Customer Reviews for

Shiva's Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    Dance, Magic Dance

    This young adult fantasy novel is a richly descriptive and beautiful adventure in a fictional south Indian state, where a girl named Parvati is born in a poor family and strange, devastating weather strikes the community. Villagers shun her, treating her like a freak and believing that the village's problems are all her fault. She does indeed have magic powers, which she tries to suppress. She has a magical talent for dancing, a talent that goes unappreciated until a dancing guru arrives and asks her to join his school.

    As someone who has visited India, I found the book draws a vivid and realistic picture of the country. The characters come alive, and Parvati is a particularly sympathetic character and a strong heroine who must follow her heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    LOVED IT!

    When i first picked up this book i didn't think it would be this AWESOME but i read it because my friend told me i should & I'm a bookworm w/ a lot of time. I totally loved this book & learned a little bit more about my friend's background because even though she isn't from India(we both wish we were) she believes in dharma and karma and shiva, the god of destruction. AWESOME how that all ties into this and the hugest reason i love this book is because I love 2 dance & after reading this it got me more into my passion! I'm even going to buy a dancing costume liek the one in the book! Love it! A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    Beauty of a devi dasi

    This story captivated me, the ending is a killer and the beginning and middle ain't to bad either! The beauty in which the art of dance is described brings tears to my eye and I know i'll be hunting this book for my own personaly library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    I wish i could dance like that

    I liked the beginning best even though it was kind of gross that the father got smashed. Ever since i read this book for the first time i wished i could dance like Parvati could, i thought it sounded really cool. I have read this book at least 3 times and i never get bored of it. (i lov jewlrey and Parvati's sounds really cool)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Shiva's Fire

    Being born with a magical gift is not very quite often happened in this world, although it does happen in non- real worlds like the one of Parvati¿s. In the book Shiva¿s Fire, written by Suzanne Fisher Staples, the main character named Parvati is far more than unique from everyone else, she¿s special in a way. From the beginning she wasn¿t anything like the other village children in Nandipuram, located in the south of India. She was born to dance and that was her special gift from the God. She used to dance in front of the Shiva Nataraja¿s statue that, her father carved with sandlewood. She danced in front of a cobra snake without getting bitten and within the ignited flames of fire without getting even a singe to her or her clothes. During her childhood she was accused of bringing in a whole cyclone that destroyed the entire village and killed her father. This is either because of the auspicious timings of her birth or because she¿s abnormal from everyone else. On one normal boring day, Parvati received the news that she was selected to learn the Bharata Natya dance in the Gurukulam, located in Madras. Although she was not happy to leave her Family and go away, she felt proud and happy inside that she was doing her Dharma/ her duty as a dancer and that she¿s doing something that she very much loves. There, at the Gurukulam, she makes friends and discovers the magic of music(dance). Long after that, she meets a gentle-eyed boy who turns her life upside down. Although he gives her the thoughts of abandoning her special gift of dance, she picks the right way and that was to appreciate what god had given her and sacrifice to reach her goals in her life. I loved this book especially because it has to do with Hindu culture and I happened to be a Hindu so, I really understood and enjoyed this book very much. I highly recommend you read this book if you¿re interested in Dance, and would like to learn or read more about Hindu Religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Best Book I've Ever Read!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was the best book ever!!!!!!!!!! One reason I liked it was because it was my kind of genre. I like adventure, suspense, romance, drama, and meaning to it. And my favorite plot, in India. I don't know why, but I love all books that take place in India. In this book, the meaning was about sacrifice and destiny. This was a book I really enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    READ THIS BOOK

    I really enjoyed it, let's just say I read strait for 12 hours, no food, no bathrooms, just read. This book really tells Parvati's story so that it that makes her look inncoent, not like a freak like so many of the characters beleive she is. This is a great book, it has dancing, indian food *yummy*, and adventure, so please read this book, it's just really great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    WOW GRREATNESS

    wow this book was great seriously ppl it takes u from the indian culture to indian classicle dancing its a beutifull tis great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    Read This Book!

    Shiva's fire is interesting,captivating, truely magical. It is a fantastic book and I definatly reccommend it. If you dont read it you are missing out. READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Too Good!

    This book was great. It really kept me guessing. The title and the cover was what caught my eye at first. I couldn't put it down! I think it needs a sequal, though. I was a little bitter when it was over! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Beyond 5 stars

    I loved this book. It was brought to my intrest when I saw the cover... I was thinking 'wow! this is the same dance I learn!' so I bought it. The next thing you know I could not put the book down! Staples uses only the highest quality of writing with diferent twists and an allover outstanding plot to keep you into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Unpredictable

    I must admit, the cover is what made me buy it. They say you shouldn't judge a book by its cover, but go ahead, for this book it works! The story itself is just as colorful and intriguing as the front picture! It is a very different culture to what I'm used to, which makes it wonderful, and the plot isn't what you expect. It's a lot more complex, and I love the other characters... you'll see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Fantastic Book

    I, myself as a bharatanatyam dancer, thought this book was fantastic and helped me understand and learn more about the wonderful art. This book is a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    great book

    This is one of my all time favorite books. I strongly recamend it to anyone who loves India, the Middle East, and a story you just can't put down. It's great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Shiva's Fire

    When i read this book i feel in love with the it. I read it 3 years ago and today it is still one of my favorite. I will always remember this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    Super Cute Book!!!!

    I'm half Indian, and I totally embraced my Indian side after reading this book. The culture is so beautiful, and the whole plot of the book was just awesome!!!!!!!! I love the whole Rama and Parvati thing, too. lol Rama sounds hot!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    I wish I could give it more!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is like a dance itself, skillfully written and danced. It is positively stunning and I look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2003

    Amazing

    This book was amazing!! as the friend of two Bharatha Natyam dancers, i understood it. It inspired me to want to learn all i can about Bharatha Natyam and India. Anyone who loves India, should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Amazingly Written

    I have read many books and this is one of the very few that is very special to me. As soon as I was done reading it I had to run out to Barnes & Noble and buy it. It is now one of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Absolutely BRILLANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is absolutely BRILLANT!!!!!!!!!!! One of the greatest books of our time!!!!!!!! There should be a copy of Shiva's Fire in every school!!!!!!!! I would give Shiva's Fire an endless number of stars if I could!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2