Customer Reviews for

Shit My Dad Says

Average Rating 4
( 4258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2288)

4 Star

(1104)

3 Star

(507)

2 Star

(191)

1 Star

(168)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book ~ Will read it over and over again when I need to laugh

Absolutely hilarious ~ I couldn't read it without spontaniously laughing out loud thru-out the whole book. Also an interesting look at parent/child relationships and a reminder that love can be shown in many different ways.

posted by Dawn_Briscoe on May 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Not really too funny

I came from as strange a family as many of the reviewers here and the author. So I get the humorous side of the topic of families and things parents say. But this book just really wasn't that funny. After the fiftieth time you read that Dad said something goofy and t...
I came from as strange a family as many of the reviewers here and the author. So I get the humorous side of the topic of families and things parents say. But this book just really wasn't that funny. After the fiftieth time you read that Dad said something goofy and then SWEAR SWEAR SWEAR.....It was just the same thing over and over again. I know the other reviews said LAUGH OUT LOUD.....I really didn't. Sorry. And, it was only 112 pages...but actually that was enough as it became VERY repetitive.

posted by GypsyHorseBreeder on June 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1104 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 56
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Laughed so hard my sides hurt

    I just bought this book and am only about 4 chapters into it and already I have laughed so hard my sides hurt. I have read some sections to my wife and she too has laughed a lot. This book isn't for anyone who does not like bad language but if you don't mind it this book will crack you up. My mother was a lot like the writers dad. What ever hit her brain often came out her mouth spiced with curse words. I loved my mom for her honesty and that you always knew where you stood with her. This guys dad is like that and I think I would love hanging around this out spoken and hard working man. It would remind me of home.

    The writing is done in a very friendly way. That is to say you can almost hear the writer's voice in your head telling you these stories and picture him rolling his eyes and blushing at the antics of his outspoken dad.

    It is a very fun read that is just for laughs. But if you read closely you can also tell that this outspoken man loves and supports his family 100% and no one is more on their sides than he is. Reminds me of my folks again. But if you don't want to get too deep into the meaning of the stories but just need a laugh then this book is great too.

    I can see myself rereading this book for a good laugh when I feel like I need one and telling friends about sections of it.

    By the way this is my first book review ever. I love books and reading and figure I often like reading what others have to say about a book and thought I would finally put my two cents worth in on something I liked.

    28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    Hilarous

    I am only 35 pages in and I can't stop laughing. Don't read this book with people around. They will think your crazy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, easy read

    Wonderful easy read for sheer entertainment purposes. Never followed the Twitter but the book was good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    Painfully funny as it reminds you of those you know

    Laugh out loud funny. Crazy to think that so many of us were raised by people like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very funny book - overpriced?

    This book is funny and you will laugh out loud throughout. The writer's "dad" is so refershingly honest. I enjoyed it and it was a nice break from the conspiracy and thriller books I like to read.

    My only complaint (if you can call it one) is the price I paid for the amount of book to read. $9.99 will not break the bank, but the book is only 110 pages. It's still worth the read if you're looking for some laughs. Maybe this will come down in price soon. If this becomes a part of nook's Lend Me feature, it's more suited for that purpose then.

    Still a great book - 4 stars!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    This was well worth the money.

    I very rarely read comedy books but this one was lol, funny. It is a book of short stories and situtions many of us can relate to and how the dad handles them. I loved his matter of fact ways and his down to earth attitude. He cussed alot but that was just part of the charm. Dont read it to your kids but it makes great night time reading for the adults.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Haven't read this yet but will, and it's given my sister and me

    Haven't read this yet but will, and it's given my sister and me real hope that we can make some cash off our father's ... err, umm ... discretions and vocal misgivings. And, for the reviewers who are offended by the seemingly gratuitous vulgarity I have to say, nope that's the real deal. I've learned so many interesting and colorful turns of phrases over the years from my 75 year old retired Navy dad. Oh boy. Still love him though. I will be ordering this after Christmas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    So so funny!

    This was very entertaining-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    A

    People like this book or hate it. OK I'm probably old enough to be your mom, but crass humour amuses me. Some readers sounded like they expected great literature here. Come on? Really? This title speaks very clearly about what you will find.
    Some others say "child abuse." Come on! This is a foul mouthed father who clearly wants to impart his rough foulmouthed wisdom and his son expresses his deep love for him. I rather doubt that a son would lovingly acknowledge a true abuser. His father would have some interesting thoughts and well chosen salty words about being called an abuser, I read this in a few hours and laughed until I cried while reading an excerpt to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    A bit on the short side but hilarious.

    A bit on the short side but hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    fun book

    A quick, enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Lots of laughs!

    My daughter said she liked this book. I guess her Dad says lots of sh*t. I read it. My Dad says lots of sh**. I read parts to my husband. Yes, his Dad says sh**. We all laughed reading the book and at our own sh***.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Universal Dad

    A very fun read because it cuts so close to home with humor that can only come as hindsight to father and son relationships everywhere. It will make you smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Really funny quick read.

    This book was really fun, reminded me of my own Dad. It was a really quick read, I finished it in about 2 hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Just read my review

    This book has a funny title and wow i just let my dad read this and he was laughing and then i read it and im like how is it funny im not laughing untill it got to one part and i ended up laughing so hard i couldnt breathe and thats why im giving this book 4 STARS!!!!!!!! YERP I SAID 4 STARS!!!! Yerp is a way i say yes and yerp i think its a little funny anf sorry for any typos or making you read this long review i just wanted someyhing to do before i pass out on the couch so yeah thanks for reading

    Love you xx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Funny funny

    Makes y childhood seem normal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Fast and Funny

    Read this on a plane while on vacation. Funny and passed the time. Beware the language if its something that might bother you. Otherwise, enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Funny & Brutally Honest

    A hilarious memoir about the relationship betweend a man and his grumpy but loving father. The author tells some great stories about growing up with his curmudgeon father and what happens when he has to move back in with his parents. I loved this book and can't wait to read what he has to say next in "I Suck at Girls"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Hilarious!

    This is not a book to read all in one sitting. I read it in bits and pieces; I savored it. I was about to read some excerpts to some co-workers, but they were all guys and I'm a gal, soooooo, I had a hard time finding one acceptable to read in mixed company. I did however constantly harass my husband with quotes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Funny

    Great stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1104 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 56