Customer Reviews for

Ship Breaker

Average Rating 4
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

The First reviewer said it best . . .

A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults a...
A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults alike can enjoy this gripping and well written novel.

posted by KidsLeadGirl on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Oddly paced and not worth the money.

I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good wr...
I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good writer but this novel is not up to par with his usual work.

posted by 2blueyes on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The First reviewer said it best . . .

    A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults alike can enjoy this gripping and well written novel.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Great book! Can't wait to read his others!

    Honestly, I wasn't expecting much from this book, given the author's name. Silly, but true--an author's pen name can make or brake the reception of a book. Anyway, this fantastic little treasure introduces us to a post-apocalyptic/dystopian world in which petrol is all but gone and a good portion of America's south is "swimming with the fishes." Haha. This world is one in which our cars are extreme luxuries, reserved for the "swanks" of the world. Our protagonist definitely does not fit this title. He works as a ship breaker in the light crew, stripping the insides of rusted old buckets, that are our cruise ships and tankers today, of their useful metals. Salvage. After growing too large to navigate the small crevices of the ships, the only hope one has is to grow large enough to make the heavy crew, or make a "Lucky Strike." Nailer, the lead role, lives on a small beach with an abusive father and helpful friend, working day-in and day-out in asbestos, rat droppings, and oil fumes for a meager wage that barely feeds him and pays for his father's addictions. But he's always dreamed of a better world, the world the swanks have on their fast little ships and in their cozy homes. Little does he know, the city-killer (a hurricane of epic proportions) is just the answer to his dreams. Check out this book if you enjoyed the Hunger Games, Battle Royale, Divergent, 1984, or anything of the like!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Oddly paced and not worth the money.

    I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good writer but this novel is not up to par with his usual work.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Interesting

    I was intrigued by all the acclaim and attention this book has been getting. The world the author creates is visceral and haunting, especially when you think that it could be our world a few hundred years from now--that might the most powerful thing about the novel.
    The characters were good and the plot compelling, and there was plenty of action...but somehow when I had gotten to the end of a couple hundred pages, my reaction was--"and that's it?" I enjoyed the novel, yet I wished he had managed a bit more scope for it. Perhaps he's intending a sequel. I would definitely read it if he writes one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Loved it.

    Action from the get-go, takes a little bit to get to the main story line, but it is truly such a good read. If you're finding yourself disinterested at first, push through it anyway and you'll find yourself loving it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi (2010)

    This book was shortlisted for the 2010 Cybils which is why (as a round 2 judge) I read it.

    It was also the winner of the 2011 Printz Award (given by the American Library Association to a book with high literary merit written for teens).

    This book has already gotten tons of attention which is why I don't feel bad doing a rapid fire review of it instead of a full, traditional one. It was a lot of fun to read it during the Printz announcements and I actually enjoyed it a lot more than I had expected (I thought I was burnt out on dystopian novels but this one was really interesting).

    I liked the writing and the characters and I can see why it caught the Printz committee's attention. I liked that the characters were diverse with people of all colors and cultures and even half men like Tool. I liked the writing style and the pacing. I thought the premise was interesting and there was a lot of action. I like the malleability of names, how Nailer was also Lucky Boy. I also thought the pervasive nature of luck in Nailer's life was interesting. The family dynamics and the idea that family is what you make of it not just blood was also great.

    That said, I also had some problems with the book:

    I noticed there were a lot of repeated phrases like every time Nailer got hurt, something seemed to be blossoming with pain or a bright blossom of pain, etc. Which is fine-it's a good phrase. But it started to appear A LOT.

    I also thought the book got a little philosophical, not necessarily in a bad way but kind of in a "this looks like someone trying really hard to drive home a point" kind of way.

    I thought the author's world building was pretty well done but I also had a lot of unanswered questions. On the one hand I respect that the story wanted to throw readers right into the action. On the other hand there really were a lot of questions and some of them would have been easy to answer.

    For instance SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER:

    (SPOILER!)When Nailer's back gets infected Pima says Nailer needs to take pills three times a day for ten more days. But then he and Lucky Girl run away. Did Nailer take the pills with him? Did he take them on the train? If he didn't do either of those things did the infection come back? It was a big part of the story and I would have liked to not have it dangling. Because, frankly, in real life-especially in Nailer's lousy world-he should have died without the meds. It was weird to have that be such an obvious fact. Only to be left hanging.
    (END SPOILER)

    I also wanted to know more about the dynamics of Bright Sands Beach. There's light crew and heavy crew. But are those the only options? If you aren't crewed up are you as bad off as Sloth? What happens if you get too big for light crew but too small for heavy crew? It seemed weird that there was nothing else mentioned. Couldn't some of them have worked at Chen's noodle shop or something?

    I also wished there was a little more about the crew tats. Like do you just keep them if you get too big for light crew (as opposed to getting thrown off)? Are there other tattoos for heavy crew?

    Basically I enjoyed the book and I thought it was really interesting and deserving of all of its praise. But I was frustrated that there were not more details and background and, for me, can't say it's a book I absolutely loved (but I did like it).

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Editorial reviews are enthusiastic and accurate; awards were well-deserved!

    I totally agree with the professional reviewers who have extremely positive things to say about SHIP BREAKER, and I think the 2 book awards it received were justfied. I am a grandmother in her mid 60s who read this book to determine if it would be exciting and interestng, as well as appropriate, as a gift for two of my grandsons in their teens. I was totally surprised to find that the story and characters gripped me and kept me so interested that I had trouble putting the book down. Needless to say, I purchased 2 copies as Christmas gifts for the boys! Yes, this book is often grim and violent but some of the characters prove that people can transcend their upbringing and environment if they remain true to a worthy moral code, even under difficult, life-threatening circumstances. I'm looking forward to the sequel due out in May 2012. I think this series could be just as good as HUNGER GAMES and would also make a great movie.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Amazing

    Great adventure story, reminded me of the hunger games by the way of survival. Excellent book couldnt put it done

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly incredible book. Lots of action and intrigue make this boo

    Truly incredible book.
    Lots of action and intrigue make this book one of the must-read books this summer. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Mrs. Ba

    Mrs. Ba

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Great book

    READ IT you will not regret it it is a very thrilling book for readers 13 and up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    I have a secret

    I looooove this book reading for school. Amazing book crazy that he survived the wreakage. Go nailer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    interesting world that is ultimately ignored

    the world the characters exist in is interesting. full of technology, beliefs and alt history/distopian earth things that you only get very small looks at. story ultimately feels like a tease. the actual plot and actual story are fairly weak. you finish... wishing more would have been seen/explained/shown about this thing or that. borrow don't buy this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book!

    This book is nothing like I expected it to be. As I began reading, it took on a road that I never seen before. I loved the action, the suspense, but I also enjoyed the fear of anger, hurt, and love the flowed between the pages.

    The reader is presented with a character that is strong yet fearful of going home. With an abusive past, Nailer, has grown up quick and learns things fast. He is not who people thinks he is. He has learned what to say and not to say. He goes in motions of things in order to keep his father at bay. I really like how the author brings the strong emotion of fear into the reader. Immediately, I felt Nailer's fear and anxiety within a few minutes into the book. There is nothing like a a great author who can put those kinds of emotions into a readers heart.

    The plot line of the book is filled with many twist and turns that I felt lead the main character Nailer to a destiny he never thought he see. Since Nailer is always put down, hot on, Nailer thinks that nothing good can come of him. With one change of the sea, Nailer is now not only fighting for himself, but for something he loves. I really loved watching Nailer overcome his tribulations to become a better man then his trashy father.

    The love interest in this book gave Nailer an hope and future. I loved it when love can give you more strength that you ever though you had. Nailer became someone else, someone strong and did not give up. I adore that Nailer finally see who he is.

    This is great book filled with a great emotional roller coaster. I loved the dialogue in this book as well as the strength of the characters. Filled with dark, angst parts, this book gives a ray of hope with the love and fighting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story

    the pacing at first was a little slow but the plot and characters are great and the world that Bacigalupi created is amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    Excellent, interesting story. Can't wait for the second book in the series. It says its for young readers, but I think it might be too violent for my kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    A waste of money

    No cohesion. You jump around and are left with question marks floating around your head.

    The Synopsis is a better read than the book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Great book! Gripping characters.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    Read it, but...

    if you had recently or previously read amazing books like The Hunger Games or The Maze Runner, dont read this cause it'll be a huge let down. Or just wait a while. Read a different book like the Uglies Trilogy or Matched, maybe (not saying they're bad. They just relate a little more to this book) or even take a break. im not disappointed in this book, i really liked it but i would've liked it a lot more if i hadn't just finished The Maze Runner...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Hooray

    Finally, something different. Ship Breaker is great because it's not something that's been done over and over. You've got to give credit to anyone that can come up with an original story. Suspenseful and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12