BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shizuko's Daughter

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    A beautiful, heartbreaking book about growing up lonely, there is more to this book than seen on the surface. The book goes deeper than imagined, and the sometimes disjointed scenarios are a tragic view into the life of a seemingly forgotten daughter without a mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    Shizuko's Daughter

    This is the best book I have ever read and you should read it I reack amend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    Tragically beautiful

    Anyone having suffered the loss of a parent or loved one can appreciate this tragically beautiful work depicting the growth of someone whose life has been shattered by the death of her mother. With amazing accuracy, Mori reveals the nuances that make moving on so difficult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    Very sad and touching

    This book was very good. I could really feel her emotions when she heard about her mother's death. It showed alot what she was going through, and i would suggest this book to anyone who wants a sad and touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Amazing and powerful

    When I picked out this book in elemetary school to write a book report I had no idea how much it would influence me. After reading this sad tale, I became intruged with Japanese customs. Now I am taking a course in Japanese language in hopes to become a translator. It all start with that book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    A cultural study as well as a masterpiece of lyrical sentiment

    I first picked up Shizuko's Daughter in 7th grade, and was entranced and intrigued by the alien nature of her life and attitude. People who are neither acclimated nor interested in the specific nature of Japanese sentiment and thinking may find the book boring. Those willing to understand that this book is by a Japanese writer and is about a Japanese girl will love it. The strange chronology and vividly detailed events in Yuki's life, be they brief memories or an ongoing part of her girlhood, both serve to make the book a unique and captivating read. Now a college student, this book is still something I turn to when I want to put myself in a more lyrical frame of mind for my own writing. Both matter of fact and subtly emotional, Shizuko's Daughter is an amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2002

    A Wonderful Book

    Shizuko's Daughter was a really wonderful book, I enjoyed every page of it. The author really paints a picture to where you can just see everything that is going on, you can feel the characters emotions. I really recommend this book to everyone. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2002

    Overwhelmingly Stupid

    Yuki (the main character) does something, she gets a flashback. She doe something else, she gets a flashback. Bottom line: who cares? The entire book consists of boring, overly-described flashbacks. The storyline goes nowhere. It has no plot. Read this book if you're in need of a good nap.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2002

    love this book

    this book is so touching. this is by far the best book i have ever read. this is a book i know i will read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    Wow!

    This is a really great read! The characters were very real...I ahev to say that now, it's my fave book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2001

    An Outstanding Book

    I like the way this book is written. It has wonderful description. I was even able to feel what Yuki, which is Shizuko's Daughter was feeling. Being a teen is hard. Especially when you basically have no relashionship with your parents. Yuki is actually someone to look up to becasue she kept on going and didn't let her evil stepmother bring her down from her goals. I recommend this book to everyone. It really made me thankful for everything I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2000

    a reviewer

    Shizuko's Daughter was a truly magnificant story of a girl named Yuki who's mother commited suicide when she was 12 and having to live with her fathers new wife. I enjoyed this book and read it in a recond amount of time for myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2000

    Oustanding

    'Shizuko's Daughter was a wonderful story that I read for Honors 9 Geography. It was a story of a girl named Yuki whose mother committed suicide when she was twelve. She was then left her with her father who she wasn't very close to and a year later a step-mother, who also thought of Yuki as a burden. It tells about the theme of Movement since Yuki moved a few times and was transported by train and sometimes a motorcycle. I really enjoyed this author's style of writing because she used great description that paints a picture for the reader. It also keeps the reader's attention. I didn't learn a great deal of information about this country reading this because it wasn't the kind of book where the land was talked about much. The story remained focused pretty well on the main storyline; although, I did learn about Japan's four major islands--I was not aware of those before. The author's presentation of the subject made me feel beyond satisfied. She very clearly told what she was talking about and the story line was very clear. This book was definitely written at my level (It says on the cover that this is a book for young adults),because it didn't jump around and there weren't difficult words to decipher, and it definitely kept my interests--I couldn't set it down. I definitely recommend this book to others because it is a very enjoyable book and it may give tips on how to deal with such hard times such as losing a loved one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    This book will make you think twice about tommorow!

    Shizukos Daughter is a book of love compasion and hate! It is about a young girl named Yuki whose mother commits suicide and leaves her daughter with her husband. Yuki does not want to stay with him because he dosn't love her and if he did he dose not show it! Then a stepmother comes into the picture and she flat right out hates her guts! One time she even pushed her down the stairs. All because she couldn't have a babie of her own. So read Shizukos Daughter because it is an amazing book with and amazing author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    An Actually Interesting Book

    I have never been so into a book in my life that I wanted to sit and read it all in one sitting. This book did that to me. I am reading it for English Class right now and it actually makes me pay attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 1999

    Tuching!!

    Yukis mother comits a suicide. Her father got merrird one year later. Yukis now stepmother hates her and everything that has to do with Shizukos mother, Yukis father didn't love her earther. Because it was forbbidden by a custom she can' see her mothers family. So tvelwe year old girl left with out anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1