Customer Reviews for

Shiver

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Page-turning thriller

Richard Rood, or "The Gryphon" as he's named himself, is a serial killer on the loose in L.A. His targets are young, single women, and his trademark is to kill his victim, saw off her head and take it with him, and place a small gryphon statue in the victim's hand.

W...
Richard Rood, or "The Gryphon" as he's named himself, is a serial killer on the loose in L.A. His targets are young, single women, and his trademark is to kill his victim, saw off her head and take it with him, and place a small gryphon statue in the victim's hand.

Wendy Alden, his next victim, manages to escape from being killed. The Gryphon becomes enraged that he "failed" and, despite police protection, continues his hunt to kill Wendy.

This book really kept me on the edge, hardly wanting to put it down. The author certainly gets into the Gryphon's psyche, which is sick and twisted to most people, but "normal" to the killer. There are a number of rather gruesome scenes and descriptions, to be expected in a book like this. However, I have to admit that I cringed just as much when the author describes the Gryphon's childhood--he tortured and killed animals.

If you're looking for a thriller with plenty of action, twists, and turns, check this out. It's got me double-checking my deadbolts before I go to bed.

posted by mittythekitty on July 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

AWFUL, DISGUSTING TRASH!

Disgusting, sexually explicit, violent, graphic garbage!!! I'm deleting it as soon as I finish writing this!!! I'd give it negative stars if I could!! This is the last book I will purchase from this author! Don't waste your money!!!

posted by 6358118 on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kept me e'ntertained to the end

    I'd never read Mr. Prescott before. This book kept my interest throughout and the ending didn't leave me feeling like there should be more. I immediately went on-line and bought a couple more of his books. I've read one right after the other. I'm on Stealing Faces right now. He has 3 more books for me to download and I'm eagerly looking forward to reading them. I highly recommend him. Some of his books are on steals & deals because he wrote under another name and they're in reprint. Grab them while you can."'

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Some good mystery reading

    I enjoyed reading this book. Was very hard to put down. The only downfall were that some of the chapters were a bit long

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Very good book. I love all of Michael Prescott's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    Love anything Michael Prescott writes. He is a great writer. This book was really good and hard to put down.I read there is supposed to be amovie of this coming out, would love to see the movie. Highly recommend this book or anything else by Michael Prescott.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Awesome

    Never a duel moment, highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    very good

    I have enjoyed all the Prescott books... some more than others... but this one was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great book

    Book kept me interested. I like the length because I am a fast reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love Michael Prescott's books. This one keeps you on the edge of your seat waiting for the next thing to happen, even thou it's a long book you hate for it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Auther of mudshadows path ( call me blackfrost ;) )

    Gaaaaah so much epicness! @_@ i loved it X3 you really need to continue. C:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    Excellent read. Prescott does it again. Can't get enough of his books..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    must read

    good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Great read.

    Hard to put down. A very dark mystery as in all his books he seems to capture pure evilness in his killers. I have enjoyed reading all his books and he is one of my favorite authors. I do admit I always read a much more lighthearted book after or I might not want to venture out in the world again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    I just finished reading this book and absolutely loved every pag

    I just finished reading this book and absolutely loved every page. I love how the author gets into the mind of the killer and lets us glimpse at how the killer's mind works. I'm also impressed with the fact that Mr. Prescott is not afraid to get down and dirty with his description of voilent acts. I hated to read the last page, it was that good. I've read thousands of books over these past 40 years and this author's books are right up there with my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    The Best Suspense

    The first page to the last kept me on edge, the best suspense in a book ever!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Loved it

    Would recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    D Wow!

    If you like to feel terror then read this book Prescott creates a truly evil character in the Gryphan I had to keep checking my doors and windows to make sure they were locked! Good read at 2,99




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    This book is so good I cannot put it down!!!!

    I just cant put it down, the suspense is killing me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    MY OPINION? My opinion.

    I read a book kind of like this and it was AWSOME!!
    but i havent read this book. Can someone tell me how it is or does someoe wanna Chat with me?
    ~Kendra Out!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Wonderfull!

    This is the first of Michael Prescott's books that I've read and it did not disappoint! Kept me at the edge if my seat and didnt finish with loose ends, but kept me wanting more. Cant wait too see the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3