Customer Reviews for

Ship Breaker

Average Rating 4
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The First reviewer said it best . . .

A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults a...
A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults alike can enjoy this gripping and well written novel.

posted by KidsLeadGirl on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Oddly paced and not worth the money.

I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good wr...
I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good writer but this novel is not up to par with his usual work.

posted by 2blueyes on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Jessa

    She smirks and raises her eyebrows. "Wow." She mouths ten turns back to te ship. "Let's board this sucker." She says, clapping her hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    I loved it! I've read this book over and over and I'm still not

    I loved it! I've read this book over and over and I'm still not sick of it. I never thought I would enjoy a summer reading book this much. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Slasher

    Calm down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Umajety@gml.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Gr8

    This is such a good 8ook ::::) it really captiv8s the feel of a true pir8.

    -Vriska Serket ::::)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Ok for younger audiences

    Good work.... but not on the level of the wind up girl. Certainly a good read between challenging stuff ... just not amazing. Recommend pump six before bothering with this one. That said ... great world and characters. Story may suffer from convenience. All things matter a little too much... which is basically to say that plot devices are easy to pick out. Also lacks sacrifices. Good guys win absolutely. Seven.nine of ten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Overall, pretty good. It started out amazing and I thought I was

    Overall, pretty good. It started out amazing and I thought I was going
    to give it a five for sure, but once the setting changed, the story
    wasnt really as interesting. More like a three. So I averaged it out and
    gave it a four. I wish the stuck with the original characters and beach
    instead of branching off into some other adventure. Basically, it is
    about a beach in the future where there are huge freight ships stranded
    in the sand. Light crews (skinny kids that go dep into the ship to tear
    out copper wires) and heavy crews (stronger adults who tear off big
    chunks of metal) are all trying to meet the quota so they can earn the
    money to survive. In each of their hearts, they are hoping to get a
    "Lucky Break" and find a pocket of valuble oil and rise up
    from the dump they live in, and they are willing to stab eachother in
    the back for it. Then, the story changes once our protagonist finds a
    rich, buitiful girl in one of the wrecks, and runs away to get her back
    to her family (pretty cheesy, huh?) But dont let any of that discourage
    you. its still a great read with a fast pace and plenty of action. I
    would definetly recommend that you try it out on your next trip to the bookstore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Good Story

    The first time I tried listening to this as an audio book I couldn't get into it. Then when I saw it was a Gateway nominee for this year I decided to give it another go, this time actually reading it. I started reading it around 10 pm last night and was 3/4ths done with it when I realized it was 1 am! To say this book reads fast is an understatement, the story sucks you in and keeps you reading. I finished it off today in under an hour and was quite happy with it. There were a few obvious mistakes in the continuity of the writing that I failed to notice until reading some of the other reviews. Overall though very imaginative story with believable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Decent read. Not the best book I have ever read and not the wors

    Decent read. Not the best book I have ever read and not the worst. I liked the characters and the relationships they had with each other, but the book was a little slow and boring in some parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Pretty good i would recommend it just dont have your expectation

    Pretty good i would recommend it just dont have your expectations set too high u might be a little disapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    The story is unique. The characters are entertaining. This novel

    The story is unique. The characters are entertaining. This novel reads well and will carry you effortlessly to its conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No

    My sister(who reviewed below) said that it sucked
    Love brittany.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    No

    I GOT THE SAMPLE AND THE BEGINNING WAS BORING TO ME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Better than HUNGER GAMES

    This story is similar to HUNGER GAMES, but the characters are far more believable and compelling, the plot has better pacing, and it truly stands on its own as a single book. The main character Nailer changes and develops as he goes from "ship breaker" to places beyond the small world he has known up to his current age (sub 16-years old). I really enjoyed Bacigalupi's debut novel WIND-UP GIRL, and I found this to be of a similar nature, although for younger readers--end of the world, various characters in different segments of the society, interacting, finding how to survive and more. The general premise is more than just a premise--the global near-disaster has changed the landscape of the world and society, and it feels as if this is more a realistic history of how this would unfold rather than just a fantastic imagining or pasted-on gimmick. The world the author creates is not just our world gone wrong--it feels like a truly futuristic setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Must read

    Amazing and powerful. I would love to teach this to middle school students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    J

    K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    A great read

    I just finished reading Ship Breaker, and i loved it. The story moved quickly and was very exciting. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Good but not great

    I think reading this right after Windup Girl was a bit of a mistake. The world is similar but this feels so watered down and simple compared to Paolo's previous book. I know it is for a different audience but with the settings so similar. . . it was frustrating that everything felt light and not nearly as well thought out or explained. Still a very good book but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    i didn't like it.

    i didn't like it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    So good. I found it much scarier than Hunger Games because we ha

    So good. I found it much scarier than Hunger Games because we have already seen the first stages of the destruction outlined in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 12