Customer Reviews for

Shoot the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A departure and new direction for Billie Letts

I've read several of Ms Letts' novels and have loved each and every one of them. Her characters were a tad on the eccentric side and her writing made me care about all of them.

Her newest novel, though, is somewhat different. In the first place, though it does...
I've read several of Ms Letts' novels and have loved each and every one of them. Her characters were a tad on the eccentric side and her writing made me care about all of them.

Her newest novel, though, is somewhat different. In the first place, though it doesn't quite fall in the genre, it could easily be termed a mystery - something I wasn't prepared for when I picked up this book. In the second place, at least one, possibly two, of the characters in "Shoot the Moon" is a definite SOB - O Boy Daniels, the local sheriff; and Arthur McFadden, his half-brother and owner of the local radio station.

The plot in and of itself is nothing to write home about. Mark Albright, a Hollywood veterinarian, discovers after his parents deaths that he was adopted and manages to trace his roots back to DeClare, Oklahoma. He travels to DeClare to find out about his biological parents and winds up in the middle of a small-town drama. Turns out his mother was killed when he was a baby, and until he showed up the town thought he was dead too.

The rest of the book concerns Mark's search for himself (as Mark Albright and as Nicky Jack Harjo, the name he was born with), for his parents, and for the killer of his mother. Along the way we meet and get to know several interesting characters, on both sides of the moral fence - the aforementioned sheriff and radio station owner; Teeve Harjo, owner of the local mom-and-pop store and her pregnant daughter Ivy; and Hap Duchamp, local lawyer and Matt Donaldson, the local fire chief - the unlikeliest couple, gay or straight, that you will ever run across.

The only fault I can find with this story is that Letts didn't give full descriptions of her characters until the story was well under way. It took me a while to realize that Mark and his biological mother were Native Americans, which turns out to be central to the plot. But once that confusion was cleared up it turns out that "Shoot the Moon" is a wonderful small-town mystery by someone who, it seems, could write another one if she wanted to.

posted by nprfan1 on November 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

This was disappointing. I loved Where the Heart Is and enjoyed Honk & Holler Opening Soon, but Shoot the Moon was a let-down. Not at all up to the standard Letts set with her previous two books. I wasn't enjoying this from the start but stuck with it based on the other ...
This was disappointing. I loved Where the Heart Is and enjoyed Honk & Holler Opening Soon, but Shoot the Moon was a let-down. Not at all up to the standard Letts set with her previous two books. I wasn't enjoying this from the start but stuck with it based on the other books. I should have given up sooner. The characters weren't that likable and in the end, when the truth came out, I wasn't shocked nor did I really care. Something that really bothered me was how the characters dealt with another character's choice to put her baby up for adoption. They acted as if adoption is never a good idea. Sometimes, adoption is the only good choice a woman can make for an unplanned pregnancy. I know a lot of people who were adopted as infants or children and in nearly every case, it was a wonderful thing. Esp. now that the birth mother can choose the family who will adopt her baby. This just topped off my already growing dislike for the story. I'm really glad I borrowed this from the library instead of buying a copy...

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A departure and new direction for Billie Letts

    I've read several of Ms Letts' novels and have loved each and every one of them. Her characters were a tad on the eccentric side and her writing made me care about all of them. <BR/><BR/>Her newest novel, though, is somewhat different. In the first place, though it doesn't quite fall in the genre, it could easily be termed a mystery - something I wasn't prepared for when I picked up this book. In the second place, at least one, possibly two, of the characters in "Shoot the Moon" is a definite SOB - O Boy Daniels, the local sheriff; and Arthur McFadden, his half-brother and owner of the local radio station. <BR/><BR/>The plot in and of itself is nothing to write home about. Mark Albright, a Hollywood veterinarian, discovers after his parents deaths that he was adopted and manages to trace his roots back to DeClare, Oklahoma. He travels to DeClare to find out about his biological parents and winds up in the middle of a small-town drama. Turns out his mother was killed when he was a baby, and until he showed up the town thought he was dead too. <BR/><BR/>The rest of the book concerns Mark's search for himself (as Mark Albright and as Nicky Jack Harjo, the name he was born with), for his parents, and for the killer of his mother. Along the way we meet and get to know several interesting characters, on both sides of the moral fence - the aforementioned sheriff and radio station owner; Teeve Harjo, owner of the local mom-and-pop store and her pregnant daughter Ivy; and Hap Duchamp, local lawyer and Matt Donaldson, the local fire chief - the unlikeliest couple, gay or straight, that you will ever run across. <BR/><BR/>The only fault I can find with this story is that Letts didn't give full descriptions of her characters until the story was well under way. It took me a while to realize that Mark and his biological mother were Native Americans, which turns out to be central to the plot. But once that confusion was cleared up it turns out that "Shoot the Moon" is a wonderful small-town mystery by someone who, it seems, could write another one if she wanted to.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    Disappointing for Billie Letts

    I was disappointed after first reading Where the Heart Is and Honk and Holler. I loved her first two books but Shoot the Moon doesn't even come close.The characters were not as interesting and the ending was just boring.I was sorry to finish the first two and happy to be done with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    Disappointing

    This was disappointing. I loved Where the Heart Is and enjoyed Honk & Holler Opening Soon, but Shoot the Moon was a let-down. Not at all up to the standard Letts set with her previous two books. I wasn't enjoying this from the start but stuck with it based on the other books. I should have given up sooner. The characters weren't that likable and in the end, when the truth came out, I wasn't shocked nor did I really care. Something that really bothered me was how the characters dealt with another character's choice to put her baby up for adoption. They acted as if adoption is never a good idea. Sometimes, adoption is the only good choice a woman can make for an unplanned pregnancy. I know a lot of people who were adopted as infants or children and in nearly every case, it was a wonderful thing. Esp. now that the birth mother can choose the family who will adopt her baby. This just topped off my already growing dislike for the story. I'm really glad I borrowed this from the library instead of buying a copy...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    Very moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Great story!

    Not only is it a good story but it's very well written. Although somewhat predictable, I read it in a couple of days (ok stayed up til the wee hours of each morning) so enthralled by what the outcome would be. Not what you'd expect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Oklahoma Tale I chose this book because i

    A Great Oklahoma Tale
    I chose this book because it was once a #1 New York Times Bestseller and because the author, Billie Letts, is an Oklahoman. Being an Okie author myself, I wanted to get a feel for what it takes to be a New York Times Bestseller. Shoot the Moon was an enjoyable read. It was easy to get into the story, was a quick page-turner, and had some unexpected twists and turns.
    The story begins when Mark Albright, an upscale Hollywood veterinarian, learns that he is adopted and returns to Oklahoma to discover his roots. When he gets to DeClare, Oklahoma, he is shocked to find that his mother had been murdered some thirty years earlier. At the time it was presumed that her ten-month-old baby had also been murdered even though the baby’s body had never been found. He believes he is this baby. It is an unsolved crime that Albright is determined to solve. He is also intent on learning who his biological father is. Some in DeClare, however, are not happy to see him return and do not want this crime reinvestigated.
    Lett’s description of life in small-town Oklahoma seemed authentic and her characters were well drawn. I thought the racial prejudice regarding Indians in the late sixties was exaggerated. Growing up in Oklahoma, I didn’t feel there was much racial tension between Indians and whites. Of course, your perception of how much prejudice exists is a very personal experience depending on your viewpoint. I grew up near a town that had a military base, and different races and religions were more easily accepted. If I had lived in a different part of Oklahoma, perhaps I would have been more aware of this prejudice. I do know that there was a prejudice against Indians in the late 1800’s and early 1900’s, but I didn’t think it still existed in the sixties and seventies.
    One incident in the story that caught my attention was when Albright was shot in the leg and the bullet goes completely through his leg. As Lett’s describes it, “it didn’t involve bone, artery or nerve. Even missed muscle.” I think most would find it hard to believe that a bullet could go completely through a person’s thigh and not hit anything unless that person were quite obese, and Albight is described as being slender. Also, Albright, a veterinarian seemed quite unschooled in some of the basics of medicine. For example he seems to have very little knowledge of blood types and DNA tests. I think most of us by junior high school have already learned something of blood typing.
    The diary inserts were a stroke of writing genius on Lett’s part. Through these pages scattered throughout the book, you gradually get to know the private thoughts and feelings of Albight’s murdered teenage mother.
    The ending of the book came across as being rushed. It seemed as if Lett’s was in a hurry to tie up all of the loose ends and get on to her next book. I wish that we could give half stars. My actual rating for this book is 4 ½ stars because of this rushed ending, which also seemed a little too contrived as it tied up all the loose ends. I enjoyed the book - a recommended read that includes romance, mystery, action, and gives the reader a true-to-life feeling of small town Oklahoma.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Good story line

    The book is really strong in the beginning and has some turns you don't expect but has parts that drag and made me not sure I even wanted to finish the book. I finally did finish it but it ended strange

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    This book is an interesting story, and I really enjoyed Ms. Lett

    This book is an interesting story, and I really enjoyed Ms. Letts writing style. Everything was described so well and I never felt that I was missing something. But I also never felt that there was too much detail and that it got boring at points; Ms. Letts found the perfect balance in her descriptions. When you start reading this, you immediately love Nicky Jack. He doesn't really know anything about his family and as he learns, you can see how much he wishes to have known them longer. The little bit of romance shocked me at first, as I'm sure it will for other readers. However, then I began rooting for them and I hoped the story would go a little more into detail about their relationship (but thats probably just the part of me that loves romance stories).




    The book centers on Nicky Jack trying to find out what happened to his mother almost 30 years ago. The story plays out in a very interesting fashion. I never saw the end coming; it keeps you guessing until the very last pages. It really breaks your heart when you find out what happened and why; but I guess that's what makes it such a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Good down to home author.

    This is another great book from Billie Letts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/Abridged/Mystery: I really liked this book. It's about a 30

    CD/Abridged/Mystery: I really liked this book. It's about a 30 year old murder of a mother and her son missing and presumed dead. Only when a Beverly Hills veterinarian comes to town to find his birth parents, only to find he is the missing son. There were great characters, great plot lines. The narrator is Lou Diamond Phillips and he did a wonderful job with the voices and reading. I don't think I could have handled unabridged. As it was, I had to take the CD out of my car and listen to it on my computer at work! I had to know who the murderer was. I definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Good story but predictable early on.

    Good story, could have called most of the ending early on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Great, easy read...keeps you guessing and makes you happy in the end.

    I read this great lil' book in one sitting.....You won't be disappointed. I absolutely loved this book! Not only a good little mystery, but heartwarming too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    loveable characters

    I got to the point where I couldnt put it down. I had to find out who the killer was and what happened to everyone in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    Ending could have been better

    Seemed to be missing a chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    all tied up in a neat package

    This book started out interesting but quickly went downhill. Dr. Mark Albright (AKA Nicky Jack Harjo) comes to town in search of his birth mother. A cruel sheriff, gay lawyer, and his sarcastic cousin, Ivy, are only a few of the characters he meets on his journey of self-discovery. Conflicts are easily dealt with, pretty predictable plot. The Epilogue puts a big ol' bow on the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    Great rainy day book

    Shoot the Moon had interesting characters which were easily to relate to from your own childhood and hometown, and yet the plot offered enough twists to keep your interest to the end of the story. It was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    Very good!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. I'm an avid reader but hadn't found anything in awhile that held my interest like this one did. I highly recommend this book and I'll be reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Find Mom

    Shoot The Moon tells about the thirty-year disappearance of Mark kidnapped as an infant from a small town Oklahoma. After the death of his adoptive parents he finds his adoption decree and birth certificate and takes off to find his biological parents. When he arrives he learns he was taken the night his mother was murdered. Along with the accused man¿s son they find the true murder of Mark¿s biological mother, his biological father, the reason why the accused man was accused then murdered, and set the town free of its secrets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Pretty good

    I was looking for another book as mysterious and dark as 'Sharp Objects'. While this isn't quite so dark it is very well written and fun to read. I couldn't put it down. I didn't like Ms. Letts last book 'The Honk and Holler Opening Soon' but heard from a friend that this was much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    Excellent book!

    I absolutely loved this book. Billie Letts is truly a great author. After reading her other novel, Where the Heart Is, I knew I would enjoy this book and I was right. It was a great story, great characters, and excellent writing. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4