Customer Reviews for

Shiva's Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    Dance, Magic Dance

    This young adult fantasy novel is a richly descriptive and beautiful adventure in a fictional south Indian state, where a girl named Parvati is born in a poor family and strange, devastating weather strikes the community. Villagers shun her, treating her like a freak and believing that the village's problems are all her fault. She does indeed have magic powers, which she tries to suppress. She has a magical talent for dancing, a talent that goes unappreciated until a dancing guru arrives and asks her to join his school.

    As someone who has visited India, I found the book draws a vivid and realistic picture of the country. The characters come alive, and Parvati is a particularly sympathetic character and a strong heroine who must follow her heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    LOVED IT!

    When i first picked up this book i didn't think it would be this AWESOME but i read it because my friend told me i should & I'm a bookworm w/ a lot of time. I totally loved this book & learned a little bit more about my friend's background because even though she isn't from India(we both wish we were) she believes in dharma and karma and shiva, the god of destruction. AWESOME how that all ties into this and the hugest reason i love this book is because I love 2 dance & after reading this it got me more into my passion! I'm even going to buy a dancing costume liek the one in the book! Love it! A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Best Book I've Ever Read!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was the best book ever!!!!!!!!!! One reason I liked it was because it was my kind of genre. I like adventure, suspense, romance, drama, and meaning to it. And my favorite plot, in India. I don't know why, but I love all books that take place in India. In this book, the meaning was about sacrifice and destiny. This was a book I really enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    READ THIS BOOK

    I really enjoyed it, let's just say I read strait for 12 hours, no food, no bathrooms, just read. This book really tells Parvati's story so that it that makes her look inncoent, not like a freak like so many of the characters beleive she is. This is a great book, it has dancing, indian food *yummy*, and adventure, so please read this book, it's just really great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    WOW GRREATNESS

    wow this book was great seriously ppl it takes u from the indian culture to indian classicle dancing its a beutifull tis great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Too Good!

    This book was great. It really kept me guessing. The title and the cover was what caught my eye at first. I couldn't put it down! I think it needs a sequal, though. I was a little bitter when it was over! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Beyond 5 stars

    I loved this book. It was brought to my intrest when I saw the cover... I was thinking 'wow! this is the same dance I learn!' so I bought it. The next thing you know I could not put the book down! Staples uses only the highest quality of writing with diferent twists and an allover outstanding plot to keep you into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Unpredictable

    I must admit, the cover is what made me buy it. They say you shouldn't judge a book by its cover, but go ahead, for this book it works! The story itself is just as colorful and intriguing as the front picture! It is a very different culture to what I'm used to, which makes it wonderful, and the plot isn't what you expect. It's a lot more complex, and I love the other characters... you'll see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Fantastic Book

    I, myself as a bharatanatyam dancer, thought this book was fantastic and helped me understand and learn more about the wonderful art. This book is a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Shiva's Fire

    When i read this book i feel in love with the it. I read it 3 years ago and today it is still one of my favorite. I will always remember this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    I wish I could give it more!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is like a dance itself, skillfully written and danced. It is positively stunning and I look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2003

    Amazing

    This book was amazing!! as the friend of two Bharatha Natyam dancers, i understood it. It inspired me to want to learn all i can about Bharatha Natyam and India. Anyone who loves India, should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Amazingly Written

    I have read many books and this is one of the very few that is very special to me. As soon as I was done reading it I had to run out to Barnes & Noble and buy it. It is now one of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Absolutely BRILLANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is absolutely BRILLANT!!!!!!!!!!! One of the greatest books of our time!!!!!!!! There should be a copy of Shiva's Fire in every school!!!!!!!! I would give Shiva's Fire an endless number of stars if I could!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    The Best Book Ever

    As an Indian who takes Bharat Natyam, I understood all of it. When I recommmended it to my friends, I thought they never would be able to understand it but they did. this book is the best book ever. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    shiva's fire

    this book was so amazing and since i am from india i really enjoyed this book. i have also taken barat natyam which is what kind of dance parvati does in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2001

    i loved this book

    This was a very good book, and since i enjoy reading about other countries, i really enjoyed this book, also as a dancer and animal lover, it was even more amazing, it was a very well written book, and i will read more of Staples's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    A Wonderful Book

    What do you do when thugs kidnap your best friend? Well, that¿s what Parvati has to find out in Shiva¿s Fire by Suzanne Fisher Staples. Ever since she was little, Parvati remembers everything. She even knew what was going on when she was an infant. When she was born, a giant storm came and destroyed her village.Then, as she grows up, it seems she can communicate with animals. Everyone blames her for the storm and looks at her funny when the animals follow her around. Then a guru comes to her house. Parvati loves to dance, and the guru wants to take her away and teach her to dance properly and to become a devadasi. But, if she goes with him, she cannot come home to visit her family. Will she do it? This is a wonderful book. I encourage all girls to read it. Emma E.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2001

    THIS BOOK ROCKS

    HELLO IN INDIA THEY SAY NAMASTA!! For all of you at there that are intrested in indian culture THIS BOOK IS FOR YOU. You get to learn the background of india and the gods. ESPC.. Shiva. If you like magic this is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    Shiva Rules!

    Shiva's Fire was the most exciting and suspenseful books I have read in along time! It takes my breath away, it was the most well written book I have read in along time. I hope every girl will get to enjoy the fasinating book, and journy to her own world, and relise the strengths of talents they have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2