Customer Reviews for

Shock Wave (Dirk Pitt Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    Cussler Does it Again

    I have read almost all of Cussler's amazing repetoire of books. I have never enjoyed a series more and wait with baited breath for the arrival of the next. Although some say that the endings of his book are obvious and there is no real internal conflict (both of which I disagree with) it's really the carrying out of the amazing feats that awe me. Cussler's intricate webs and subtle foreshadowings leave all readers I've talked to with their jaws agape. I can literally stay up through the night (ignoring my homework until the wee hours of the morning) just to finish one of his books. And this had to be one of my two favorite books of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Great story and Characters you can love.

    I just finished reading Shockwave. What a great story. I couldn't put it down for a week. There is so much going on in this book, diamonds, disaster, conspiracy, and heroisim. I cried when Al Gordino had to leave Dirk and Maeve on the yacht and again as Dirk held Maeve in his arms and sang 'Moon River' for the last time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Shock Wave

    Shock Wave is a must read. Cussler keeps monting the suspense and takes so maney twists and turn it makes it hard to put down. Devote and afternoon to the book because you will most of the time you start to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Must Read!

    It is such a good book. Its so sad when Maeve dies at the end, after everything is over and done with. And to have her die in Dirk's arms is even worse. I almost cried when I read this book. It is so good! It is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2002

    Abridged Version for Young Teens!

    This is NOT the original hardcover text. This is the abridged version for young teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    23 year old, avid Cussler reader

    I've read every Dirk Pitt novel out there and I am always ready for more. This one tops them all! Never have I been so excited to have time to read than when I read this book. Keep up the good work, and always remember, Dirk and Al are the greatest!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2002

    So It's Not Melville or Hawthorne

    Although I teach Melville and Hawthorne in my 11th grade English class, I do not read their works for entertainment. When I really WANT to read, I pick up a book by Clive Cussler, who is my favorite author. So it's not Melville or Hawthorne! It's even better! It's Cussler with intriguing plots, characters, settings, and adventures that keep me awake at night because once I start one of Cussler's books, I have a hard time putting it down until I'm finished! I have read all of his books several times, and I am always on the look-out for any of his new publications.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2001

    I was forced to read this book.

    I had to read shockwave for a highschool english class. at first i was toward the negative side of things, but then i got into the book, and it got really good! before this, i had never heard of cussler, but thanks to my english teacher, Mr. Kellogg, I am going to read more of cussler's writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2001

    AWsome as usual!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is a really awsome book, just like all the others. And guess what? im only 11 and ive read it 8 times. Ilove how its action packed and how dirks and gordino's persoality sparkes the book. Snince im 11 i wish clive could wright more young adult editions GO DIRK PITT!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2001

    geart book

    the best book out by Clive Cussler yet I would sereisly recomend to any youn reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2000

    DIRK & AL ALWAYS A WINNER

    For me to read a book once is fine, but few have ever made me want to go back and read it a second time. Okay, I'm a huge Cussler fan and have read them all. They are the classic American Adventure novel. Big Arch Villian who is put down by the all American, hard working, ultimate he-man team, who just play perfectly off each other. Dirk for a man who is constantly beat-up, kicked down, and regularly left for dead, has yet to fail us. The whole team has developed through out the series into a fine tuned machine, who become most of all our friends. The only problem that I can find with this book is the lack of sleep I have gotten by not being able to put it down at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    I LOVE CLIVE CUSSLER!!

    I am 13 years old and have a passion for 'adult' books. Clive cussler is my favorite author (tied with Anne Mccaffrey, but that's adifferent story). I especially LOVE dirk pitt. he is...wonderful! words cannot describe. this book was my first one, and ended up being my favorite. my dad brought home a bag of discard books from the schoool library and i tried Shock Wave cause it was the most interesting-looking bookk in the bag. so i picked it up and before long, I was hooked. this prompted me to look for more in the library. so now ive read all the ones there, and the ones i could find elsewhere. they're great!!! i recommend them highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    WOW

    Its a page turner. In this book Dirk is trying to find out what is killing millions of animals and an entier cruse ship befor it kills again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    Definitely a good One!

    I have read every single Clive Cussler book, except for Serpet and Atlantis Found, and this is one of my favorites. Reminiscent of pacific vortex, in terms of Pitt finding a 'true love' only to lose ehr in the pacific ocean. It is exciting, interesting, and fun to read. I couldn't put it down. Unbelieveable? Perhaps, but for a man who found Abe Lincoln in the Sahara desert, anything is possible! READ THIS BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2