Customer Reviews for

Shiver of Fear

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Do we make ourselves who we are, or do we live out our DNA destiny?

    Devyn Hewitt Sterling is convinced she will never amount to anything good in this lifetime. Her late husband was a criminal just like the parents who conceived her and gave her up for adoption. She keeps chasing dreams that never materialize and yes she grew up with wonderful adopted parents but could that stop the evil that her biological parents gave her from their bloodline? Determined to find out where she came from Devyn takes off to find her mother and winds up in Ireland running from the bad guys and straight into the arms of a man she hopes is one of the good guys, Marc Rossi.

    Marc is part of family run business that does a little of this and allot of undercover that. He was an FBI agent but these days he chases some consulting work with his cousins for the Guardian Angelinos and is happy to take the assignment that has Devyn landing right where he wants her, close enough to kiss. He is supposed to be there to bring her home per their present client, the FBI. The order was to find the woman and bring her home, simple and without complications. But the woman is one determined, spontaneous and beautiful temptation who is able to get him to spill all his secrets and then Marc winds up helping her figure out where her biological mother is and keep all of them alive.

    The longer Marc and Devyn keep looking the more danger they are in and the harder it is to get out not only with all things in tact but alive. Cryptic notes, CIA spooks, shots in the dark and thugs in bell towers are becoming a common every day experience and they absolutely should not be in anyone's world. But the more the pieces don't fit, descriptions continue to not make sense and no one is telling the truth, not even Devyn. The truth is the one factor Marc needs in any relationship and if Devyn isn't going to provide it do they have a future with or without the mysteries solved? Marc may have a past as well that he needs to reveal but family issues is not one thing he has to worry about and convincing Devyn that her past is not her present is a difficult sell.

    Marc and Devyn are fascinating characters that bring so much to this book. Every page is a mystery to unravel and the more you know about each of them the more you are convinced they are the perfect match. This book will have you reading until you finish it and wishing the next book in the series was coming out tomorrow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Check this out! Loved this book and love this series!

    This book was very good from beginning to end. I love the Guardian Angelinos Series. Can't wait to read Vivi's story in #3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    The Angelinos do not disappoint!

    I liked the story and the characters, though got a little tired of the 'poor me' attitude of Devon. Otherwise - it was paced well and mystery kept you intrigued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So easy to become immersed....

    My Review:
    Overall I really enjoyed this book. Roxanne St. Claire has such an amazing writing voice. I love the way that she puts a book together and the huge cast of characters that she builds up in this world. Really well done and well-written. From page one, she had my full attention and it never wandered far until the book was finished. I love getting immersed in a world to this extreme!

    Set in Ireland, this book has a very different feel than the first book had, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. It made the two stories very distinctive from each other which sometimes becomes an issue in a series like this, so I liked that about it. Another thing that set this book far apart from the first was Marc. He's a former FBI agent. He knows what he's doing and is fully trained to do the job. It gave a different feel than from dealing with Zach and Vivi who are still working to learn the security field.

    That brings us to the things that are the same in this second book from the first...the family! I love this family...every single one of them. We didn't get to see as much of them in this installment, but when they did show up, the scenes were complete perfection. The family dynamic with the Angelino's and Rossi's....ah, I just love it! The other thing that rocked in this book once again...the suspense!! OMG, I did NOT see all the twists and turns coming. I just kept gasping out loud. That is so awesome in a suspense book and definitely the sign of a good one!

    Finally, we need to chat about the romance between Devyn & Marc. I really adored Marc's character. Honestly, what's not to love? He's charming. He's good-looking. He packs a gun and is willing to place his body in front of a bullet for the heroine. He has amazing integrity. And yes, his heart is more than a little wounded because once upon a time, he fell in love with the wrong woman...you have to love that little bit of vulnerability. I had a harder time with Devyn and that is probably because through so much of the story, she honestly was having a hard time accepting herself and where she belongs. So much of her self-worth was tied up in making a connection with her mother. On the one hand, I could understand that a bit, but I think that she became too obsessed in defining herself by her DNA. I just had a hard time relating to that part of her character, although my heart ached for her throughout so much of this book. Her internal pain is palpable and heartbreaking. The sexual tension between these two was so immense. They both have reasons for avoiding an entanglement and I was beginning to wonder if it was ever really going to happen, but this is a romance novel, so... It's all good...VERY GOOD!! ;o)

    And now I am going to stop writing because I cannot wait to dig into book #3...finally Vivi's book and it looks like she is paired up with Agent Lang. Oh my! There are going to be huge fireworks in that book. I can't wait!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Paced and sexy read

    Roxanne St. Claire delivers another pulse pounding, sizzling story in the Guardian Angelinos series. Shiver of Fear is intriguing and wickedly sexy.

    Former FBI Agent Marc Rossi is bored with his gun shop, he wants to get back to field work. He jumps at the chance to work with his Angelino cousins on an assignment. He heads to Northern Ireland to find the lovely widow, Devyn Sterling. Marc made assumptions based on Devyn reserved, cool appearance that are nothing like the woman he meets. There is a hiding depth to Devyn that Marc is itching to explore if only he can complete his assignment and get her out of Ireland alive.

    Devyn Sterling is a survivor, her deceased husband betrayed her and she is trying to find who she can be. She goes in search of her birth mother to warn her about the danger involving Devyn's birth father. Devyn isn't sure who is after them but all she knows is after telling her husband who her real father was he was murdered. Her search to locate her real mom leads her to Ireland and into the arms of Marc Rossi. Her initial attraction to Marc makes her weary and she isn't sure if she can trust him.

    Devyn and Marc start out as tourist exploring the beautiful country together but there are parties that don't want Devyn to locate her birth mother. They will stop at nothing to see that they never met. But neither they nor Marc counted on Devyn's strong will and her desire to find out who she came from. It's going to take all of Marc's former training to get them out of the country alive. Will their new found relationship be able to survive as well?

    Shiver Of Fear will have you in its gripes from the first page. The twist and turns are captivating and will keep you guessing. Watching Devyn's and Marc's relationship evolve from friends to lovers is sexy and emotional. Loved revisiting with the whole Rossi and Angelino family and can't wait to read the next book is this exceptional series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Setting and Back-Story

    Roxanne St. Claire is a bestselling author of twenty-four novels of suspense and romance. In addition to being a four-time RITA nominee, her books have won the National Reader's Choice Award for best romantic suspense for two consecutive years, as well as the Daphne du Maurier Award, the HOLT Medallion, the Maggie, Booksellers Best, Book Buyers Best, several Awards of Excellence, the Aspen Gold and multiple Gayle Wilson Awards of Excellence. Roxanne holds a Bachelor's Degree in Mass Market Communications from UCLA and completed several post-graduate courses in Marketing Management at Harvard University. Prior to launching a full-time career as a novelist, Roxanne worked as a television actress and news reporter, appearing in Bosom Buddies and Laverne & Shirley, and hosting a regional news program in southern California. She then launched a career in public relations and marketing, including seven years as a Senior Vice President for Hill & Knowlton, one of the world's largest communications firms. Roxanne joined the Romance Writers of America in 2000, held a board position in her local chapter and is currently active in three chapters in her home state of Florida. Other titles include: Hunt Her Down, Make Her Pay, First You Run, Then You Hide, Now you Dies, and Hit Reply.

    This is the second book in the Guardian Angelinos series, with Edge of Sight coming before, and Face of Danger to be released soon. Though this is part of a series, these are stand alone reads.

    Former FBI agent Marc Rossi wants back in the investigation game, and joining his cousin's fledgling security and investigation firm, The Guardian Angelinos, seems like the right place. His first assignment could make or break the new firm, so he agrees to do his job as swiftly and without complications as possible. Heading to Northern Ireland, his mission is to extract information from a missing socialite and get her out of there. But the ice queen turns out to be a warm and beautiful woman--a woman with a mission of her own. As the daughter of an infamous fugitive, Devyn Sterling wants to find her biological mother and hopefully find the connection she never had with her adoptive parents. But her mother may just be one of the bad guys. When their investigation uncovers lies, secrets, and international terrorism, Devyn and Marc must trust in each other to survive.

    I had the pleasure in reading the first book of this series, having loved the almost Beauty and the Beast quality to it. This second book did not disappoint. Full of twists, danger, and heat, this book was powerful. Set in Ireland, I loved the language, landscape, and culture the author created. It puts you right there. As before, the secondary characters and the family unit were a great addition. Having two characters with such diverse versions of family and diverse pasts made for a dimensional and satisfying read. Highly recommended.

    Kelly Moran,
    Bookpleasures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Romantic Suspense!

    This is the second book in Roxanne St. Claire's Guardian Angelinos series. Sometimes while reading a series, the second book is always the weakest link. I'm happy to say that this is NOT the case here. I loved Marc and Devyn's story! It was every bit as compelling as the first installment. Plus, it's set in Ireland (which I love). If you want top notch romantic suspense, then this is the book for you. I can't wait till Vivi's story, which is the next book coming out later this month!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific romantic thriller

    Devyn Hewitt Sterling remains shell shocked that her husband was a criminal who betrayed her. She is happy he is dead. Though raised by kind adopted parents, she wishes to know her biological parents. Sometimes you get what you she wish for as she learns who her birth father is; a fugitive.

    As she thinks the acorn does not fall far from the tree, she travels to Belfast to warn her biological mother Dr. Sharon Greenberg that she could be in danger. Former FBI agent turned Guardian Angelino operative Marc Rossi is assigned to find and bring her home for their client the feds, but prefers keeping her safe in between kisses.

    The second Guardian Angelinos romantic suspense (see Edge of Sight) is a terrific thriller as the lead coupling brings freshness to what would otherwise be a typical sub-genre frolic. Marc believes honesty is the only way to forge a relationship while Devyn fears telling him the truth will abort their relationship before it can get off the ground. Neither trusts the other, but the key to this taut thriller is not the lead pair, but her biological mom who is the target of her daughter, the Feds and some sleazy terrorists for differing reasons.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4