Customer Reviews for

Ship Breaker

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The First reviewer said it best . . .

A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults a...
A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults alike can enjoy this gripping and well written novel.

posted by KidsLeadGirl on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Oddly paced and not worth the money.

I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good wr...
I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good writer but this novel is not up to par with his usual work.

posted by 2blueyes on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The First reviewer said it best . . .

    A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults alike can enjoy this gripping and well written novel.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Great book! Can't wait to read his others!

    Honestly, I wasn't expecting much from this book, given the author's name. Silly, but true--an author's pen name can make or brake the reception of a book. Anyway, this fantastic little treasure introduces us to a post-apocalyptic/dystopian world in which petrol is all but gone and a good portion of America's south is "swimming with the fishes." Haha. This world is one in which our cars are extreme luxuries, reserved for the "swanks" of the world. Our protagonist definitely does not fit this title. He works as a ship breaker in the light crew, stripping the insides of rusted old buckets, that are our cruise ships and tankers today, of their useful metals. Salvage. After growing too large to navigate the small crevices of the ships, the only hope one has is to grow large enough to make the heavy crew, or make a "Lucky Strike." Nailer, the lead role, lives on a small beach with an abusive father and helpful friend, working day-in and day-out in asbestos, rat droppings, and oil fumes for a meager wage that barely feeds him and pays for his father's addictions. But he's always dreamed of a better world, the world the swanks have on their fast little ships and in their cozy homes. Little does he know, the city-killer (a hurricane of epic proportions) is just the answer to his dreams. Check out this book if you enjoyed the Hunger Games, Battle Royale, Divergent, 1984, or anything of the like!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Loved it.

    Action from the get-go, takes a little bit to get to the main story line, but it is truly such a good read. If you're finding yourself disinterested at first, push through it anyway and you'll find yourself loving it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Editorial reviews are enthusiastic and accurate; awards were well-deserved!

    I totally agree with the professional reviewers who have extremely positive things to say about SHIP BREAKER, and I think the 2 book awards it received were justfied. I am a grandmother in her mid 60s who read this book to determine if it would be exciting and interestng, as well as appropriate, as a gift for two of my grandsons in their teens. I was totally surprised to find that the story and characters gripped me and kept me so interested that I had trouble putting the book down. Needless to say, I purchased 2 copies as Christmas gifts for the boys! Yes, this book is often grim and violent but some of the characters prove that people can transcend their upbringing and environment if they remain true to a worthy moral code, even under difficult, life-threatening circumstances. I'm looking forward to the sequel due out in May 2012. I think this series could be just as good as HUNGER GAMES and would also make a great movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Mrs. Ba

    Mrs. Ba

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Great book

    READ IT you will not regret it it is a very thrilling book for readers 13 and up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book!

    This book is nothing like I expected it to be. As I began reading, it took on a road that I never seen before. I loved the action, the suspense, but I also enjoyed the fear of anger, hurt, and love the flowed between the pages.

    The reader is presented with a character that is strong yet fearful of going home. With an abusive past, Nailer, has grown up quick and learns things fast. He is not who people thinks he is. He has learned what to say and not to say. He goes in motions of things in order to keep his father at bay. I really like how the author brings the strong emotion of fear into the reader. Immediately, I felt Nailer's fear and anxiety within a few minutes into the book. There is nothing like a a great author who can put those kinds of emotions into a readers heart.

    The plot line of the book is filled with many twist and turns that I felt lead the main character Nailer to a destiny he never thought he see. Since Nailer is always put down, hot on, Nailer thinks that nothing good can come of him. With one change of the sea, Nailer is now not only fighting for himself, but for something he loves. I really loved watching Nailer overcome his tribulations to become a better man then his trashy father.

    The love interest in this book gave Nailer an hope and future. I loved it when love can give you more strength that you ever though you had. Nailer became someone else, someone strong and did not give up. I adore that Nailer finally see who he is.

    This is great book filled with a great emotional roller coaster. I loved the dialogue in this book as well as the strength of the characters. Filled with dark, angst parts, this book gives a ray of hope with the love and fighting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story

    the pacing at first was a little slow but the plot and characters are great and the world that Bacigalupi created is amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    Excellent, interesting story. Can't wait for the second book in the series. It says its for young readers, but I think it might be too violent for my kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Great book! Gripping characters.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 26, 2011

    awesome

    ive only read the preview and its fantastic

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Shipbreaker blew me out of the water

    I read this in one sitting, which wasn't my intent since I had work to do. Bacigalupi creates a visceral and completely believable future in which oil shortages have changed the world. Nailer, the sixteen year old protagonist, pulled me through the story with him because I was worried about him. He's that real.

    Shipbreaker is a seriously good book and full of seat of the pants escapes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Dope af

    Good for youmg teens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Qwertyy

    Qwerty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Adain

    "Kisses you"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Lemone

    *walks in and faints*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    t

    test

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Rose

    Looked around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    To Captain Silver

    I will literally rip your throat off if you addvertise in RandomClan! None of our members would ever live as a pirate. All of my members loyalty remaines to randomclan, no where else! Not defiantly your pirate ship! Kindest wishes one of them is to never advertise again, Unicornstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Eliza

    A thin female with dark colored hair steps in. "Hello?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5