Customer Reviews for

Shopaholic Takes Manhattan (Shopaholic Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 549 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

LAUGH-OUT-LOUD!!!

Have you ever read a book that made you laugh so much that it was actually painful??? That's this book!!! Rebecca is back, as hilarious as ever!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

too much of a good thing?

i thoroughly enjoyed the first book, but i found the second book to be a little excessive and over the top. i found myself actually rooting AGAINST becky and her annoying excesses. i think it's best to stop after the first.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 551 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2002

    LAUGH-OUT-LOUD!!!

    Have you ever read a book that made you laugh so much that it was actually painful??? That's this book!!! Rebecca is back, as hilarious as ever!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Shopoholic

    In this second installment of Rebecca Bloomwood we come in thinking that she solved her financial problem in the previous book. Well, we were wrong this book is just as funny as the first with Becky just as clumsy as the previous book. This time she is going to New York with Luke. It was great just make sure you read this 5 book set in order.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Entertaining Read

    Becky finally finds here niche in personal shopping in the heart of NYC at Barney's. Love the characters and how Becky interacts with them all. This was a fun/easylll read that I couldn't put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    Funny!

    When I started reading this book I thought Becky was pretty immature. But I kept on reading anyway, I started liking more as I read. The book is funny and you will bond with the characters. It's a great book to read on your free time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Funny, and entertaining....read it in one afternoon.

    Great book that was very witty and entertaining. I sat down and read it in the Park in one afternoon. COuldn't put it down. The only problem is I feel let down when the book ends, I always want more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Good

    Even better than the first. About to read the third!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Loved it

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Becky Bloomwood Makes Me Laugh - AGAIN!

    The Shopaholic Series are my newfound favorite books! Becky makes me giggle during every page turn! Sophie Kinsella has created such a fun-loving character who just needs a teeny economical boost. A fun read for those who need a smile (Just read Shopholic #1 first!!!!) or who are looking to pass the time. Cute story, recommend to ages thirteen and up, as the plot is a bit hard to understand for younger ones :) .

    Children under 13? Watch the movie - not as hard to comprehend and laugh out loud funny!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    really cute too

    just like the 1st book, its really easy, fun and witty. its totally worth reading and getting sucked into. becky is a money spender thats 4 sure. and well luke is just so yumm!! cant wait to see what 'ties the knot' looks like...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    too much of a good thing?

    i thoroughly enjoyed the first book, but i found the second book to be a little excessive and over the top. i found myself actually rooting AGAINST becky and her annoying excesses. i think it's best to stop after the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2002

    Another Brilliantly Funny Read!

    I couldn't believe my luck when I walked past this in B&N three days ago. I snatched it off of the shelf, and quickly began to read. I had read the first book, Confessions of a Shopaholic, in a day's time. Now, a sequel! In this novel, lovable Becky Bloomwood takes us through her newest personal and shopping mishaps, and one step better, she samples US shops for the first time! Anyone with a love for a realistic character, anyone who's a shopaholic themselves will get tremendous entertainment from this book. I read this in a day's time (just like the first novel).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    Okay but the good ending was worth it. This is the third book I

    Okay but the good ending was worth it. This is the third book I've read from this author, and so far, my favorite is still The Undomestic Goddess. Rebecca's thoughts were funny but not hilarious. I felt like I was waiting most of the time, waiting for something more funny or bad to happen. When it did, that's when things got more interesting, but that's near the end of the book already. I liked how things wrapped up, and it was very sweet how things worked out for Luke and Rebecca. The ending made the read worth it but the ride was not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The beach read for July is Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie

    The beach read for July is Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella.
    Synopsis:
    Rebecca is now a television personality on Morning Coffee. She has managed to befriend Mr. Smeath but he has news of his own. He will no longer be in charge of her account at Endwich Bank. Of course there is shopping! Rebecca really wants to see her relationship grow with Luke. He stays busy with work and Rebecca lets him set the pace of the relationship. The game changer comes when Luke asks Rebecca to move to New York with him. Will Rebecca be able to survive New York! Will Saks Fifth Avenue survive the Shopaholic? Will Luke become more committed?
    My Thoughts:
    I did not love this book. Ms. Kinsella does a wonderful job of creating a superficial and narcissistic character in Rebecca Bloomwood. I felt that the story was a little bit better this time around. I just couldn’t compel myself to finish the book. I guess the humor is a little lost on me. Meg Cabot fans will love this book!
    Shopping is a theme that runs through this series. Are you a thrifty spender? Do you compulsively shop? Is retail therapy one of your favorite past times? If your answer is yes to this question then you are a Shopaholic?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Fun book

    Very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Love It

    I heart this book. Must Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Great book!

    I loved the first book in the series and i love this book just as much! Becky is hilarious and I enjoyed following along with her love interest with Luke. I can't wait to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Loved it!

    Amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    LMAO

    Omg this book was so funny i couldnt stop laughing :)) buy this book better just buy the whole series you wont regret it..if your sad this book is your best medicine pls pls kinsella keep writting your are amazing great gift love love all your books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Must read

    Surprising and hilarious. Inspiring and romantic. Words cant begin to explain how good this book is. I reccomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    I read the first book in one hour

    I love these books even though its only the second book. I also read mini shopaholic. I can only get free sample books though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 551 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28