Customer Reviews for

Shock

Average Rating 2.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read most all Cook's books, and I think the low ratings I s

    I've read most all Cook's books, and I think the low ratings I see here are not fair.....I read the book in one sitting, loved the rapport between the two female characters....thought the ending, if a bit drawn out, was suspenseful, and I like books where I can more or less decide the outcome.....it leave's it up to our imagination....The book reminded me a bit of an "adult" Nancy Drew mystery, and since I devoured all of them, maybe that's why I liked this book.....lent it out to co-workers who also liked it very much.....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    PLEASE FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO PLAY!!!

    Come ON, children. This forum is for people who have read a book to post reviews. It is NOT intended to be the personal message board for a group of childish, immature idiots pretending to be kitty cats (or whatever the heck it is you are supposed to be).
    GROW UP or at least play your little roll playing crap elsewhere. The rest of us whi actually read are getting sick and tired of you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great

    But a lttle boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Mosstar to shockfang

    I love ur idea!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Trying to become a warrior

    Any takers for my join invitation??????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Boring

    Nobody wants to know what ya look like or what ya play. WHAT DO YOU FEEL ABOUT THE NO MERCY BAND AND THE ELITE STUFF??

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    1 star is 1 too many...

    This is only one of two books I've ever decided to just put down and not finish. I thought it started out poorly and seemed to be getting worse. I have a vivid imagination and am willing to keep an open mind as a story progresses, but the most unbelievable, impossible, inconceivable scenarios were happening in this story which was supposed to be realistic, that made it a joke to me and hard to get past in order to keep reading. My husband, who had read it, told me it was only going to go down hill from there. Skip it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    What happened at the end.

    The book was basically very good but like a few of the others who wrote a review I felt that Dr. Cook got a bit(yawn yawn) of this book and just left people kind of hanging. I wonder if this book has been made into a movie. If it has or it does end up as a movie the ending got to be much better for our Ivy League heroines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    disapointing

    this... was bad. i read toxin and i loved it so i got the next cook book out *shock* and words cannot describe it. it just doesnt have cook's usual flavor. really bland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    A weak finish to a once-distinguished author

    Poor character development, a lack of suspense, predictable actions, lack of the 'is this likely' test, weak dialog and absolutely no denouemant, make this the worst Robin Cook novel I've ever read. Are you sure it wasn't ghost-written?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    Where is the ending

    I just finished this book last night. I purchased it 4 days ago and read through for three nights. The story line was interesting and capitivating and I enjoyed the friendship between Joanna and Debra. But like the other reviewers I was left hanging at the ending. I have read many books and by far this was the worst and most inept ending I have ever experienced. I bought the book at a second hand store and literally thought that someone tore out pages at the end of the book. Robin where did you go and what were you thinking in ending your story like this. I sensed you were tired of writing this story and decided to simply stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    Not THAT bad!!

    I really enjoy Robin Cook's books, and this one, although not his best, was entertaining. It was easy to visualize the characters and played out almost like a movie. My only real disappointment was the weak ending. The buildup was great, but I was left saying, 'Is that it??' It could have been expanded to an explosive ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2003

    'Shocked' but Disappointed

    I have read five or six of Robin Cook's books and enjoyed them all--except for this one. My recommendation to anyone looking for a good book would be to avoid this one. From the outset, the plot was unrealistic. I had a difficult time making myself read it, but I kept thinking it would get better. I didn't lose hope until I was pages from the end and realized there was no way all those loose ends could be tied up. There were so many intriguing things introduced that were left totally undeveloped. What happened? I was left feeling as if Dr. Cook got called out on an emergency and decided to forget about the last chapter or two. There really should have been an other fifty pages so the reader would not have been left hanging. This isn't a book I'll be passing along to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    Who are you and what have you done with Robin Cook?

    I believe I have read most books written by Robin Cook. I usually love them and find them interesting, challenging and sometimes surprising. Not so with this book. I hope the relatively unresolved ending does not imply a sequel. There were too many cutesy and/or stilted interactions between the main characters, not akin to anything I experience with my adult friends. I found it implausible that these graduate students, women of apparent above-average intelligence, would make some of the decisions they did at different junctures in the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2002

    What's the point? Shanked, not shocked

    A rather anemic effort from such a talented writer. Rather than being the usual action-packed novel from Cook, I found this book rich in fluff and filler, using verbosity, word repetition, and unneccesary descriptiveness instead of meaningful plot. I found the ending barely satisfactory and did not feel that I was left hanging since my own imagination could fill in the missing pieces. As a medical doctor myself, I liked the premise (which had tremendous potential) but not the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    Weak Trash Best Left On Shelf

    Shock was a disappointment from the beginning and finished a chapter or two short of completion. The plot and character development was the weakest of any of the Robin Cook novels I have read (most of them). The worst part was the lack of a conclusion; the ending was so incomplete I kept looking at my copy to see if the last chapter had been ripped out. After 40 years of novel reading I have never seen such a drop in quality toward the end of a book. It appeared as if the last two pages were written on the way to the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    Good book, but where's the ending??? Anyone know of a sequel?

    This is my first Robin Cook book. I really liked the story. I thought it was well written. The only troublesome part is that the ending left you hanging or left you to draw your own conclusion. I was very disappointed in the ending. The LEAST he could have done is tell us to look out for an upcoming conclusion right? 370 pages only to find out that the ending was rushed and closed within 5 pages. I actually was getting worried towards the end of the book because I was thinking "how can this book expect to wrap up when I only have 10 pages left to read?". I want to know what happened to the girls and what happened to the Doctor's. Do we assume? How terrible to make someone so interested in finding out what happens, not to find out anything at all? And, the crematorium.....we never "really" found out if the missing girls and the crematorium had any relation. Ugh! Does anyone know a web site I can check out to find out if Robin Cook will be publishing another book as a follow up or conclusion to this one? I would appreciate any information that anyone has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    What a waste of my time!

    I have read and enjoyed many of Dr. Cook's novels. This one started very interesting, the theme developed well, but I get the sensation that he had a deadline to meet so he just cut the book short and left the reader hanging. I myself felt cheated and dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    shocked by ending

    my interest level constantly fluctuated. I thought the dialogue was on a nancy drew mystery level. Not very exciting and the greatest shock was the ending...just left you hanging!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    Shock Shocker Shocked

    Now I have loved Cook ever since I started spelling science.I can claim I know him better than he knows himself.Coma was his best. Shock is no Coma but is not too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3