Customer Reviews for

Shiver (Wolves of Mercy Falls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4068 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2578)

4 Star

(870)

3 Star

(354)

2 Star

(137)

1 Star

(129)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

I Didn't Expect To Love This Book So Much!

Before buying this book I read some of the reviews for it and many people said it was like twilight but everyone keeps saying that about non-twilight books. It's getting old having everything compared to twilight. I didn't know what I was in for and I'm sure glad I purc...
Before buying this book I read some of the reviews for it and many people said it was like twilight but everyone keeps saying that about non-twilight books. It's getting old having everything compared to twilight. I didn't know what I was in for and I'm sure glad I purchased this book. The chemistry and struggle between the main characters is unforgettable. It's the best. I can't wait for the next book and it comes out like a year from now.

posted by KateBrianIsAwesome on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

118 out of 204 people found this review helpful.

Didn't give me Shivers

Not bad, but certainly not great either.

I didn't go on any great adventures while reading, and the book really didn't entertain my mind. Hate to say it but reading felt like labor at times; boring and time consuming.

The author hadn't described the scenes and ev...
Not bad, but certainly not great either.

I didn't go on any great adventures while reading, and the book really didn't entertain my mind. Hate to say it but reading felt like labor at times; boring and time consuming.

The author hadn't described the scenes and events thoroughly enough in this book. You were told what happened, rather than shown.

The romance between Sam and Grace felt forced, cheesy even. He didn't talk or act like any 17. 18. 19 year old boy I know. Heck, in one scene, I mistakenly thought Grace and her mother were chitchatting when I realized it was actually Sam, not her mother, she was talking to.

More on the characters, a little flat if I may say so. They didn't have any interesting characteristics or dialogue to set them apart. Sure, there's the photographer best bud Olivia and the other best friend, obnoxious whatever-her-name-was, but they didn't really have any sparkle or realistic personality to them.

Okay, enough of the book bashing. Time to shout out some positives (:
I liked how the temperature forced the werewolves to change, rather than the moon. It was a very unique and interesting spin, I think.
The writing flowed and was kind of pretty. Not descriptive enough for my liking, but not bad.

To be frank, it's one of the better paranormal books out there on the shelves today. It certainly surpasses Evermore, Evernight, Wings, and Uninvited, poor books beloved by others that I found to be terrible.

But. Try Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause if you haven't already read it. I found it to be MUCH better than Shiver.

posted by kritzy on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 354 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    I bought the book because the first few pages were really good b

    I bought the book because the first few pages were really good but as i
    got through half of the book i got really bored and stopped reading, i
    was hoping for more action then romance but if you really like romance
    it might be a good book to read i also felt that the way Sam talked
    about how he liked and thought of grace was a bit corny but thats just
    me, anyways its been about 6 months now and the book is still on the
    shelf half read and unfinished. i really like the look and feel of the
    cover and i really love the fact that the letters are blue instead of
    the normal black. Maybe i should give this book another chance and
    finish it, the ending might be good....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Meh

    Just... meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Shiver was a great quick read. It was beautifully written, almos

    Shiver was a great quick read. It was beautifully written, almost like poetry and I liked how the author decided to alternate each chapter from a different character's point of view. The reason this book only gets three stars from me is because of the plot. It was slow at times, but if you're looking for a quick summer read I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Grace was aged before her time

    There was a lot to like about Shiver. Not one of my favorites, but definitely a decent read. Grace was an interesting character. My first impression was she acted too grown up for a seventeen year old. It took me a while to warm up to her because of it. It wasn’t until later when her situation became apparent that her personality began to fit in my mind. Sometimes experiences do make children grow up a little fast. Sad, but true. Truly Grace was aged before her time. Certainly Sam was an important character. Even though he had his own POV in the story, for some reason he just didn’t seem to take lead as I’d expect a main character to do. He seemed to play second fiddle to Grace. Not sure if this is what Ms. Stiefvater intended when she wrote the two POVs, but that’s how it played out to me. And it was certainly okay in my mind. A lot of romances are like that, with the female having more of a presence than the male. I wasn’t bothered, it just an impression which stayed with me. If I could put some adjectives to Sam’s name they would be Loyal, Chivalrous, Persevering. So, I’m looking at my earlier notes and found I had a lot of questions at the beginning of the novel. The answers were answered later in the book, but I remember being very confused early on and asking the question “what are the rules?” I didn’t like the vagueness. In truth, I believe it was a main reason I had such a difficult time investing in the novel. It wasn’t until the rules about transformation and such became concrete that I was able to really get into the book. In a way, I guess it was fitting since Grace didn’t really know all the rules herself. Sam certainly was more familiar, but he wasn’t keeping me privy to all the hush, hush secrets about lycanthropy. One of the things I found fascinating was Grace and Sam’s relationship. They reminded me of an old married couple many times in their mannerisms. They seemed comfortable with each other. It was almost as if they’d spent the last six years in each others company and not just a few weeks (or whatever the time period was). It was odd to see their relationship at that maturity level when really everything was so fresh to them. That Grace was the sexually assertive one surprised me. Even though I’m a prude and want all children to wait before engaging in sex, I found this novel modern in its presentation. Like many YA shows (Kyle KY, Vampire Diaries, Smallville, Pretty Little Liars), teens are doing the “deed.” It saddens me so little thought goes into sharing an experience which should be special. Yes, quite a few teens are having sex, and Ms. Stiefvater didn’t put anything on the table which wasn’t already there. I’d be naive to think they weren’t. And it’d also be silly to think the heavy petting and spit exchange wasn’t a common occurrence amongst some teens. I was a kid once too, despite my archaic mentality. Like I said, I’m a prude despite my fondness for writing and reading erotic literature and talking about sex in general. Shiver has one foot planted in the YA world, while crossing into the adult mentality. End the end, I have to say Ms. Stiefvater did an excellent job. Cause really, isn’t that what it’s like being a teen? Not quite a child, but definitely not a adult. The in between. Shiver ended rather abruptly. I certainly wasn’t ready for the ending and neither was my daughter. After she finished Shiver she came to me with the same thoughts. The story didn’t quite seem finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Shiver

    Good not great. Young were wolf love.blahhhhblahhhh blah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    A Twilight Remix

    Lots of people complain that tgia book is too often compared to twilight, but i caan see why. This book greatly resemnles Twilight. So, if you liked Twilight, and ever womdered what would happen if Edward was a werewolf this is your book....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    It was good

    Not great but pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Very confusing...

    Dont really understand the beginning of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    F Good but not great

    I thouhht that the book was good but it was strange. She falls in love eith a wolf, which is a little weird. Plus she is to concerned with her lve life that she is getting farther apart from her friends and fsmily. Also, she has him sleep over at her house without telling her parents. Over all, not a good book for someone to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Not recommended

    Recently bought the book. It was ok there was good and bad parts... But it was a little boring. Lacked my interest. this book is good if you like that sci-fi fantasy genre. It just wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Book 1 is good

    I really liked this first book... i thought it was pretty well done.. though kinda slow paced. I like a bit more action and adventure in my novels but that's just me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Nothing special

    This book was recommended to me and I found it an average read overall. It was recommended because I enjoyed Twilight, but where there are so many things going on in that series and others like it, Shiver never has a lot going on other than the struggle for two teenagers to stay together. The structure of the story is a little different than usual, and even the climax of the story falls a little short. However, it is by far not the worst book I have ever read, though not compelling enough for me to continue on with the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Had its ups and downs

    Im sorry to say, this book was complety based of twilight. The whole of the story was diffrent ,sure. But the love at first sight, gentlemen like, supernatural, anoying best friend and shyer but fun best friend. I mean really!! I DID have fun reading this book but it got so boreing i couldnt finish the series becouse i just got so bored...... but i do recommend this book to teens, but dont get your hopes to high. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Meh

    It got dry and boring at parts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Quirky Wolf Tale but Nothing Exceptional

    The story is not anything like the Twilight series. So, for those of you looking to read a story following the same pattern, this is not the book for you. It's a cute, quirky love story with a some problematic plot twists which leave questions, that I gather from reading the reviews of other readers who have already read the following two books in the series, are never answered. I admit I have only read the first book and I found it was easy enough to follow and read. It has an enticing element that makes the reader desire to know the end but at the conclusion, the reader wonders where else the author intends to direct her story without convoluting it. The love story is cute but the characters are weak and ill defined. I think the idea is more likable than anything and likely the reason people are able to finish the story but it's not a book that I would re-read on a rainy day (whether or not I would re-read a book is a defining characteristic of a great book). Essentially, it was okay but I am not so intrigued that I picked up the rest of the series in quick succession. I will get around to reading the other books in the series but I am not in any hurry....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Good, and entertaining as long as you stick with it

    I started off searching online for a book about werewolves, and i came across this book, and it fascinated me how the cold is what changed the wolves and not anger or a full moon.

    I went and bought the book and am glad that i did.

    The book can be boring and draggy at times, but if you keep reading, it's worth it at the end.
    I just hope the next book tells more about how Sam came back at the end as Sam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    It was okay

    I thought the book was okay. I liked how Maggie descried everything to make me feel like i was there. I also loved the whole new out look on werewolves but that was it. The whole love romance was a little obsessed and creepy i thought. Plus there is not much of a plot other then keep sam warm or he turns into a wolf. Grace to me was boring. She loved wolves and sam that's pretty much her character. Sam had a horrible past and he's nice, sweet, sensitive, and all these other things. I thought he was a little too perfect. Over all i did not hate the book it was just not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Missing holes in the story.....m

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book was just okay.

    I was actually pretty excited to read this book but when I started it.. I had a hard time staying interested. The story itself was alright and the writing was good... I think it's just that this story has been told more excitingly so many times now. It just lacks something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting but slow...

    The book gets better toward the end. It starts off very slow, but the characters are likeable and easy to understand. Good teen romance read and it is nothing like Twilight, so don't tie the 2 together. Overall, it grows and gets better, especially in the next book, Linger, and now I am just waiting for the third.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 354 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 18