Customer Reviews for

Shock Wave (Virgil Flowers Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Download Shock Wave (Virgil Flowers Series #5) For Free

Download Shock Wave (Virgil Flowers Series #5) For Free From Here tiny.cc/rbn7x

posted by 9827052 on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Enough Already

This constant complaining about the Nook price has got to stop. The list price of this book is $27.95. B&N gives a larger discount to hard covers for people who don't have the Nook. If you add shipping and taxes the cost is higher. Nobody twisted your arm in buying the ...
This constant complaining about the Nook price has got to stop. The list price of this book is $27.95. B&N gives a larger discount to hard covers for people who don't have the Nook. If you add shipping and taxes the cost is higher. Nobody twisted your arm in buying the Nook or any other E-Book.

posted by Darth-Vader on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Nook Color

    yes, bought the Nook Color to save money on books, and I thought there would be more than $2 difference between the e-book and the hardback! So last books I bought were a used new bestseller in hardback and for Nook I got a cheapie oldie! Also -- notice how not all books are lendable, which is one of their selling points -- "share with your friends"? Have actually enjoyed the Color Nook more for checking emails and playing AngryBirds.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Another super Sandford novel...

    Virgil Flowers is a very interesting character. I love that you're never really sure what he's going to do next. He never disappoints! I also love that he is a real human being who has desires and morals. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Wavestar

    Res 3, the results moved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    I'm numbingly bored to death. I keep plugging away because it's

    I'm numbingly bored to death. I keep plugging away because it's all I have to read! I could be wrong but I honestly think this book is perhaps more of a a "man's" book. I won't try another Flowers book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Flowers has an inflated sense of studliness. It gets in the way

    Flowers has an inflated sense of studliness. It gets in the way of the story. All the characters in this book utter quirky and off-beat phrases. It's normal for one person in every crowd to do that, but not normal for all of them to speak this way. This, too, gets in the way of the story. The story is pretty far-fetched to begin with. This is my second and last Flowers novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Hi duncan

    Wass up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Can not wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    stormy

    A good read but not enough fishing. Part of this series's appeal is the lake and stream fishing. Somehow I doubt the next book will involve a chase on a lake where Virg gets to show off his superior skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Another winner

    Love the character "Virgle Flowers" -
    Shock Wave is great. Keeps you on your toes and guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great Book!

    Finally, a good crime book that doesn't use characters who are constantly blowing people up or special ops teams that are getting the main character out of unrealistic situations.

    I really enjoyed this book, the characters were all great and the author always kept the storyline moving. And, just when you think you figured out who did it, there is a twist - as every good book should have.

    I usually don't like books in a series. However, this is the first book I've read by Sandford and it stands alone, I didn't feel that I missed out on any back-story by not having read the previous 4 books with the Virgil Flowers character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    highly recommend

    John Sandford's Virgil Flowers series Is a bonus for all John Sandford readers. Virgil Flowers was introduce to those of us who are Sandford readers as a 'character' who would be included in some of John Sandford's "Lucas Davenport" Murder Mysteries. Sandford has taken an opportunity to develop this character differntly than his other detectives, as a 'man's man" but interjects a surprising sense of morality and principle into this cowboy boot wearin', rough spirited, plain-talking hero, who resides in and works the 'out-county' cases for the indomitable Lucas Davenport. Sandford has developed this character type so successfully that I look for the Virgil Flowers Sereies with as much anticipation as I do all of my list of favorite authors releases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Join windclan at windy res one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Full of unecessary words just to make it into a novel. Wondering if anyone proofread this

    This is one of the worst books ive ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Shock Wave by John Sandford is a great read!

    John Sandford's hero,Virgil Flowers, is out to solve another case in Shock Wave. Virgil is a down to earth type of guy. The kind you would like to go out and have a beer with. He may not get it right at the start, but he will have it wrapped up at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    AaaaaÂżaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaAAAAAASAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASAAAAAAAAASSAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasaAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    Sanford does it again for the Virgil Flowers fan. Not quite sur

    Sanford does it again for the Virgil Flowers fan. Not quite sure how Virgil gets his clues which lead to crime solving but, hey, who cares, right? The book is an entertaining read! Go buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Not that great

    I love John Sandford and have read all his Virgil Flowers books. This one was just..ok. Didn't enjoy it as much as previous ones. The violence was disturbing, it didn't flow well, and wasn't able to really engage with any of the characters, including Virgil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    John Sanford fans Must Read This Book!

    Love more Flowers, excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Great book

    Great read, very funny and entertaing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Batu

    Kicks u away and teleports awY avoiding ur attack

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12