Customer Reviews for

Shiver (Wolves of Mercy Falls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4061 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2573)

4 Star

(868)

3 Star

(354)

2 Star

(137)

1 Star

(129)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

I Didn't Expect To Love This Book So Much!

Before buying this book I read some of the reviews for it and many people said it was like twilight but everyone keeps saying that about non-twilight books. It's getting old having everything compared to twilight. I didn't know what I was in for and I'm sure glad I purc...
Before buying this book I read some of the reviews for it and many people said it was like twilight but everyone keeps saying that about non-twilight books. It's getting old having everything compared to twilight. I didn't know what I was in for and I'm sure glad I purchased this book. The chemistry and struggle between the main characters is unforgettable. It's the best. I can't wait for the next book and it comes out like a year from now.

posted by KateBrianIsAwesome on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

118 out of 204 people found this review helpful.

Didn't give me Shivers

Not bad, but certainly not great either.

I didn't go on any great adventures while reading, and the book really didn't entertain my mind. Hate to say it but reading felt like labor at times; boring and time consuming.

The author hadn't described the scenes and ev...
Not bad, but certainly not great either.

I didn't go on any great adventures while reading, and the book really didn't entertain my mind. Hate to say it but reading felt like labor at times; boring and time consuming.

The author hadn't described the scenes and events thoroughly enough in this book. You were told what happened, rather than shown.

The romance between Sam and Grace felt forced, cheesy even. He didn't talk or act like any 17. 18. 19 year old boy I know. Heck, in one scene, I mistakenly thought Grace and her mother were chitchatting when I realized it was actually Sam, not her mother, she was talking to.

More on the characters, a little flat if I may say so. They didn't have any interesting characteristics or dialogue to set them apart. Sure, there's the photographer best bud Olivia and the other best friend, obnoxious whatever-her-name-was, but they didn't really have any sparkle or realistic personality to them.

Okay, enough of the book bashing. Time to shout out some positives (:
I liked how the temperature forced the werewolves to change, rather than the moon. It was a very unique and interesting spin, I think.
The writing flowed and was kind of pretty. Not descriptive enough for my liking, but not bad.

To be frank, it's one of the better paranormal books out there on the shelves today. It certainly surpasses Evermore, Evernight, Wings, and Uninvited, poor books beloved by others that I found to be terrible.

But. Try Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause if you haven't already read it. I found it to be MUCH better than Shiver.

posted by kritzy on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Undeveloped

    I was completely unimpressed with this book. The plot wasn't dynamic at all, the characters were boring and flat, the love story was undeveloped (and slightly creepy), and I never was able to get into the whole "magic" of the story. Overall, I'd say you should save your time, and find another book to entertain yourself with. I had a lot of trouble finishing this one, and this is coming from an avid reader. Sorry...

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Stupid

    I HAD to read this for english, and i felt like a slave being forced to do something when i dont want to. Shiver is the worst book, ever read, BORING! Grace and Sam have a quick relationship. She loved him, when he was a wolf, BEFORE HE WAS HUMAN! If u ask me about this book, id rather jump off a cliff and get eat'n by a shark.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    ...

    I do not understand why everybody loves this book. Twilight + Shiver= unemotional, desperate love and poop. No offense intended.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    LAME LAME LAME

    Does the author even know one teenager? I would be shocked if she did, because the dialogue she writes for them rings completely false. Come on readers -- do you talk like that?? A parent who cries when her kid is attacked by wolves, but ignores her the rest of the time?? What clinic is going to allow a girl to run around unchecked, drawing blood?? Meningitis?????? I'm tired of writers assuming their readers are dumb and will blindly accept whatever they cram into the story. Have some respect for your audience, please. And don't get me started on the my-life's-labor-I-owe-you-all-so-much acknowledgments at the end. LAME LAME LAME

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    Oh come on...

    Grace is completely obsessed and it's pathetic. Not to mention she and Sam get lovey-dovey way too fast. Their romance is not very believable and just kind of boring and bland. The voice of the characters isn't good either. By that I mean they don't seem like teenagers. Plot holes? There are so many plot holes, and the conflict doesn't deserve to be called a conflict. The parents? What about the parents? A lame excuse is given for their absence. Um, okay. The parent cop-out so Grace and Sam could roam undisturbed is just..

    Okay, obviously I'm frustrated with this book. I'm not a Twilight fan, but even though Twilight also has an obsessive love, at least the book was better written.

    I'm not trying to bash or anything, I swear. I'm just trying to condense my comments. I wanted to like this book, I really did. The cover is gorgeous and werewolf? Who doesn't love a werewolf romance? Unfortunately, this one is badly written and the big element, romance, is rather bland and a bit juvenile.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    O MY GOD!

    There is 2 much SEX in this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    WTF

    To much sex

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Waste of my time... sorry Ms. Steifvater.

    I was disappointed with this book. I felt like Ms. Steifvater wanted to rush into the romance seeing as it takes no time for Grace to plunge in with Sam and start acting lovey. I absolutely could not stand Grace either... all she did was describe how she could smell like a wolf, kiss Sam, and just blahblahblah. Very disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    huh

    Never heard or it. I am more interested in Catching Fire @ the momment.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I always finish a book but for some reason i could not finish th

    I always finish a book but for some reason i could not finish this book . I could not stand the main characters. They were dull and boring i can not stand this book every time i look or read it i for some reason get mad. i hated how every time they had a cute romantic moment they wouldnt do anything they would say what they should have done but for some reason they did NOTHING!!! if i could i would give it -3 stars.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    I hated it!

    I feel like a freak because everyone seems to absolutely adore this book and it was just so boring to me. Everything about it just put me to sleep. I remember it sounded so good and i wanted it so bad so i bought it and now its the only book on my book shelf that i have bought and never read and then never touched again. Being one of the easiest people to please when it comes to books and then reading all the coments i thought for sure i would love it but i just hated it. Read the book becausw obviously its very much loved but i couldnt stomach ir

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    This book was so painfully boring. Plus it seems like an alterna

    This book was so painfully boring. Plus it seems like an alternate rip-off of Twilight. It's very much cliche. While I feel like Twilight is extremely overrated, at least it kept me interested and turning the pages. Shiver, however felt like an act of labor when I had to read it. See, HAD to read it because I had to make myself keep reading until eventually I couldn't stand it anymore. There seems to be no plot structure whatsoever and the romance between Grace and Sam feels forced and too quick. And honestly, a girl saying she's "in love" with a WOLF before she even knew about the human version of him is extremely weird and creepy to me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    Is it good?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Tell me why.......

    First explain to me why the love story is based on a 9year old falling inlove with a wolf, then proceed to tell me why on earth this book was published.
    Sam acts like an insecure softy and Grace wants to be some bad girl....nice story going.
    HOWVER, if you love werewolf stories you'll love it. The ending was pretty good.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Made me want to blow my brains out.

    I bought the audio book of this, and while I got to say the premise of this book was awesome (werewolves that change because of the weather? Finally, something original!) the follow up was terrible. I can't really say there was ever a good start, because from the beginning you get the feeling that they're maddly in love even though they've never formally met. Not totally unrealistic, but it's defineately out there, and with it being such a popular stand with writers since Twilight, it's getting old for me. I'd like to see some actual work put into the relationship for once, something that feels more sold. Another problem I had was this pace was SOOO slow. I can name one important thing that happened (the hunt where Sam(??) got shot) up until they did the deed, and that part was really close to the end, and if it wasn't, it sure as heck felt like it. The characters were one dimentional. Grace's (what is with the names?! Bella (italian for beautiful) and Grace! What's wrong with Amy or Amanda?) classic spunky best friend was so stereotypical. And there was no character growth. You could argue that Sam's mentor suddenly decided to turn into an butthead and change innocent kids, but I'd say it's debateable and that, like the Rock's character in Doom, he was always like that and Sam just never noticed. I also thought her argument for why they couldn't just go somewhere warm was weak. It also annoyed me that they couldn't connect the dots about Grace being bitten, having a fever in the car, and not changing. Why are characters always stupid? Why not just spend time thinking of an obstacle they have to overcome or make it less obvious? I would have liked to found out where they came from, if Sam was cured, if the rest of the pack that was stuck would be cured, if Grace's and Sam's relationship was challenged, but this book was too slow for me. Like someone else said, it felt like a chore to read. One last note. If you do decide to read this book, which is your choice, and hey you might like it, who am I to decide, DO NOT get the audio book. Sam sounded like a 40 year old man and Grace sounded like a prepubecent teen.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    I expected more...something from this author. It just read like

    I expected more...something from this author. It just read like all the other generic YA novels that mimic Twilight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I really wanted to like this book but I just couldn't get into i

    I really wanted to like this book but I just couldn't get into it. The relationship between Grace and Sam was laughable. There was nothing special about it. The way they spoke was annoying teenagers don't sound like that. Grace especially was irritating. Don't waste your time or money. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Help

    Sounds good but what age? I need to know because my mom want me to be careful on whar books i buy. Please help me. - Emily

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Please

    Please tell the me the truth

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Bleh

    Dont waste your time. I couldn't finish it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7