Customer Reviews for

Shoot to Thrill (Monkeewrench Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

This book was a bit different from the previous ones, but still a great read. The characters are changing some, but that is to be expected as the series goes on. I liked the addition of John Smith, a man who found himself while he worked with Grace and company. I hope...
This book was a bit different from the previous ones, but still a great read. The characters are changing some, but that is to be expected as the series goes on. I liked the addition of John Smith, a man who found himself while he worked with Grace and company. I hope they decide to keep him. The story seemed to leave you hanging at the end, but then you realize that some crimes and situations don't come to a tidy end in life either...the Internet is one of those. There are always going to be those who misuse it. Looking forward to the next one.

posted by 4144765 on August 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Waited too long!

The mother daughter team in my opinion waited to long between books. They made a reference to the last book and I couldn't remember what happen as it had been a couple of years ago. The plot moved along till almost the very end then what kind of ending was that. there ...
The mother daughter team in my opinion waited to long between books. They made a reference to the last book and I couldn't remember what happen as it had been a couple of years ago. The plot moved along till almost the very end then what kind of ending was that. there was really no explanation as to these people committed these horrible crimes. To me this book was a let down and the authors let their fans down too. If you want your fans back dont wait so long between books

posted by PattiM46 on September 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Great Read!

    This book was a bit different from the previous ones, but still a great read. The characters are changing some, but that is to be expected as the series goes on. I liked the addition of John Smith, a man who found himself while he worked with Grace and company. I hope they decide to keep him. The story seemed to leave you hanging at the end, but then you realize that some crimes and situations don't come to a tidy end in life either...the Internet is one of those. There are always going to be those who misuse it. Looking forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Waited too long!

    The mother daughter team in my opinion waited to long between books. They made a reference to the last book and I couldn't remember what happen as it had been a couple of years ago. The plot moved along till almost the very end then what kind of ending was that. there was really no explanation as to these people committed these horrible crimes. To me this book was a let down and the authors let their fans down too. If you want your fans back dont wait so long between books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great series

    I have enjoyed every book in this series and hope more to follow!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Great Read

    I love the Monkeewrench novels. As a series the books are well written and entertaining, and this addition is no exception. My only complaint is the three year lag time between this book and the previous one. Hope the authors write and release the next one in a more timely manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Don't miss one!!!!!!

    These books are delightful. The two detectives are the funniest duo ever! Can't wait for the next one!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Not on a par with their previous books.

    I was disappointed with the newest of the Monkeewrench series. It started off interestingly enough but quickly slowed and never picked up again. It was not thrilling or exciting by any means, and I had to force myself to finish. Seems the authors slapped it together without much thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    A disappointment.....

    Their previous novels have been intriguing leaving you wanting more! I read this and discovered I actually disliked one of the main characters who hasn't grown/changed over the past 4 books! The book lacked the sophistication and attention to detail that existed in previous novels. I'm wondering what happened with the authors - it didn't even seem like one of their books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    At long last..

    it's been a long time between books, but worth the wait. new characters and one leaves, which was a surprise. this book seemed to have a lot more dirty language,but a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Page Turner

    This duo continues to give us books that we can't put down. The characters are believeable and interesting and the twists that are woven in keep us on the edge of our seats. We really do not have a clue to point us in the right direction. This book is a must have for those of us who love the murder mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Dull Shoot to Thrill

    I waited eagerly for the next Monkeewrench book,Shoot to Thrill, to release. I couldn't wait to buy. I bought the hardcover as it wasn't available on the Kindle yet. I should have waited for the paperback.

    Shoot to Thrill didn't thrill me. I felt the authors struggled to me make a comprehensive plot that carried the book. Even the eccecntric and usually appealing characters were predictable.

    I was very disappointed with it. When I finished the last page, I thought to myself, "So what?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You'll find cover to cover excitement in this the latest Monkeewrench mystery.

    PJ the mother daughter creators of the Monkeewrench crew have truly outdone themselves in their latest installment of the series. We find the motley crew ensconced knee deep in a crime spree the degree of which Minneapolis has never seen and trying desperately to keep up with the villains who've decided that it's a good thing not only to commit murder but film and post it on social networking sites for the world to see.
    PJ reacquaints us with the Monkeewrench folks in this her 5th in the series. Her story line is something that could easily appear on every front page, every news show and every on line network known to man and unfortunately for those of us living in this e-world are ever aware of that fact. Her dialogue is so in line with what her characters portray, we have the ever present e-speak geek part, the personally tragic human part that is this rag-tag group of friends. And then we have the voices of the villains the unidentifiable faceless perpetrators of evil doings of unspeakable proportions. Her characters are so unique in the world of literature that you could not compare them to anyone, which is a very good thing because the members of Monkeewrench are each one of a kind and with each novel you learn a little more about them. The co-stars of these novels are the homicide detectives Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth and you'll find them right where they belong solving crimes right along side of our stars in their own entertaining way. We have a new member this time in FBI agent John Smith and he will add yet another layer of intrigue to our tale as we learn about him.
    This is an incredible edge of your seat thriller that you fans of PJ Tracy have come to expect. For those of you new to her this can stand on it's own, but to get the history, all the intricacies and the tragic way they became who they are I suggest reading the series from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    When a drag queen is found dead and floating, the Minneapolis police are called to the scene. What they find out is even more shocking than the bridal outfit found on the deceased. The murderer wants everyone to know exactly what happened, so he broadcasts the murder on the web. The FBI sends someone over to help crack this case. Will they be able to find the perpetrator before another murder is spread in cyber space?

    I'm always up for a good detective story. I loved the plot and the authors were able to keep me intrigued throughout the whole book. This is definitely a winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    superb police procedural

    Minneapolis Police department homicide detectives Gino Rolseth and Leo Magozzi are sent to a decrepit section of the Mississippi where they see the body of a dead floater dressed in a bridal outfit. They later learn the homicide of the drag queen in a wedding dress was filmed for the Internet crowd.

    FBI cyber crime special agent John Smith joins the Minneapolis PD inquiry into the bride murder and other similar filmed horrifying deaths. He also enlists the aid of the Monkeewrench computer gurus (Harley Davidson, Grace MacBride, Annie Belinski and Roadrunner) who have helped law enforcement before including donating special software applications. While the Minneapolis detectives follow more typical procedures, the Monkeewrench crew works on a program to delineate real web-based murder from acting. As more homicides occur in other cities but linked to the bridal murder, no progress is made until a victim in Medford, Oregon survives.

    This is a superb police procedural that fans of the Monkeewrench crew will fully appreciate while newcomers will be hooked immediately by the likable team and seek out previous thrillers (see Dead Run and Snow Blind). The story line is fast-paced from the moment the two Minneapolis cops begin to investigate the bridal drag queen floater case and never takes a respite as the Feds and their computer "consultants" make inquiries into live Internet serial killing from other cities. Shoot to Thrill is a fabulous entry in a consistently strong series.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2