Customer Reviews for

Ship Breaker

Average Rating 4
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

The First reviewer said it best . . .

A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults a...
A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults alike can enjoy this gripping and well written novel.

posted by KidsLeadGirl on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Oddly paced and not worth the money.

I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good wr...
I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good writer but this novel is not up to par with his usual work.

posted by 2blueyes on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    awesome

    ive only read the preview and its fantastic

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely Different!

    I really liked the imagination and the composition of Ship Breakers. Bacigalupi has a great vision for the story and I can't wait to see where it goes next. The writing was absorbing, as I was completely lost in the story. If you liked Hunger Games and Incarceron, give this book a try!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Shipbreaker blew me out of the water

    I read this in one sitting, which wasn't my intent since I had work to do. Bacigalupi creates a visceral and completely believable future in which oil shortages have changed the world. Nailer, the sixteen year old protagonist, pulled me through the story with him because I was worried about him. He's that real.

    Shipbreaker is a seriously good book and full of seat of the pants escapes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Dope af

    Good for youmg teens

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Qwertyy

    Qwerty

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Adain

    "Kisses you"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Lemone

    *walks in and faints*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Rate on Ice braker

    I like this book it is really realistic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    t

    test

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Awesome

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Rose

    Looked around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Amati

    Heads there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    To Captain Silver

    I will literally rip your throat off if you addvertise in RandomClan! None of our members would ever live as a pirate. All of my members loyalty remaines to randomclan, no where else! Not defiantly your pirate ship! Kindest wishes one of them is to never advertise again, Unicornstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Eliza

    A thin female with dark colored hair steps in. "Hello?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Jordan

    (Cricket, cricket.) No response? You can start a yelling match with me, but don't expect to win, for future reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Jessa

    She smirks and raises her eyebrows. "Wow." She mouths ten turns back to te ship. "Let's board this sucker." She says, clapping her hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    I loved it! I've read this book over and over and I'm still not

    I loved it! I've read this book over and over and I'm still not sick of it. I never thought I would enjoy a summer reading book this much. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Slasher

    Calm down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Umajety@gml.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Gr8

    This is such a good 8ook ::::) it really captiv8s the feel of a true pir8.

    -Vriska Serket ::::)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12