Customer Reviews for

Ship of Destiny (Liveship Traders Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Excellent series. Loved every book in the series, and the char

    Excellent series. Loved every book in the series, and the characters of Captain Kennit and Paragon, as well as their relationship to eachother, are very , very deep and profound. WOW.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Robin Hobb is a great writer

    I loved the whole Farseer, LiveShiop saga and think Robin Hobb is one of the better fantasy writers of the ages. Her characters are well developed, she can write well in both 1st person and 3rd, and the story is wonderful. This was a great end of a middle of a great series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Liveship traders series Books 2 &3--Mad Ship and Ship of Magic

    Was glad I purchased these 2 books together because when I finished book #2 I could start #3 right away!!. The storyline is well written, you can identify with the characters even with the Liveships. Robin Hobb makes all her characters real and believable. If you want fantasy, adventure, love-story and a thriller all wrapped into one read this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Amazing story & closure

    Hobb never fails to deliver. She will have you on the edge of your seat with emotions and excitment hard to contain. Sometimes while reading Hobbs I almost feel suffocated with anticipation of what is going to happen next. Amazing. I have never read another author that captures me the way she does! Truly must read if you want to understand Farseer/Tawny Man saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ms. Hobb has a rare talent for creating characters to real you feel you will run into them someday. Her worlds are so perfectly built that you swear you will see them someday. I have read the complete series and am amazed at how she blended everything together. Ms. Hobb does not give you bits of information to propel the story along, although at the time, they may seem like it. They are actually pieces to a much bigger puzzle that if you stay around for the ride, you will understand in the end. The last 200 pages of this book were difficult to put down. I finished this book while on vacation and looked for reasons to leave my company, just so I could read a couple more pages. It¿s amazing how you can cook and read at the same time. I was sad to see this series end, but I was satisfied with the turns of each character. If you have never read Ms. Hobb before, find a book immediately. She is one of our generations greatest writers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2002

    The best of all three

    After reading the first two books in the series, I was hoping to see that the third would wrap it up nicely. My hopes were exceeded in this instance...the book did a very nice job finishing things up as well as throwing in a few surprises here and there which kept the plot intriguing. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who appreciates her trilogy and would enjoy a good sea faring yarn. Enjoy.... :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Masterful completion of a great trilogy

    Robin Hobb wraps up her Liveship Traders trilogy brilliantly. Her characterization as always is incredible - characters are depicted in a thousands shades of grey rather than mere black and white. This trilogy and this book in particular are moved by its strong characters, and the climax is one of the most moving I've encountered in twenty years of reading science fiction and fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2000

    complicated, mesmerising, satisfying end to trilogy

    I read the Apprentice series and really enjoyed it, however, I feel the author has really grown with the Liveship trilogy. The writing is very discriptive and literate. She skillfully weaves the stories of serpents, liveships, pirates, Bingtown Traders, Rain Wild Traders, and Nobility into a seamless whole while bringing alive characters that make you think and feel. This book has everything: adventures, mysteries, ethical dilemmas, complex good guys, complex bad guys, and romantic confusions. If you like high adventure fantasy this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3