Customer Reviews for

Shiver (Wolves of Mercy Falls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4062 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2574)

4 Star

(868)

3 Star

(354)

2 Star

(137)

1 Star

(129)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

I Didn't Expect To Love This Book So Much!

Before buying this book I read some of the reviews for it and many people said it was like twilight but everyone keeps saying that about non-twilight books. It's getting old having everything compared to twilight. I didn't know what I was in for and I'm sure glad I purc...
Before buying this book I read some of the reviews for it and many people said it was like twilight but everyone keeps saying that about non-twilight books. It's getting old having everything compared to twilight. I didn't know what I was in for and I'm sure glad I purchased this book. The chemistry and struggle between the main characters is unforgettable. It's the best. I can't wait for the next book and it comes out like a year from now.

posted by KateBrianIsAwesome on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

118 out of 204 people found this review helpful.

Didn't give me Shivers

Not bad, but certainly not great either.

I didn't go on any great adventures while reading, and the book really didn't entertain my mind. Hate to say it but reading felt like labor at times; boring and time consuming.

The author hadn't described the scenes and ev...
Not bad, but certainly not great either.

I didn't go on any great adventures while reading, and the book really didn't entertain my mind. Hate to say it but reading felt like labor at times; boring and time consuming.

The author hadn't described the scenes and events thoroughly enough in this book. You were told what happened, rather than shown.

The romance between Sam and Grace felt forced, cheesy even. He didn't talk or act like any 17. 18. 19 year old boy I know. Heck, in one scene, I mistakenly thought Grace and her mother were chitchatting when I realized it was actually Sam, not her mother, she was talking to.

More on the characters, a little flat if I may say so. They didn't have any interesting characteristics or dialogue to set them apart. Sure, there's the photographer best bud Olivia and the other best friend, obnoxious whatever-her-name-was, but they didn't really have any sparkle or realistic personality to them.

Okay, enough of the book bashing. Time to shout out some positives (:
I liked how the temperature forced the werewolves to change, rather than the moon. It was a very unique and interesting spin, I think.
The writing flowed and was kind of pretty. Not descriptive enough for my liking, but not bad.

To be frank, it's one of the better paranormal books out there on the shelves today. It certainly surpasses Evermore, Evernight, Wings, and Uninvited, poor books beloved by others that I found to be terrible.

But. Try Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause if you haven't already read it. I found it to be MUCH better than Shiver.

posted by kritzy on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 354 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    poetic, lovely, and hopefully the start to a cool series.

    It is worth reading Maggie Stiefvater's books just to see the poetry in her language. You'll want to re-read passages aloud they're so beautiful. Even aside from the language, there are so many positives I found in this book. I thought the dialogue between the teens was dead on. I thought the atmosphere was great: cold and dark and then, when there was romance in the air, you felt warm too. The book had a great beginning. One scene in particular was masterfully done: when Grace is helping Sam try not to phase. She's holding him, talking to him. Sam is shaking hard, writhing on the floor, on the verge of giving in. One of the best parts of paranormal fantasy, particularly when branded with a YA label, is how it can tackle issues of identity. That scene, for me, could be a very powerful metaphor for overcoming addiction. I realize it could mean something totally different to another reader, but that's why I liked it. Love can pull you out of some dark places and give you the courage to change or, in this case, fight against becoming a monster. Overall, I thought this book was great. I only had a few dislikes. I wish there had been more of a plot. SHIVER uses the same "plot" TWILIGHT uses ... which is mostly just 300 pages of two people making out. The way Sam and Grace push past physical boundaries is the only real page turner and, for me, even that got a bit boring (the part where Grace puts her face in his armpit and talks about how good it smells ... I didn't really get that). I also thought the parents were too conveniently absent. Even though they were gone all the time, I find it hard to believe they didn't know a boy was living under their roof for weeks at a time. My final dislike is kind of petty, but worth mentioning: In a book this poetic and pretty I thought it was lame that the word "retard" was used. Still, I think the novel is definitely worth reading. I'll be looking forward to the other books in the series and I hope SHIVER gives Stiefvater a platform for many more dark and lovely stories.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Beautiful Epitome of Love

    It was captivating. There were not a lot of characters so I never got confused with who was who, and it seemed like the characters that did appear more than once were well drawn. The whole story seemed real as I read it with all the metaphors and descriptions that drew pictures in my mind. Not only will this book grab hold of your emotions, it also make you realize how you should never take things forgranted, that you should cherish it while you can, like the two main characters Sam and Grace.

    This book was pieced together very well and transitioned from Sam's point of view to Grace's point of view easily. However, I wish their way of speaking (when it was their turn in 1st person) differed just a bit more so I really knew when I read that that was Sam speaking and not Grace. There were also many scenes of romance when it was teetering on the edge of being gushy, though never crossed that line. This is a true romance book with just a bit of thrill in it that held me from beginning to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    OK, overall.

    I started reading this book with very high expectations, due to all of the reviews I read. Unfortunately, it wasn't nearly as good as I had hoped. The beginning was very good, but as I went further into the book, I became more and more disappointed. The further in I read, the more profanity Sam used. And Grace seemed to become more and more shallow, wanting nothing more than physical contact with Sam. It was a little slow, and there were a few times I had to back to be sure what was happening.

    Ok, enough criticism, here is some praise:
    It was written in first person, which I really love.
    It sucked me in very quickly (I stayed up until almost midnight, reading).
    The storyline was pretty good, although there are a few things I would have changed.
    And the twist on werewolves was excellent (cold turning them into wolves, rather than the full moon).

    Overall, it was alright. I won't be looking for the sequel, for various reasons. But if you like romance/fantasy novels, I highly recommend this book. Just be warned, it might be hard to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Enchanting

    This book is really hard to get into at first, but keep reading! It gets a lot better, and it's full of surprises. I am 16, and i would say this book is more geared towards teenagers and adults with a love of fantasy and classy romance. Anyways, overall it was a good read, but kind of a spinoff of twilight. I would be more impressed if it had a completely new storyline...but still worth the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    First Book I didn't finished.

    I was excited when I first got this book, not a single drop of hesitation to open it and begin reading its pages. The beginning is always the hardest part to get through the book, so when it wasn't an attention catcher, I wasn't discouraged to continue reading it. Then towards the middle of the novel, I started to get bored with the story. Hey, it has a good story with Sam turning into a wolf whenever the temperature dropped and how Grace for some reason never turned into a Wolf but the love relationship between the two is equivalent to cheesy. Also the entire book was boring to me, even through the climax it felt like the author was missing something. It just wasn't what I expected it to be and if I definitely would return the book (if I had a chance). Some people love the book, and there's some like me who are bored of it. If I were you, I'll take in a few pages of the book before purchasing it to see if you like it or not. I wish that I never bough it the first place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    An ok read!

    This book was a one day read. I read the reviews and thought "Yes a book I can read to get a Twilight fix :-) but it did not fulfill my expectations. Maybe if I read this book first then read the Twilight series it would have been excellent but otherwise it was an ok read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    Good Twilight Transition Book...

    I very much enjoyed this book. I bought it to transition myself from my beloved Twilight series and it worked. Sam and Grace are NOT Edward and Bella but they are enjoyable characters. I found the story to be a little to similiar to Twilight but that's what I was looking for so I won't complain.

    I found I fell sleepy while reading this at night which never happened while I read the Twilight series.

    As a huge DOG/animal lover I wasn't fond of the dog fighting scene or the part where a dog gets eaten. I found that very distasteful and wish the author would have chosen wild animals for that instead of domestic house pets. This story is a pleasure reading story and I found those parts unpleasant.

    Having said all of that... I would love to see this made into a movie and I am looking forward to Linger. Until then I just bought the first two Southern Vampire (Sookie) books and I am starting The Time Traveler's Wife tonight.

    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2015

    I finally read Shiver. It's been on my to-do list for a very lon

    I finally read Shiver. It's been on my to-do list for a very long time. My daughter has owned this book for a few years now but I've just never found the time to sit down and read it.

    I've actually been following Maggie on Facebook and love her posts so decided it was time to read the book.

    And, unfortunately, Shiver just wasn't the book for me. There were a lot of things I loved about it: character development, setting, premise. But when it came down to it, I actually had to force myself to finish it.

    So what was my problem? A lot of the book seemed a bit Twilight-ish to me (and I hate saying that because Shiver is much better written than Twilight). I think it was the werewolf story itself. I'm just not intrigued enough by vampires, werewolves and such. They don't grab me and pull me into the story. A part of me is always hanging back thinking "Oh really?".

    When I think about it now, the only vampire or werewolf book, or even movies/television series, I truly became hooked on was Buffy.

    That aside, if you do like paranormal themes, Shiver is well done. The fact that you are able to get into both Grace's and Sam's head is a bonus. Maggie does an excellent job of switching point of view and that really gives this book some depth.

    You can also see how the secondary characters she introduces in Shiver may come to play an important role in future books. They are interesting and developed enough that the reader feels curiosity as to what will come of them.

    I'm not sure if I will read any more of the Shiver trilogy but the writing is strong and the characters are engaging. If the paranormal appeals to you, then this is definitely worth a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the way this story was written. From a technical perspec

    I loved the way this story was written. From a technical perspective, Stiefvater told the story beautifully. The way she delivers information is gorgeous and I love how she tackled a teen-sex scene. It's how all sex scenes should be told (leave it to my imagination).

    The problem with this book is that there's very little story here. It's just a love story and it's one that doesn't feel realistic because it's love-at-first-bite and I don't believe in love-at-first-sight which leads me back to the sex scene because Grace basically hops in bed with a boy she knows intuitively. Real love is based on actually knowing someone, not staring into their eyes (if you're staring into the other person's eyes more than you talk with the other person, you're not doing the couple-thing right).

    I'm going to read the second book because the Stiefvater is a series-writer and I'm hoping there's a plot here that I didn't catch because I was in awe of the story-telling. Stiefvater can write but I wish she'd give me something with more substance, something with meat clinging to the bones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    Wanna get it!!

    This was a good, fast and a book that grabs you. I liked it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Good

    This is the first book I have read from this writer and will probably read the next one in this series. It did have an interesting story line, but did get a little draggy (if this is a word) here and there. Some places were just a little too unbelievable, but overall it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    318 pgs

    I'm not sure how I feel about this book, not my type really, but I had to finish it so I would know how Grace & Sam ended. I guess if you are more into werewolves than I am it would rate higher but I give it 3.5 rating. Glad I read it but would not read again. GJRA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    It was okay, but lacking in some ways

    It was okay, but lacking in some ways

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Hi

    E

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Pretty good

    Shiver was a good book. It was not my favorite but it did have some good elements to it. I felt uncomforatble during one part in the book that is innappropriate for younger readers. Easy to skip through, though.

    Things I liked:

    I liked the plot (most of the time). It was easy to follow along with and had some very intereting action. I also liked learning about Sam's background throughout the book. The writing was beautiful, the author's words flow perfectly to form this story.

    Things I didn't like:

    Unfortunately this list it a bit longer. I didnt like how the story was told through both Sam and Grace's point of view. Some people like stories told that way, but I do not. I also didn't like how cheesy the whole "wherewolf with temperature change" thing played out. It was a very interesting concept, however I felt like the author did not do the best job giving the concept depth. The writing was beautiful, true, but behind the words was a cheesy concept that wasnt excectued the best. One more thing. I do not understand how Grace and Sam were randomly attracted to each other. I can understand why Grace is a bit more, just because Sam saved her from being mauled by his pack. But why did Sam save her? Is it just because she was pretty? It bugs me how he just randomly chose her.

    Overall, the book was good. I wouod reccomend it for ages 12+. I am not planning on finishing the series. I felt like the end of this book was a good, simple resolution. I do not feel like it needs to be drawn out more. Besides all of the negatives, I still enjoyed "Shiver".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I was pleased with this book but I wish the author would have gi

    I was pleased with this book but I wish the author would have given Grace more emotion to show. I also thought many of the scenarios were very unrealistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    **SPOILERS** Ehh, this book was okay. I found it a little weird

    **SPOILERS**

    Ehh, this book was okay. I found it a little weird how after 6 years of sam just watching grace as a wolf,
    all of the sudden they are BAM in love and together. A little fast, not enough building up to it. This book also
    started a little slow. I don't know, maybe I am more of a vampire person and not so much a werewolf person. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Whaat??

    Y do they have the temperature on there?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    IM HIGHLY OUTRAGED

    Really the last book hurt my feeling on how it ended she needs to make a third book-_-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    :)

    It's DEFINENTLY NOT the best book Iv'e ever read, its ok, i guess. A bit boring, kinda gross, ok but not the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 354 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18