing!

    Cant wait to read the others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    It's ok

    It's ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Entertaining

    I liked this book. It was a good read and a good introduction to Japanese culture. I will definitely get the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Was able to diwnload

    But impossible to read wont turn page or skips or access contents change font size and today refuses access at all if can will archieve irate reader

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    It was recommended to me by a work colleague, basid on my love of all kinds of books he thought it would be a good meld of different characters and themes from what I typically read. It is C. Chanesk, I enjoyed the thrill of the ride from the beginning to the end. The detective doing the work, and the constant road blocks, and the unfathomable reaction to his action by his father. You learn about the behind the scenes stuff that really mirror our english society/politics as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    So-so

    It's no Shogun.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's one of the all time best mysteries.

    The plot and the characters keep you griped to the book the whole way through to the very end. It's a must have for anyone's Library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    WOW

    I am not normally a fan of murder mysteries, but I read this book and was blown away! I absolutely adore Laura Joh Rowland's books! If you ever want a great mystery, read this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2000

    Interesting Look at Ancient Culture

    I enjoyed learning about the ancient culture while solving a murder mystery. Still a good read. (I only wish the author would have explained more to us folks who have not read Shogun.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2