BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Ship Made of Paper

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good read

As much as I enjoyed Scott Spencer's latest novel, I must say it left me feeling very ambivalent and unsure as to how to reconcile the emotions it left me with. As a black woman in a committed interracial relationship, this book was of particular interest to me. I wa...
As much as I enjoyed Scott Spencer's latest novel, I must say it left me feeling very ambivalent and unsure as to how to reconcile the emotions it left me with. As a black woman in a committed interracial relationship, this book was of particular interest to me. I was looking forward to seeing how such a fantastically gifted writer would handle such a sensitive and volatile issue. Much of the social interactions, unspoken mores and certain aspects of the characters ring true. I actually know people like Hampton Welles. I most sympathized with Daniel, the best developed character in the book. One truly got a sense of his torment and the astronomical price he had to pay to attain the one thing worth living for(and he never really got it). It truly left me with a sense of hope and despair; the resolve of these two tragic characters to contunue on this perilous and bumpy road and the anticipation of a possible love child with the former, and the complete and utter powerlessness of these two thrown together in a relationship that cognitively they know can only end in disaster as it exerts its ripple effect of pain and confusion with the latter.....Very Bittersweet

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Ship Made of Paper

A catchy title, but unfortunately, I never found myself caught up in the plot. I thought that the characters were poorly developed; each seemed so one-dimensional. I never bought into the love affair between the two main characters. Even at the end of the book, I neve...
A catchy title, but unfortunately, I never found myself caught up in the plot. I thought that the characters were poorly developed; each seemed so one-dimensional. I never bought into the love affair between the two main characters. Even at the end of the book, I never figured out why they fell in love. Considering the overall theme of the book, it lacked any sense of emotion. My book club picked this as a selection and we chose not to even discuss it due to everyone's lack of interest in it.

posted by Anonymous on November 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    A good read

    As much as I enjoyed Scott Spencer's latest novel, I must say it left me feeling very ambivalent and unsure as to how to reconcile the emotions it left me with. As a black woman in a committed interracial relationship, this book was of particular interest to me. I was looking forward to seeing how such a fantastically gifted writer would handle such a sensitive and volatile issue. Much of the social interactions, unspoken mores and certain aspects of the characters ring true. I actually know people like Hampton Welles. I most sympathized with Daniel, the best developed character in the book. One truly got a sense of his torment and the astronomical price he had to pay to attain the one thing worth living for(and he never really got it). It truly left me with a sense of hope and despair; the resolve of these two tragic characters to contunue on this perilous and bumpy road and the anticipation of a possible love child with the former, and the complete and utter powerlessness of these two thrown together in a relationship that cognitively they know can only end in disaster as it exerts its ripple effect of pain and confusion with the latter.....Very Bittersweet

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2005

    Hard to put down

    This was my first Scott Spencer novel and it truly consumed me. Excellent exploration of race in America through the lens of an interracial relationship. It was throughly fascinating to see it through the eyes of a white male loving an African American female with an extremely successful black husband.It dealt with issues that makes a novel great: infidelity, the legal system (juxtaposed against O.J. trial) and everyones' demons when it comes to race relations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Fiction At It's Best

    I picked up this book after reading a review in 'O' magazine. After letting it sit for a week or so, I finally picked it up. I must say, after that I could not put it down! Although Daniel always seems to be in the wrong place at the right time...Iris' house, the woods, Iris' house again..this time with a gun being there too, I enjoyed this book. It's fiction, a love story, passionate, daring,consuming, forgiving. We should all love so deeply? To give up everything? The opinons on that are as vast as the universe. The ending left much to be desired. I guess we as readers have to form our own endings based on our feelings about the subject matter. Do they make it together or not?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Scott Spencer is an amazing writer.

    I loved this book. I felt the ending could have been a little stronger, but the intensity and honesty of the characters are both touching and humbling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    Beautifully Unapologetic

    An unapologetic book about adultery and interracial relationships. It's beautifully complex in both theme and style. The writer interweaves snippets of the ending chapters which he then puts together quite powerfully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Unsure

    I am still not sure whether this novel depressed or uplifted me. On one hand, it can be seen as the triumph of love despite racial tension, prior attachments and violence. On the other hand it portrays the tragedy of a love that brings remorse to all involved and then can never fully be realized anyway. I thought the book dealt brilliantly with social issues, using the OJ Simpson trial to illustrate the greater racial tension that exists in the novel. Some of the events in the novel, however, are a bit too coincidental. They are symbolically fascinating, but make the book seem much less realistic and thus much less effective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Poetic Prose

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book, one that I would suggest to a friend or coworker. Scott Spencer wove together all of the thoughts, ideas, and fears that some people hold about race and interacial relationships. I think he gives the reader a chance to view race, relationships, and infidelity through the lives of an African-American woman and a Caucasian male. It is great to see that through their differences, Iris and Daniel, they were able to love. What better story line than that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    Homework

    Generally, I liked this book, however, as a former speech therapist, having dealt with many aphasic patients, I just couldn't get past Spencer's contrived portrayal of Hampton Welles' global aphasia being a result of suffering an injury to his throat with a Roman candle. Huh? Had Mr. Spencer done his homework on this matter, he would have found that (1) Global Aphasia is somewhat rare and (2) Aphasia is the result of a brain injury (usually thrombosis or embolism from a stroke) and NOT the result of a throat injury which, by the way would likely have rendered Hampton unable to phonate. Perhaps he was saying that Hampton suffered a stroke as a result of the firework hitting his throat however, it more than likely would have killed him in either case. Nevertheless, he was able to evoke strong feelings toward his characters (I wanted to smack the little black kid on several occasions) by way of his prose. I did think Daniel's portrayal as being a magnet to tragedy, bad decisions and being in the wrong place at the wrong time somewhat contrived. The collective incidents in the book made his character somewhat unbelieveable. Nevertheless, Spencer made it easy to see how many lives can be affected by one ill-conceived decision or choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    Credibility and Circumstances

    Interesting and mostly compelling read about the dynamics of human relationships although I found the circumstances of Hampton's accident at the hands of Daniel somewhat contrived. Several other circumstantial events pushed the limits of credibility. The unresolved ending left me 'hanging out there'. Somehow Daniel's compulsive and addictive behavior does not ring true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    The Ending

    The ending alone makes this book worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1