Customer Reviews for

Shiver (Wolves of Mercy Falls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4061 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2573)

4 Star

(868)

3 Star

(354)

2 Star

(137)

1 Star

(129)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

I Didn't Expect To Love This Book So Much!

Before buying this book I read some of the reviews for it and many people said it was like twilight but everyone keeps saying that about non-twilight books. It's getting old having everything compared to twilight. I didn't know what I was in for and I'm sure glad I purc...
Before buying this book I read some of the reviews for it and many people said it was like twilight but everyone keeps saying that about non-twilight books. It's getting old having everything compared to twilight. I didn't know what I was in for and I'm sure glad I purchased this book. The chemistry and struggle between the main characters is unforgettable. It's the best. I can't wait for the next book and it comes out like a year from now.

posted by KateBrianIsAwesome on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

118 out of 204 people found this review helpful.

Didn't give me Shivers

Not bad, but certainly not great either.

I didn't go on any great adventures while reading, and the book really didn't entertain my mind. Hate to say it but reading felt like labor at times; boring and time consuming.

The author hadn't described the scenes and ev...
Not bad, but certainly not great either.

I didn't go on any great adventures while reading, and the book really didn't entertain my mind. Hate to say it but reading felt like labor at times; boring and time consuming.

The author hadn't described the scenes and events thoroughly enough in this book. You were told what happened, rather than shown.

The romance between Sam and Grace felt forced, cheesy even. He didn't talk or act like any 17. 18. 19 year old boy I know. Heck, in one scene, I mistakenly thought Grace and her mother were chitchatting when I realized it was actually Sam, not her mother, she was talking to.

More on the characters, a little flat if I may say so. They didn't have any interesting characteristics or dialogue to set them apart. Sure, there's the photographer best bud Olivia and the other best friend, obnoxious whatever-her-name-was, but they didn't really have any sparkle or realistic personality to them.

Okay, enough of the book bashing. Time to shout out some positives (:
I liked how the temperature forced the werewolves to change, rather than the moon. It was a very unique and interesting spin, I think.
The writing flowed and was kind of pretty. Not descriptive enough for my liking, but not bad.

To be frank, it's one of the better paranormal books out there on the shelves today. It certainly surpasses Evermore, Evernight, Wings, and Uninvited, poor books beloved by others that I found to be terrible.

But. Try Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause if you haven't already read it. I found it to be MUCH better than Shiver.

posted by kritzy on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2573 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 129
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Didn't Expect To Love This Book So Much!

    Before buying this book I read some of the reviews for it and many people said it was like twilight but everyone keeps saying that about non-twilight books. It's getting old having everything compared to twilight. I didn't know what I was in for and I'm sure glad I purchased this book. The chemistry and struggle between the main characters is unforgettable. It's the best. I can't wait for the next book and it comes out like a year from now.

    74 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shiver

    When I bought this book (as Barnes and Noble was closing), the lady told me not to start it until morning, otherwise I wouldn't be able to put it down. I didn't listen, and at 3:30 am, I finally put the book down and went to bed. It's rare that you find a YA novel that can move anyone. This book was incredibly romantic in a normal, down to earth way, despite it supernatural story. Unlike Twilight, the female lead (Grace) is strong and fun to follow, and Sam is absolutely wonderful. They find themselves through the same journey that they find each other. Grace finds out Sam's secret almost immediately, so the suspense is from dealing with this unworldly thing in the real world. I've recommended this book to teenagers and adults, and they've all loved it. It's one of the best books I've read recently, and I think anyone can enjoy it.

    71 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lynn Crow for TeensReadToo.com

    Years ago, Grace was attacked by a starving wolf pack, and only survived because one wolf, the one with brilliant yellow eyes, protected her. Ever since then she's watched for "her" wolf each winter, caught in a longing she can't quite explain. Then one fall a boy appears on her porch, injured, with those same yellow eyes. Grace knows he is her wolf.

    Grace feels more connected to Sam than anyone else in her life, and Sam would do anything for her. But right from the beginning, a shadow looms over their time together. As the weather gets colder, it's harder and harder for Sam to stay human. And he's sure that this time, when he turns into a wolf, it will be for good.

    SHIVER is a melancholy, romantic novel with equal parts tenderness and passion. Readers will find themselves swept up in Grace and Sam's unfolding relationship as they are finally able to talk and touch, and struggle to hold on to what little time they have together. The book is filled with gorgeous imagery that comes alive in your mind, and adds to the sense of fleeting beauty.

    Some may find the story a little slow-moving: many of the scenes are simply Grace and Sam being together, and of the few subplots that increase the suspense, all but one are dropped with little or no resolution. But the book is well worth picking up just for the character study of a boy growing up torn between human and animal worlds, and the main characters' chemistry and frantic attempts to hold off Sam's change will keep appreciative readers glued to the page.

    Recommended for paranormal fans who prefer thoughtfulness and simmering emotion to action and violence.

    51 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent REad

    I loved reading this book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    49 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NOTHING like TWILIGHT but just as good, actually even BETTER.

    This book was so good that I finished it in one day, I just could not put it down. I was no mad at myself in the end because I finished it so fast, I did not wanted the book to end. It's just so beautiful, all of it the writting the characters. It's seriously a must read. What Edward is to "Twilight", Sam is to "Shiver." Not that I'm trying to compare the books because Shiver to me was sooo much better. The ending took my breath away.

    34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank You.

    I haven't read a well written book in a while. I mean, literally I've been reading little paperback summer books which are entertaining but 3/4 of the way through you just want it to end, or you already know how it's ending so you're bored. With Shiver though, I was so pleased, so haaaappy when I read it. Through out the whole book I laughed, I cried, I even anxious, scared for poor Sam. Maggie Stiefvater wrote this book beautifully with the most delicate words to describe every emotion and longing. Truly beautiful. Lately everything is about Vampires and I'm glad to see some werewolves out there (I'm a werewolf person myself per say...) If you enjoyed Twilight, I'm sure you'll fall in love with this book just as much. Heck, I like this book even more.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I highly recommend curling up next to the air conditioner with this one.

    I adore this book.

    Shiver is told through the two main characters, Sam and Grace, and I loved them both. The first-person narration moves between them seamlessly and is never jarring. Spending time with Sam and Grace is enjoyable; they are believable, likeable characters with flaws and quirks and all the things that make people people. The supporting characters are equally well-drawn, if not always equally likeable.

    Moreover, the plot is original. Sam is a werewolf, and in the world of the novel, werewolves are human in the heat of summer and wolves in the cold of winter. As the werewolves age, however, their human-time decreases until they remain wolves until death. And Sam feels his last summer coming on just as he and Grace get to know one another.

    Sam and Grace's star-crossed romance is at times cute and steamy, but always genuine. There are some PG-13 moments, but these are handled tastefully; I never felt that Shiver was dirty or overly descriptive.

    And the words, oh the words! The language is more than descriptive; it's poetic. When I wasn't busy being absorbed by the plot, I was drinking in Stiefvater's descriptions; I felt the Minnesota winter of the novel. I frequently reread sentences and lingered over well-worded paragraphs. And on top of that, Maggie Stiefvater is funny! I laughed many times, and you probably will too.

    Finally, the ending is abrupt but satisfying. I was left with a smile...and a craving for the sequel (Linger, which is due in Fall 2010). I highly recommend curling up next to the air conditioner with this one.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    Beautiful

    "Shiver" is an amazing story, especially if you are a fan of werewolves, or wolves in general. I loved Mrs. Stiefvater's writing style, and how she was able to switch point of views flawlessly. Absolutely cannot wait for "Linger".

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Shiver

    As a young 13 year old reader, and a Twilight fan i thought shiver was going to be like a story kind of similar to Twilight's New Moon. As i began reading this book, I felt it was a little slow up until about page 80. After I read up to that page I could not put the book down. The storyline somewhat reminded me of what Twilight would be like if Bella had chosen Jacob, but the book in itself was so mmuch more than that. To be honest, I love this book more than the Twilight series. Sometimes while reading the book, I felt as thought I was the characters. Even though this is a fantasy story, It felt very real to me. Maggie Stiefvater has well outdone herself with this book! I felt the ending was perfect!! I just left me wanting to read more. I you have not read this book i suggest you get off your computer run to a bookstore and buy this book immediately!!! FAVORITE BOOK OF ALL TIME CANNOT WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was a really good book. I was looking for something really good to read and saw shiver. Right when i saw the title i grabed the book. something was telling me get it so i did. I went home and read the whole thing in one night. The book was so amazing i dont even have words to explain it.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Breath taking love story!

    This book was great,I loved reading it.In some parts I think Grace gave up too easy,and didn't show enough emotion in other parts{like when Jack dies or when she thinks she's lost Sam for good}But when your reading it you imagen how you feel so that makes up for that.I wish there would have been more at the end,don't get me wrong the ending was good ,I just wanted more.I will read the book again.To give you more about the story,Grace was bitten by wolves,but she never changed{if you were bitten you changed in the cold weather into a wolve}because her father forgot her in the hot car when she was young.She fell in love with the wolve with yellow eye's{Sam} that saved her when she was bitten.His last summer being human they find each other and try to keep him from changing so they can be together.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely amazing. *Some spoilers*

    I finished Shiver this morning, and I honestly can't wait for the sequel, Linger.

    I know it's wrong to judge a book by its cover, but it's what drew me in from the start. The cover is absolutely gorgeous, and the story itself only adds to the beauty. The characters seem very real (even Grace's oblivious parents), the romance isn't too over-the-top, and while some of the events in the book are a bit outrageous, they make Shiver a bit more exciting.

    I'm getting a bit tired of people comparing Shiver to Twilight. Grace, in my opinion, is a strong girl. When her life was on the line, she kept her cool and handled the situation as best as she could. She may have been extremely upset when Sam vanished, but she didn't allow herself to become a full-blown zombie and detach herself from her friends/life completely, and didn't tempt the grim reaper to hear Sam's voice (Which didn't/probably couldn't happen in Shiver, anyway) like someone we all know of. While Grace did often go into detail about his eyes, I didn't mind it. It was nothing like Bella's constant descriptions of Edward's "cold, hard lips". Eesh.

    I highly recommend Shiver to anyone who loves fantasy, romance, and wolves/werewolves.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT

    so far i think its a great book
    Its heart warming and well written
    A++++++++++++

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Get Shivers Reading this book!

    Shiver, by Maggie Steifvater, is by far one of the best books I've read in my life. Her story combines mystery with romance, intrigue with passion. I can even go as far as saying that I enjoyed this book more than I enjoyed the Twilight series! Anybody who loves the works of Stephanie Meyer with also love Shiver.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    very good book about first love. Spoiler alert!

    this book is the first book I read when the main characters haven't had dozens and dozens of boyfriends/girlfriends before they find each other and it makes the book good since it's so pure and innocent. Other books like the house of night series has too much cussing and the main girl makes out with some guy for a year and they're not in a "relationship" yet. What the heck?

    Of course. I digressed.

    This book all in all is good. Especially the last few sentences of the book, which reveals the true ending. I was like, OMG! the way the author surprises you at the end is just so cute. I think the main guy is cute although he's a little too shy at times for a guy. He blushes all the time (more often than the girl herself) but I would definitely recommend this book to ALL of my friends.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AN AMAZING BOOK

    Even from the cover, I was amazed. The cover made me want to read the book, and when I did read the book I was doubly amazed. The author, to me, had an unusual way of writing, but overall it was great.If I could give it more than 5 stars, i would. I am VERY picky about books, if they are not good (in my opinion) i give up reading them. This one i read in about 2 hours after purchasing, it was great! I recommend this book to all teens (me being a teen also :] ) anyhoo I hope anyone that thinks of checking it out enjoys it :]
    also.. if anyone wants to reccomend books to me im open to ideas... running out of books to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Words Can't Describe This Book...

    Ever since Grace was attacked, she has been obsessed with wolves. Well, one wolf in preticular, a yellow-eyed wolf that saved her, protected her, and has loved her for years now. He can't seem to stay away, and she's glad. But when a boy from school is attacked and 'killed' people are starting to believe that wolves are way too dangerous. Dangerous enough for them to go on a hunt and kill them. Scared out of her mind, Grace desperatly tries to stop them. But it's no use; gun shots echo threw the woods. For her 'safety' and to her loss, she ends up back at her house, where yellow eyes are waiting there for her. And she just knows it's her wolf. The only difference is he's a human now. A bloody, dying, gun shot, victim. Luckly, he heals quickly and Grace is by his side. She's desperate to stay with him, with her wolf boy, her Sam for as long as she possibly can. But how long will that be? While he's recovering, Sam tells Grace everything. He's a 'werwolf' and his life is ruled by the seasons. Grace can't bear to lose him just as they get closer, and she does anything in her power to keep himm warm. As their love and relationship blossom, winter comes dangerously around the corner. But that's not all. The boy who was attacked, Jack, is now a wolf, too. He's unstable, and angry. All he knows is that Grace isn't a wolf, even though she was bitten. Does she know a cure? Can she save Sam from becoming a wolf forever? Will their love for each other overcome everything else?

    Shiver, by Maggie Stiefvater, is an wonderfully, amazing, chilling book that I will never forget. I cryed, laughed, and fell in love with the charaters from beginning to end, and I loved the whole book. I finished all 392 pages in this book in like nine hours, and stayed up until 5 am just becuase I couldn't put it down. The plot was so original and heartfelt, the words were wonderfully descriptive (but not to the point where it's boring) and I felt like I was there with the characters. I loved how Grace was strong and caring, and I loved just about everything about Sam. He was loving, protective, caring, sweet, and all around charming. Even the simplest things they did together meant something beautiful. The charaters were developed and soulful, like you knew all about them, without the author having to explain.

    I'll admit, before reading this book, I was worried about how sad it was going to be. It sounded like a depressing, desprerate love and I, being a person that loves happy endings, wasn't sure if I wanted to read it. But I'm so gald I did. Trying not to spoil anything, I will just say that the ending was amazing and left you starving for the next book, Linger, that's coming fall 2010 (to my extreme disappointment...CAN"T WAIT FOR MORE :) This is a MUST read. And defiantly a book to re-read over and over agian.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!! I GIVE IT TEN STARS

    There are no words to describe how amazing this book is. There shouldnt be any negative comments. Cant wait to read the rest of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Sweet!

    This was the sweetest book i have ever read! Grace and Sam were made to love each other! This book made me cry at the end. I hope one day i will meet a boy like Sam. Im definitley going to read the whole series. It took me forever to pick up this series because i dont know it looked boring. Never judge a book by its cover! All the charchters were great in this book and enjoyable to read. Loved this book and i heard great comments about this book. Hope i dont get disappointed

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!

    I have been looking for something great to read since reading the twilight Saga and I have finally found it! I loved this book and couldn't put it down. Now I can't wait till Linger comes out! Is a great read especially if your team Jacob!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2573 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 129