Customer Reviews for

Shock Wave (Virgil Flowers Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Download Shock Wave (Virgil Flowers Series #5) For Free

Download Shock Wave (Virgil Flowers Series #5) For Free From Here tiny.cc/rbn7x

posted by 9827052 on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Enough Already

This constant complaining about the Nook price has got to stop. The list price of this book is $27.95. B&N gives a larger discount to hard covers for people who don't have the Nook. If you add shipping and taxes the cost is higher. Nobody twisted your arm in buying the ...
This constant complaining about the Nook price has got to stop. The list price of this book is $27.95. B&N gives a larger discount to hard covers for people who don't have the Nook. If you add shipping and taxes the cost is higher. Nobody twisted your arm in buying the Nook or any other E-Book.

posted by Darth-Vader on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    REVIEW THE BOOK NOT THE NOOK

    Let me start off by saying I loved this book just like I loved all his previous books. Great characters, plot and overall flow. That being said...
    I find it very frustrating these days that people use the AUTHOR review board to complain about the prices of nook books. Here's some friendly advice...QUIT BUYING THE NOOK BOOKS AND GO BACK TO PAPERBACKS if you're so unhappy. I use the review board as a way to determine if I want to pick up a book or not. This is not easy to do when nobody is referring to the book. Can't we all just get along? Review the book, not the nook.

    28 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Stop complaining

    I hAve yet to read this,but, i must note that the ratings are lowered by the ratings of those who are complaining about the PRICE and not the book. Maybe there should be another avenue for these complaints so the book reviews would really reflect opinions of the book.!!!

    27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Enough Already

    This constant complaining about the Nook price has got to stop. The list price of this book is $27.95. B&N gives a larger discount to hard covers for people who don't have the Nook. If you add shipping and taxes the cost is higher. Nobody twisted your arm in buying the Nook or any other E-Book.

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a great whodunit

    Three weeks ago a bomb at the Michigan headquarters of the chain PyeMart left Executive Assistant Kelly Brown dead although CEO Willard Pye escaped unscathed. In Butternut Falls, Minnesota, townsfolk are angrily divided over the superstore company setting up shop there. Environmentalists know the poor record of the firm when it come to anything interfering with the bottom line profits while the small town's storeowners know they will be driven out of business as has happened elsewhere.

    A bomb ignites at the superstore's construction site killing construction superintendent Gilbert Kingsley. ATF investigates both explosions that have left PyeMart's leadership shaken and behind on the Minnesota project. Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Agent Virgil Flowers also looks into the homicide at Butternut Falls, but finds many townsfolk remain defiant and hostile towards the company's "invasion", but who would take the opposition to such deadly lengths remains hard to determine.

    The fifth Virgil Flowers police procedural (See Rough Country and Bad Blood) is a great whodunit as the state cop makes inquires using modern technology and inductive reasoning to try to solve a case with too many suspects. The town already tense before the deadly explosion brings a profound look at development vs. preservation/environmentalism, but does it inside a well written investigation starring the amusingly self deprecating Minnesota cop.

    Harriet Klausner

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    YES! YES!

    While I just love everything he has written, & have read just about all...I too am dismayed at the recent prices in the Nook line. I purchased the OLD blk & wht nook & noticed that the prices all slowly increasing. Maybe we old schooled are paying for the new colored version of the Nook. Is that fair or what?

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    If you're a f....n Flowers fan, unbeatable

    Sandford does it again with Virgil. Highly entertaining. A good book to curl up with on a rainy night. Virgil is the Man!! Now it's time for Lucas Davenport to come out of hiding. Come on, John, get that computer humming. Please stop using review space to put up your price complaints; just don't buy the book. On the other hand, get a Kindle.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Another Winner from John Sandford

    I purchased "Shock Wave" for my NOOK. I love John Sandford's Lucas Davenport series so when he began the Virgil Flowers series I knew I wanted to give it a chance. I have NOT been disappointed. This new installation, "Shock Wave", is worth reading. It is filled with suspense, great characters and makes you think. [I also like that it features my home state in part of the plot!]

    Read this book...if you like characters like Lucas Davenport, Alex Cross & Kay Scarpetta, you will like Virgil Flowers!

    I agree with other reviewers: STOP COMPLAINING ABOUT THE PRICE FOR THE eBOOK/NOOK EDITIONS! This review isn't for the NOOK it is for the book. Buy the paperback if you don't want to pay the full price. I knew the prices would go up because paper book purchases were going down. Writers/publishers were going to have to make up the difference SOMEWHERE! Instead of complaining here, write to the company/publisher! I like having the convenience of saving money on going to the store to buy my book the day it is released. For me there isn't a Barnes & Noble within 30 miles and I enjoy knowing that the day it is released it is in my "library".

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not So Shocking

    Sorry to say, but this is not a very interesting book. The author says at the beginning that he wrote in "cooperation" with his golf partner. That's kind of troubling. One, we don't know then how much the author actually wrote. Two,we already have Ludlum books being written ten years after he died. James Patterson has franchised his name and it's not likely that the Patterson novel you pick up was even written by him. So why can't the golf partner write a book on his own? And why can't Sanford, for that matter? Has it become so hard for him to come up with interesting novels? If so, then hang it up, don't write in "cooperation" with your golf partner. As you can see, I did not get a free advance copy from the publisher.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Enjoyable read.

    Good read but B&N needs to start screening these cheeseball reviewers who constantly complain about the prices.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Sandford = Success AGAIN!

    Through John Sandford, the reader is able to join Virgil Flowers's life -and share his conflicts and successes. At the end of the book, you feel you walked with him to solve the crimes. Waiting for the next one :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Entertaining

    Virgil never dissapoints--Fsst moving and a few unexpected twists and turns and a shared investigation (Virgil does not do it all in uncovering evidence) makes the story more believable and holds your interest. Can't wait for the next one (you get a preview at the end of the book) Great recreational read !!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Twisted

    This one had a better twist than the other Flowers books

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!!

    Another great "That F'n Flowers"! Read! If you love Sandford you will love this book! Just enough intrigue, laughs, mystery and murder to keep everyone happy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Welcome to waveclan

    Welcome to waveclan! My names seastar!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Virgil Flowers rocks!

    Ive always liked Sandfords books, but Lucas Davenport started to get tiring as any character would. Enter Virgil Flowers, a regular character in the Davenport series, spun off as ypur new protagonist. Home run! Virgil is plain spoken, not always brooding, a good old boy that is modest, listens more than talks and is razor sharp.
    Way to wake up a series. Virgil reminds me of a little bit of Burkes Dave Robicheaux mixed with a little bit of old time Columbo.
    Loved the characters, and really liked the interaction with the townsfolkes. They played a big part and served a purpose and you got to know them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Great !

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Virgil Flowers is the best character going! This story had me captivated from the first sentence... highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Once again Sandford has produced an interesting and entertaining story. It is an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Night

    "COLT! BATU!" He screamed running over. "What happened?" He asked Colt.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    It keeps you reading

    John Sandford has repeated his previous success with the Virgil Flowers series. Virgil, as a non-violent social detective is entertaining in a way that takes me back to the deductive mysteries of the 1930's and 1940's, before the 'hard-boiled' school became popular, but thoroughly modern in his approach. More, please.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12