Customer Reviews for

Shoe Strings

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    A wonderful book!

    Angelita carries a lot of baggage around with her, and not just the ones filled with shoes. Her mother deserted her, her father couldn't care less about her, and a pregnancy at seventeen started a chain reaction that sent her life swirling into a downward spiral. That is, until she met Sophie. Sophie helped her put her life back together and with a lot of hard work, they turned Angelita's shoe designs into a thriving business. But now, her father wants a piece of that business and he's not taking no for an answer. The only thing Angelita can think to do is run from him. Which puts her right smack in the middle of other people's baggage.
    Sequoyah Falls is a small town where no one forgets the past. Jesse is still considered the ne'er-do-well who ran out on his wife and kids; even though he's been back in town for years and has done everything he can to repair those relationships. Kerri Ann still pines for the man she never thought she was good enough for - the man that drove her into Jesse's arms with the end result being a baby boy. Bryce couldn't stick around and see the woman he loved with another man, but now he's back, Kerri Ann's divorced and this is his chance. But it's been several years now, and no one knows how to get their lives back on track and go after what they want. Until Angelita shows up.
    Shoe Strings is a novel that showcases how bad choices made in our youth can change the course of our lives forever. Her characters have grown into their adulthood still clinging to the past, keeping them from seeing their bright futures. Insecurities, emotional scars and the opinions of other people keep them from finding the right path over and over again. But stirring up the pot a little bit can change the flavor of things. Throw a new person in the mix who sees things in an unbiased light and new attitudes and self-confidence can have a chance to sprout roots where they never have before.
    In Shoe Strings, Christy Hayes transports the reader into a world in desperate need of second chances. Her story drives home the message that ghosts from the past do not get to determine the future, and love can win over even the most disbelieving hearts. The reader will enjoy watching these characters grow into the people they deserve to be, and will root them on every step of the way. Christy Hayes brings to life their hopes, dreams and desires and you can't help but grin happily as everything finally comes together.
    I thank the author for providing me with a review copy and I give the book 5 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Decent read

    Not a big fan of romance but the characters were interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    good for a rainy day easy read

    *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Recommend

    A good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    An easy read.

    Easy read of a typical love story with a couple of sub plots that keep you reading. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully written!

    Wow! Let me first say I have been in a kind of reading funk.. I think its in big part to me not being home, but nothing was grabbing my attention. I picked up this book, and it blew me away. It captured me from the beginning and didn't let me go until I finished. Every time I set this book down i would think about the characters and what they were going through and wondering what was going to happen next until I just gave up. I told the dishes they would have to wait, I had to finish this book. Christy did a fabulous job with her writing style. Every scene is believable, she did an amazing job on detail. Every thing played out like a movie in my head.

    I love the story. There is more than one story, more than one happily ever after, and it made me feel good inside. I know this is only a book but just thinking what these characters went through and how they end up.. you have to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    A Great Romantic Read

    Angelita Barros is an up-and-coming shoe designer from Atlanta. Her business started under unusual circumstances when she was only a teenager. Since then her business has grown, she has a business partner and a booming retail storefront. Things are looking up when her business is spotlighted in a local magazine. Angelita considers her business partner her family and has not had a relationship with her father, Davi Barros, for many years. Although she is scheduled to go on vacation after a business meeting, she opts to go to the mountains of North Carolina rather than the beaches of Florida. All is going well until a near-naked man exits her rental cabin's bathroom. What a way to meet a man? The man is Jesse Bloodworth, the son of the cabin's owner and a business owner. Both Jesse and Angelita are fighting demons from their past. Angelita's father is intruding into her life and trying to force her to make him a business partner of sorts to save not only his job at the Brazilian Consulate in Atlanta but perhaps his life. Jesse is trying to mend broken bridges with his ex-wife, Kerri Ann, his son Ty, and his father Cal.

    Kerri Ann is dealing with her own set of issues and is in love with the town's resident lawyer, Bryce Jenson, but she doesn't think she's good enough for him since she got pregnant as a teenager. Jesse had left his wife and young child after his mother's death because he knew that his marriage was a mistake and he needed to break free. He returned home when he realized what he had left behind and has been working on strengthening his bonds with his son and his father. Unfortunately his father couldn't understand Jesse's decision and can't understand or accept that Kerri Ann has forgiven him for his actions. Meanwhile Angelita is fighting her own inner demons. She is attracted to Jesse but doesn't feel that a relationship can progress so quickly after only a week or so and she doesn't trust her feelings.

    The central theme to Shoe Strings seems to be that everyone has feelings of inadequacy to overcome at some point in their lives. Will Kerri Ann be able to overcome her feelings of inferiority and accept the love being offered to her? Can Angelita see her father for who he really is before forcing her to do something that is wrong for her business and possibly dangerous if not illegal? Will Jesse be able to make amends with Cal? Can he get Angelita to see that love isn't an either-or situation?

    I truly enjoyed reading Shoe Strings. Angelita and Kerri Ann are strong, independent and savvy women. Their inner weaknesses aren't as masked as they would like and make for some interesting exchanges between themselves and others. Bryce and Jesse are lightly flirtatious but Southern Gentlemen to the core. Jesse is not as carefree as he initially appears and is remorseful for his past mistakes. He realizes that you may not be able to go back in time and change things He realizes that you may not be able to go back in time and change things but you can definitely work to make things better from each day forward. Although classified as a romance, and yes that fits, it is slightly more in my opinion. Shoe Strings is a great and quick read filled with romance, a little bit of intrigue and a touch of fun.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Cute romance

    This was a cute romance story. What I loved, aside from the main plot about Angelita and Jesse, was that there were a couple subplots, which kept the book interesting! Both Angelita and Jessie, and Kerri Ann and Bryce and great chemistry. I also enjoyed reading about the shoes Angelita designed.

    I think Christy Hayes needs to look into writing for Harlequin, or rather Harlequin needs to look into her. Her romance was much less formulaic but at the same time captured situations that Harlequin readers like to read about. Hayes would be a breath of fresh air for that publishing company.

    If you like romances, then Shoe Strings is definitely worth the $2.99 it is right now for Nook and Kindle. You won't regret this quick, classic, lighthearted romance.

    PS: How awesome are the shoes on the cover? I wouldn't have paired them with black hose, but I love them and I want them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1