Customer Reviews for

Ship Breaker

Average Rating 4
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

The First reviewer said it best . . .

A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults a...
A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults alike can enjoy this gripping and well written novel.

posted by KidsLeadGirl on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Oddly paced and not worth the money.

I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good wr...
I honestly don't understand why people are comparing this book to the Hunger Games. Ship Breaker did not flow very well and the characters never seemed quite real. I am very glad I checked this book out at the library instead of purchasing it. Bacigalupi is a good writer but this novel is not up to par with his usual work.

posted by 2blueyes on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Eliza

    A thin female with dark colored hair steps in. "Hello?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Jordan

    (Cricket, cricket.) No response? You can start a yelling match with me, but don't expect to win, for future reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Jessa

    She smirks and raises her eyebrows. "Wow." She mouths ten turns back to te ship. "Let's board this sucker." She says, clapping her hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    I loved it! I've read this book over and over and I'm still not

    I loved it! I've read this book over and over and I'm still not sick of it. I never thought I would enjoy a summer reading book this much. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Slasher

    Calm down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Umajety@gml.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Gr8

    This is such a good 8ook ::::) it really captiv8s the feel of a true pir8.

    -Vriska Serket ::::)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    The story is unique. The characters are entertaining. This novel

    The story is unique. The characters are entertaining. This novel reads well and will carry you effortlessly to its conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Must read

    Amazing and powerful. I would love to teach this to middle school students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    A great read

    I just finished reading Ship Breaker, and i loved it. The story moved quickly and was very exciting. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    So good. I found it much scarier than Hunger Games because we ha

    So good. I found it much scarier than Hunger Games because we have already seen the first stages of the destruction outlined in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Must read

    It starts a little slow but picks up real quick with a twist within the first thirty pages but over all a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Swagg its a good book some j*** off to it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)!!!!(!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!))

    This book is so good I love this book its so live i just wanna suck it out of its words so I can rember it word for word

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Great book i wish it was a seris!!!!!!!

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Great book

    This is an awesome book and i'd recomend it to anyone who has a taste for fantasy. It's a definite must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    AN EXCITING STORY

    I find this book to be appealing to all. That is for the occasional violence. Bacigalupi creates a visceral and completely believable future in which oil shortages have changed the world. Nailer pulls you through the story with him because the excitement and thrills he goes through are big. Nailer starts off as a young boy just doing what he has to do to get by and then his life takes an unexpected turn. His life changes after he meets Nita. Nailer a young boy lives his life among his neighbors. Living in his little coast town where he knew everybody. On an ordinary work day, on the ship he¿s working on stripping, the oil tanker breaks under him. It sends him chest deep into oil. He is trapped under gallons of oil. Sloth, a young girl who was supposed to save him, leaves him to die. He finds a way out after being trapped in there a while. Sloth is condemned and never heard from again. After a harsh storm Nailer goes off to find food in the woodlands. He stumbles upon a beached ship. He goes through the ship, searching for anything that he could scavenge. He goes into the bedroom. He sees a girl trapped under a great deal of equipment. Nailer¿s life changes after that. From the boat yard where he works all day to an adventure to save a girl he doesn¿t even know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    The book I read was titled "Ship Breaker" by: Paolo Bacigalupi. It tells a tale of a young man named Nailer whom is a ship breaker. After a "city-breaking" storm, while scavenging with a fellow co-worker, they find a rich lady by the name of Nita Patel. After being found out of aiding a "Swank" (Rich or wealthy person), his drug/alcohol-addicted father becomes and is not as kind as Nailer or Pima. His father, being aggressive as he usually is, strips all of the worthy items Lucky Girl (Nita's nickname), and constantly makes the crew fear him along with some of his friends from heavy crew (the heavier parts of metal during the ship breaking process). When they finally reach to the point to where they have to run away with Nailer and Pima to protect Lucky Girl before she is sold to her father's rivals that want to use her, they jump a train to Orleans (no longer called New) and try to find a boat captain that she can trust to help her get back to her father. In the end, Nailer must only kill his father to only save his and Nita's lives. This was a truly entertaining book for me to read and I was definitely pleased with the storyline. I would surely recommend this book to a friend. I would also like to read "The Alchemist" and "The Windup Girl" by Paolo Bacigalupi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    My Nephew Loved it!

    I bought this for my nephew and he loved it. He read it in three days. I also read this book after he finished and thought it was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6