BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shoeless Joe

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Now I want to see "Field of Dreams" again

    This was an excellent book. The author really knew his baseball history. The only thing I didn't like was the negative way that he portrayed Christians; not all of us are prudes like the characters he uses in the novel. I now want to see "Field of Dreams" again. It's been years since I saw the movie, and I'd like to compare the book to the movie. I do remember that the movie had to use a fictional author and not J.D. Salinger as one of the characters because the real Salinger (who just passed away last year, by the way) threatened to sue if his likeness was used in the movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Wonderful

    Loved the writing and language. Good read. Didn't make me cry like the movie did though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Recommended- must check it out

    Shoeless Joe is a book about dreams, magic and life. This book is not all about baseball. "If you build it, he will come," these were the words of the unknown announcer. This is what all started the creation of the baseball field in the cornfield by Ray Kinsella. It was all in honor of his hero Shoeless Joe Jackson. I though this book was worth reading and i would encourage people to do the same. W.P. Kinsella worte the book in a way so you would never was to stop reading. The character Ray, mades you feel that if there is something you want to do in life dont let anything hold you back, and ALWAYS follow your dreams. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    Shoeless Joe is an outstanding novel!

    Shoeless Joe was an outstanding novel. I would recommend this to readers who enjoy baseball but also to people who like books about dreams. This teaches you to never give up on your dreams or goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    Shoeless Joe Review

    Shoeless Joe was a good book. It inspires dreams and hopes of others. I would suggest this book to other baseball fans. The author keeps you interested in story. This book is amusing and satisfying.

    The storyline is unique. It made you think. Also, the author's message and themes were very inspiring. The writing is very descriptive. It gets a little too descriptive though.

    This book begins slow but then picks up. The rest of the book is exciting though. The author does a good job keeping you interested. Kinsella made up for the beginning. Sometimes I couldn't put this book down.

    This book was confusing at first. After a while I understood it. It turned out to be a great book. I recommend it to anyone. It's very inspiring. Best baseball book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    An Exciting Baseball Thriller

    ¿Shoeless Joe¿ by W.P. Kinsella is about baseball player Joseph Jefferson Jackson, Shoeless Joe. Joe Jackson got his nickname ¿Shoeless Joe¿ when he ran an inning without shoes because his shoes were new and they bothered him. He had played for the White Sox and was one of the players that were accused of throwing the 1919 World Series. Ray Kinsella is a simple man who lives on his farm that he purchased when he got married to his wife Annie. The story gets interesting when Ray is trying to find out if the rumors of some of the players for the White Sox, mainly Shoeless Joe, actually had thrown the World Series. When Ray is out on his farm one day he hears the voice of a baseball announcer that tells him to build a left field on his farm. Ray built the left field and some interesting things started to happen. He starts to see and hear ghostly figures; he starts to hear sounds of a cheering crowd and the crack of a bat. Then one night he was sitting on the little bleacher he made on the left field when something strange happened. The ghost of Shoeless Joe appears and starts to talk to Ray about baseball and how he could help an author by the name of J.D. Salinger get his love for the game of baseball back. But as he tries to do this, he runs into all kinds of trouble. Eventually he takes Salinger to a baseball game and tries to restore the love for baseball in Salinger¿s tired old heart. ¿Shoeless Joe¿ is for people who are into the game of baseball. W.P. Kinsella did a good job creating a picture for the reader with the detail of his writing. The book keeps readers guessing. There are some exciting and interesting parts that keep the reader interested. The beginning of the story is a little repetitive and isn¿t that interesting, but other than that, the author did a pretty good job getting what he wanted to get across.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2002

    Its a good book, but the...

    storyline was a little wierd. The book did not have a main theme, just a man speaking and thinking his dreams. It is almost philicosphical. A good book, but too much thought portrayed in the process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1