Customer Reviews for

Shirley

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enchanting...

    Charming, lovely, and captivating is this story. Though it is Charlotte Bronte's lesser known of works, it is a beautifully woven tale just as enchanting as Jane Eyre, though perhaps less melodramatic. It is a bit hard to get into at first, but after the the second or third chapters the book begins to weave a magic web around your imagination, spellbinding it til 'the end'.
    Read it and you will not regret it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Personal Fave!

    I have to say that this is now my favorite Bronte tale. I picked up this novel for an independent study course I was taking in gender studies but after the first few chapters I couldn't put it down. The characters are full of life and depth and the plot itself is strategically tied to cultural events going on during this period in history. The romance is complicated and yet spellbinding and the barriers thrown up in front of the main characters are the typical social expectations and class lines which make you route for the tender-hearted as well as the stubborn/willful women of the day. It is a must read for any lover of classic literature and a must own for any true Bronte fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    One of my favourite Bronte books. Just as good, if not as widely appealing or so quickly attractive as Jane Eyre.

    Shirley just gets better and better every time I read it. It isn't a first read book; it's one you keep coming back to, enjoying it more every time.

    Sometimes the plot seems to drag a little, and there are parts that I find not as interesting. But there is a wealth of delightful secondary characters, two widely different love stories, and just so much to revel in. There are many humorous parts, particularly those involving the curates.
    Shirley is brown, and grey, and black; but it's a golden brown, a soft misty grey, and a pure, firm, solid black, like its namesake.
    Just as good, if not as widely appealing or so quickly attractive, as Jane Eyre. Persevere, and you will be amply rewarded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Highly recommended. A surprise from Charlotte Bronte's pen.

    I first decided to read this book simply because I read everything else Charlotte Bronte wrote. It has become my favorite of her books, though it seems to be the least known and neglected by most. It is about the goings on in and around the Yorkshire mills in 1811-12 in the context of the Napoleonic Wars and the relatively early days of the Luddite movement. The principal characters are diverse and, at least to me, most are more believable than those in Bronte's other books. I like that the author's voice is much quieter and is less pompous, preachy and opinionated than in all of Bronte's other books. For the most part, she lets her characters and their actions speak. There are also discussions about politics and the society. Another pleasant surprise is that it is much more feminist that any of Bronte's other books. Almost every female character, regardless of her position in society is a person in her own right, who also feels that she is a full-fledged member of the society: Caroline wants to be just as useful as the men; Shirley, even in her most docile state, is her own person; Hortense worships her brothers, but runs the household; William Ferren's wife stands with her man, not behind him; even the Old Maids, while letting men have the visibility, do not simply dissolve into the background. I find it refreshing, particularly considering that in Villete, Professor, or Jane Eyre women submit to their chosen Masters, which I found rather jarring. The feminism is there, without being shouted or preached about. It is also interesting to consider this book in connection with Elizabeth Gaskell's "North and South". Considering the close friendship between the authors, the common elements are not surprising; but each story stands on its own merit; while the connections only add to the enjoyment of each.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Love It! Underrated

    Read this because I was reading all of the Bronte sisters work and have loved it ever since. I find it is my favorite of Charlotte Bronte's books. It begins with a rant about politics and men but I found that it added to the story. If you like the political/economic issues from Gaskell's North and South then this will probably be a good match.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a book aboud personality. I think it can develop new image of his author and recommend all your customers to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Meh

    I expected much better after Jane Eyre. The plot seemed repetitive. I went through the first two-thirds of the book, and figured I had read enough as the same events just kept reoccurring. Also, Shirley is supposed to stand as a polar opposite to display everything Caroline wishes she could be in a male dominated society, but the character just comes off as cocky. If anything, she only serves to make Caroline, a normally fasinating character, look downright pathetic. Pass this one up. It got poor reviews almost 200 years ago, and it should get them today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    Not to be overlooked!

    After reading Jane Eyre, I thought no book could top or compare. Then I read Villette, and proved myself wrong. After that, I highly doubted I could be three times blest with a great novel by Charlotte Bronte- boy, I was wrong! I can't understand why this book is so little talked of- I have even heard people comment that it was a mistake, and never should have been written. I for one, thought it was excellent, loved the characters, and now how a wonderful story to keep as a treasure in my mind, alongside those gleaming gems- Jane Eyre and Villette. Charlotte writes so well, and in such a unique manner, I cant help but be spell-bound by her words and descriptions. For every Bronte lover, and anyone who enjoys a long book, with many various memorable characters and scenes- an investment in time, but surely worth while. No pun intended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    Excellent book!

    Title, bearing my name [ha ha] caught my eye. The summary of the story looked interesting and I was not disappointed. I love stories with headstrong heroines, Shirley's mannerisms and attitude were a delight to read of as the book takes place in the early 1800s where men still dominated society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2001

    For every 'Jane Eyre' fan

    Almost as good as 'Jane Eyre' (let's face it, nothing is better), I enjoyed this book so much that I dragged out the reading as long as I could. If you hunger for more of Charlotte Bronte's excellent style of writing, any of her novels will do but I prefer this one because of the way she ties her very realistic storytelling in with the historical issues of her time. If you've ever longed to see a strong heroine who is natural and life-like, meet Shirley, who is practically treated as an equal to men. Caroline is the other, more typical heroine, being quiet and ladylike, but with a backbone and strong character that make it hard to favor either heroine over the other. The only bad part to this book is the same as the bad part of 'Jane Eyre'....when you finish the last word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1