Customer Reviews for

Shirley Jones: A Memoir

Average Rating 3
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This is a great book filled with insight into the real life of S

This is a great book filled with insight into the real life of Shirley Jones. The details of her marriage to Jack Cassidy are very interesting. Her account of her relationship with step-son David Cassidy is eye opening. A very good book. Highly recommended.

posted by Brandi25 on August 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I am an admirer of Ms. Jones, and met her a few years ago.  She

I am an admirer of Ms. Jones, and met her a few years ago.  She is a lovely and gracious woman.  But this memoir was not impressive.  For starters, it was brief.  Some interesting subject matter was merely skimmed over, while other parts were seemingly added in for shoc...
I am an admirer of Ms. Jones, and met her a few years ago.  She is a lovely and gracious woman.  But this memoir was not impressive.  For starters, it was brief.  Some interesting subject matter was merely skimmed over, while other parts were seemingly added in for shock value.  I admire a woman who is not ashamed of her sexual conquests, but I feel that those were added in at the last minute and without the proper context.  And to talk about the size of her stepson's schlong was just creepy.

posted by Mamaloo on July 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great book filled with insight into the real life of S

    This is a great book filled with insight into the real life of Shirley Jones. The details of her marriage to Jack Cassidy are very interesting. Her account of her relationship with step-son David Cassidy is eye opening. A very good book. Highly recommended.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I found this to be a really exceptional book. I knew of Shirley

    I found this to be a really exceptional book. I knew of Shirley Jones as the mother of the Partridge Family. I was fascinated to learn about her work in musical films prior to her TV fame. The sex stories were a bit of a shock but interesting none the lesss. Overall I really enjoyed this book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    I am an admirer of Ms. Jones, and met her a few years ago.  She

    I am an admirer of Ms. Jones, and met her a few years ago.  She is a lovely and gracious woman.  But this memoir was not impressive.  For starters, it was brief.  Some interesting subject matter was merely skimmed over, while other parts were seemingly added in for shock value.  I admire a woman who is not ashamed of her sexual conquests, but I feel that those were added in at the last minute and without the proper context.  And to talk about the size of her stepson's schlong was just creepy.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    An image ruined!

    Ruined the good image I always had of a "lady." Some secrets should remain secrets. Most of her stories included people who could not even contradict her story because they are deceased!!! Still think she is an accomplished singer and a beautiful woman but extremely disappointed in her lack of pride in herself.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Although I was always a Shirley Jones, fan, I think I've changed

    Although I was always a Shirley Jones, fan, I think I've changed my mind.  This book is poorly written and her "sexual exploits" are written in for shock value.  Quite frankly, I found them gratuitous and, not that shocking.  I would recommend skipping this one!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    make money by telling us stuff we didn't need to know

    Hype, hype, hype and talking about masturbation at the age of 79 was pretty low, Shirley. Do you really need the money that bad?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Very immaturely written self indulgent book.  Save your money,


    Very immaturely written self indulgent book.  Save your money, unless you want another Hollywood same old story 
    Poorly written Hollywood trash.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Shirley must need cash

    I knew from TV interviews that the book would tell about Shirley Jones' sex life, but come on....could she have at least added a little bit of a story to go along with it? I think she must need money because most of this book sounded like it was made up. I was very disappointed and have lost a lot of respect for Shirley Jones.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Gives new meaning to the expression "Keep your hands to you

    Gives new meaning to the expression "Keep your hands to yourself."  I'm a Shirley Jones fan, but this was a creepy book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Why??

    Why do we know the dirty little secrets of a woman of her age????

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    I highly recommend this book. This book touched me in a way I di

    I highly recommend this book. This book touched me in a way I didn't expect at all. This is a beautiful but haunting story of true love and harsh reality. Ms. Jones opens herself up and allows the readers in to a heart wrenching choice of the safety of her children and her one true love. I for one want to thank her for sharing her story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Just Fabulous!

    This is a candid, very engrossing telling of a fascinating life! Couldn't put it down!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting book and a quick read. I enjoyed the book, altho

    An interesting book and a quick read. I enjoyed the book, although she didn't need to go into her 'sexuality' as much as she did. Some things she skipped over. But on the whole a quick and enjoyable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Don't bother - ICK!

    I always thought of Shirley Jones as a beautifully talented, classy and elegant lady. My opinion has been shifted 180 degrees and is thoroughly tarnished now. I wanted to read about the adventures of old Hollywood through her eyes and then share it with my Mother - needless to say, my Mom will never get this book from me now.

    Ms. Jones relationship with Jack Cassidy was totally creepy and my respect for her deminished rapidly as we learn that she knew all about his disgusting sexual escapades, but continued to stay with him. Was he really her Sexual Svengali or just a totally-addicted-to-sex perv? I choose perv. What a creepy guy. Do we really need to know how "well endowed" he was? No. Did she need to share that David Cassidy takes after his father in that department? Certainly not.

    The ick factor of this book was dripping off the pages. Now all I can imagine of her is a nasty, bawdy, old broad with her finger stuck in a vat of vaseline and ready to do for herself what even Jack Cassidy could not.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Wish I hadn't read it.

    Total waste of my time and money. Crude subject matter. If this book is true what a waste of talent. She must need the money. What a mistake reading this book if you can call it that. Not worth one star.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Wow Mrs Partridge!!

    While I found Shirley Jones's life very interesting the booked jumped around far to much to be entertaining. On the same page we were with Shirley in filming Oklahoma and then 3 paragraph's later we are on the set of the Partridge Family. I truly couldn't keep up to the point that I didn't care. Also while I'm very happy that Shirley has a healthy attitude about her sexuality I don't need to be reminded of that on every page of the book. We get the picture!!!
    If I had to give it a grade it would probably be a C.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Delete!

    People are people: we all have strengths and foibles. Some things, though, are best left private. Part of me admires Ms. Jones for letting it all hang out, but most of me wishes I could forget what I read-- too much information!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Shirley Jones - A Memoir

    Terrible! Self Indulgent! A real piece of trash!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Strongly recommend you to read this book

    i enjoyed every moment of the book. Ms. Jones is one of the best actresses in the world, and I felt like I knew her as a person after reading her very surprising book. I say I was surprised because you automatically think of "movie stars" as having it all. She went through some difficult times in her life.
    As someone raised on musicals, I have admired her beautiful voice since I was a child.
    Some of my fondest memories are of Oklahoma, Carousel or The Music Man watched together as a family.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Rock On Shirley...

    So many gave unflattering reviews and I must ask why? If her story didn't meet your standards, you could have laid the book down and not finished it.
    I am a 67 y/o great grandmother who thoroughly enjoyed every delicious page. You rock Shirley!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3