Customer Reviews for

Shoot the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A departure and new direction for Billie Letts

I've read several of Ms Letts' novels and have loved each and every one of them. Her characters were a tad on the eccentric side and her writing made me care about all of them.

Her newest novel, though, is somewhat different. In the first place, though it does...
I've read several of Ms Letts' novels and have loved each and every one of them. Her characters were a tad on the eccentric side and her writing made me care about all of them.

Her newest novel, though, is somewhat different. In the first place, though it doesn't quite fall in the genre, it could easily be termed a mystery - something I wasn't prepared for when I picked up this book. In the second place, at least one, possibly two, of the characters in "Shoot the Moon" is a definite SOB - O Boy Daniels, the local sheriff; and Arthur McFadden, his half-brother and owner of the local radio station.

The plot in and of itself is nothing to write home about. Mark Albright, a Hollywood veterinarian, discovers after his parents deaths that he was adopted and manages to trace his roots back to DeClare, Oklahoma. He travels to DeClare to find out about his biological parents and winds up in the middle of a small-town drama. Turns out his mother was killed when he was a baby, and until he showed up the town thought he was dead too.

The rest of the book concerns Mark's search for himself (as Mark Albright and as Nicky Jack Harjo, the name he was born with), for his parents, and for the killer of his mother. Along the way we meet and get to know several interesting characters, on both sides of the moral fence - the aforementioned sheriff and radio station owner; Teeve Harjo, owner of the local mom-and-pop store and her pregnant daughter Ivy; and Hap Duchamp, local lawyer and Matt Donaldson, the local fire chief - the unlikeliest couple, gay or straight, that you will ever run across.

The only fault I can find with this story is that Letts didn't give full descriptions of her characters until the story was well under way. It took me a while to realize that Mark and his biological mother were Native Americans, which turns out to be central to the plot. But once that confusion was cleared up it turns out that "Shoot the Moon" is a wonderful small-town mystery by someone who, it seems, could write another one if she wanted to.

posted by nprfan1 on November 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

This was disappointing. I loved Where the Heart Is and enjoyed Honk & Holler Opening Soon, but Shoot the Moon was a let-down. Not at all up to the standard Letts set with her previous two books. I wasn't enjoying this from the start but stuck with it based on the other ...
This was disappointing. I loved Where the Heart Is and enjoyed Honk & Holler Opening Soon, but Shoot the Moon was a let-down. Not at all up to the standard Letts set with her previous two books. I wasn't enjoying this from the start but stuck with it based on the other books. I should have given up sooner. The characters weren't that likable and in the end, when the truth came out, I wasn't shocked nor did I really care. Something that really bothered me was how the characters dealt with another character's choice to put her baby up for adoption. They acted as if adoption is never a good idea. Sometimes, adoption is the only good choice a woman can make for an unplanned pregnancy. I know a lot of people who were adopted as infants or children and in nearly every case, it was a wonderful thing. Esp. now that the birth mother can choose the family who will adopt her baby. This just topped off my already growing dislike for the story. I'm really glad I borrowed this from the library instead of buying a copy...

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A departure and new direction for Billie Letts

    I've read several of Ms Letts' novels and have loved each and every one of them. Her characters were a tad on the eccentric side and her writing made me care about all of them. <BR/><BR/>Her newest novel, though, is somewhat different. In the first place, though it doesn't quite fall in the genre, it could easily be termed a mystery - something I wasn't prepared for when I picked up this book. In the second place, at least one, possibly two, of the characters in "Shoot the Moon" is a definite SOB - O Boy Daniels, the local sheriff; and Arthur McFadden, his half-brother and owner of the local radio station. <BR/><BR/>The plot in and of itself is nothing to write home about. Mark Albright, a Hollywood veterinarian, discovers after his parents deaths that he was adopted and manages to trace his roots back to DeClare, Oklahoma. He travels to DeClare to find out about his biological parents and winds up in the middle of a small-town drama. Turns out his mother was killed when he was a baby, and until he showed up the town thought he was dead too. <BR/><BR/>The rest of the book concerns Mark's search for himself (as Mark Albright and as Nicky Jack Harjo, the name he was born with), for his parents, and for the killer of his mother. Along the way we meet and get to know several interesting characters, on both sides of the moral fence - the aforementioned sheriff and radio station owner; Teeve Harjo, owner of the local mom-and-pop store and her pregnant daughter Ivy; and Hap Duchamp, local lawyer and Matt Donaldson, the local fire chief - the unlikeliest couple, gay or straight, that you will ever run across. <BR/><BR/>The only fault I can find with this story is that Letts didn't give full descriptions of her characters until the story was well under way. It took me a while to realize that Mark and his biological mother were Native Americans, which turns out to be central to the plot. But once that confusion was cleared up it turns out that "Shoot the Moon" is a wonderful small-town mystery by someone who, it seems, could write another one if she wanted to.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    Very moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Good down to home author.

    This is another great book from Billie Letts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Great, easy read...keeps you guessing and makes you happy in the end.

    I read this great lil' book in one sitting.....You won't be disappointed. I absolutely loved this book! Not only a good little mystery, but heartwarming too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    loveable characters

    I got to the point where I couldnt put it down. I had to find out who the killer was and what happened to everyone in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    Great rainy day book

    Shoot the Moon had interesting characters which were easily to relate to from your own childhood and hometown, and yet the plot offered enough twists to keep your interest to the end of the story. It was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Find Mom

    Shoot The Moon tells about the thirty-year disappearance of Mark kidnapped as an infant from a small town Oklahoma. After the death of his adoptive parents he finds his adoption decree and birth certificate and takes off to find his biological parents. When he arrives he learns he was taken the night his mother was murdered. Along with the accused man¿s son they find the true murder of Mark¿s biological mother, his biological father, the reason why the accused man was accused then murdered, and set the town free of its secrets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Pretty good

    I was looking for another book as mysterious and dark as 'Sharp Objects'. While this isn't quite so dark it is very well written and fun to read. I couldn't put it down. I didn't like Ms. Letts last book 'The Honk and Holler Opening Soon' but heard from a friend that this was much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Great Read

    This is my first read of Billie Letts, and I thouroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The characters were very relatable and the story line kept me guessing. Didn't see the end coming...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    Very good book!!

    This book was a definate page turner for me. I felt really connected with the characters. They were very real. The suspense was very real as well. Kept me guessing. I recommend this book to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Good Book

    I enjoyed the book. Like the other reviewers I think Where the Heart Is was better or rather it held my interest better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Good mystery, good story...no disappointments here

    I enjoyed reading the story to the point where I just couldn't stop reading until I found out story behind Nicky Jack Harjo's mother death and adoption. Very interesting subjects on small town life, teen pregnancy, adoptions and relationships. Still puzzeled by the meaning of the title ' Shoot the Moon'...?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    A good, entertaining story..

    I enjoyed this book. A book that I looked forward to curling up with at the end of the day. The storyline was a bit predictable, but it was interesting and everything was tied up nicely at the end. I've loanded the book to a few friends who reported that they too enjoyed it. I recommend it to fans of Billie Letts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Good Summer reading here

    I love Billie Letts. This is not her best work but is well worth the read. The punch is telegraphed early on and some elements are neglected, but you will always love her ability to make you care about her characters and her easy to read style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2004

    Good not Great

    I read and loved Where The Heart Is and didn't feel this one was as captivating. It did hold my interest, however, because I really wanted to know how Nicky Jack ended up with his adoptive parents. Ms. Letts is a talented writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2