Customer Reviews for

Shopaholic Takes Manhattan (Shopaholic Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 552 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(304)

4 Star

(157)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

LAUGH-OUT-LOUD!!!

Have you ever read a book that made you laugh so much that it was actually painful??? That's this book!!! Rebecca is back, as hilarious as ever!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

too much of a good thing?

i thoroughly enjoyed the first book, but i found the second book to be a little excessive and over the top. i found myself actually rooting AGAINST becky and her annoying excesses. i think it's best to stop after the first.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 554 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Must read

    Surprising and hilarious. Inspiring and romantic. Words cant begin to explain how good this book is. I reccomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    I read the first book in one hour

    I love these books even though its only the second book. I also read mini shopaholic. I can only get free sample books though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Becky is hilarious!

    I love these stories,their funny and just to see through all the economic struggles she goes through,even though she doesnt think so...im about to read the 4th book i cant wait. So if you love funny , and also shopping stories then this is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Rebecca's Awesome

    I love her witty comedy and fun atmosphere. She is amazingly cool! I love the Shopaholic series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended - must read!

    Fun, interesting and funny - just a good read. Sophie Kinsella has captured a part of its readers - shopping & finance difficulties -- subjects few people ever talk about together. Even better she shows how very different the world of NYC can be vs. London.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    GREAT CHICK FLICK IN A BOOK!

    I love this book and it's a great story to read when you are on vacation, or just looking for a silly, funny story about a girl on vacation with her hubby!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    great author

    Love the whole Shopaholic books, if you need a good book, these are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Fun!

    Easy read! I love to this book, actually all of them since I am going onto the third book this week! I have really enjoyed the characters, the shopping, parties and the life Becky leads! Keep shopping :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shopaholic Takes Manhattan Takes the Place of my New Fav Book!

    From the hit movie, Confessions of a Shopaholic, Becky Bloomwood is back in action in the second of five books in the Shopaholic series. In this book, Becky has MOST of her debts paid off and is now happily a TV financial aid. But, her boyfriend of the first book, Luke, is acting very mysterious around the subject of his new deal. Then, Becky finds out from the woman she hates most, Lukes head employee, that Luke is moving to the USA, a big change from modern London. Becky confronts Luke, and after a few minor fights, he invites her to go with him. New York is nothing like London, but the shops are AMAZING. Becky lies about a "few" purchases and get in a "minor" spot of debt, according to her. Read this amazing book to laugh with her, cry with her, move with her (multiple times), and read the book of the day for the ride of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Another Shopaholic book that is cute and fun

    I really liked the beginning and end of this book, but the middle seemed so much like the first book in the series. That said, I still really enjoyed it and think it was worth the read as it was quick and easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    An enjoyable read!

    I liked the movie "Confessions of a Shopaholic", so I bought the book by the same name. It was entertaining enough that I decided to buy this, the 2nd book in the series, which I also enjoyed! If you liked the movie, I think you'll enjoy both of these books, because the movie actually incorporates interludes from both books, and they're written in the same fairly light-hearted, funny vein that the movie portrays! They have a nice romantic flavor, and are a bit touching at times. I enjoyed them enough that I went out & bought the next 2 books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wow!

    WOW! Sophie seriously did this one to good! I dont remeber the details because i read it few months ago ago, but what i know is that Becki faces many problems and she has her own wity fun loving way of fixing them. You can really get tips and you can relate to it, and it is very interesing there are so many obsticles becki faces! I would highly reccomend this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another fabulous book by Sophie Kinsella

    As the second book in her Shopaholic series, this book continues the charm of the first. It is the perfect segue into another chapter of Becky Bloomwood's life. What I like so much about these books is that each one continues the same cast of characters, always including some exciting and witty editions...but the story is seamless without being predictable. Having read each one of this series, I highly recommend all of her books. Sophie Kinsella's writing style is charming and will definitely csuse you to laugh out loud!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good for time-killing, bad for serious reading

    It is something that one uses to kill time, seriously. I read #1 confessions of a shopaholic in the series which is quite interesting before I get to this one. But I've lost my appetite on this book. Same old plotting, same old "princess and prince" story, same old unbelievably amzaing ending. Just all of these are too similar that I've give up the hope that I can see something different from the previous.

    Whatsoever, I kinda like the language. well well, bring it with you if you are on the trip, or on the beach. Drop it elsewell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Read

    Shopaholic Takes Manhattan, by Sophie Kinsella, is a fiction book about a financial expert (Rebecca Bloomwood) and her struggle with excessive shopping. This book would best be appropriate for young adults and adults. It is written from mainly first point of view, and the author writes with such clarity and fluidness that the book is very straight forward and entertaining. The theme of Shopaholic Takes Manhattan is the effects of senseless purchasing and the thesis is pointless spending causes nothing but harmful situations. Kinsella supports the thesis by describing what happens to Rebecca, such as "Becky.is being pursued for debt totaling thousands and her own bank manager has labeled her a 'disgrace'".
    Shopaholic Takes Manhattan shows the importance of logical spending and proper organization of your money. I enjoyed how the author chose to solve Becky's problems by using logical conclusions that were very realistic. Shopaholic Takes Manhattan is the second book of the Shopaholic series, with Confessions of a Shopaholic being the first. I felt that this book built upon the first and went further into the life of Rebecca Bloomwood. I would read this book again just because of the humorous approach and the lightness of it all. Sophie Kinsella is from England so she sort of brings her life into the character of Becky, which makes it even more hilarious.
    The book has a sense of irony to it as Becky is advising people how to avoid money problems even though she is in an unthinkable amount of debt. Becky is asked by her boyfriend, Luke Brandon, to move from London, England to Manhattan, New York with him. While there, Becky spends so much money shopping that she becomes deeply in debt and her world starts falling apart around her. Becky has to figure out how to keep her career, how to keep her relationship with Luke, and how to pay off her dues. Towards the end of the book, Becky realizes what she has done and makes a tremendous effort to get her life back on track.
    I would highly recommend this book because it is very fun to read. Kinsella makes Rebecca Bloomwood an easy character to relate to, which makes the book pleasant. Shopaholic Takes Manhattan is a genuine book worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Read!

    This one was just as good as the first one. I especially liked the happy ending with Luke and Rebecca.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series!

    This book is funny, heart warming, funny, and wonderful for every girl and woman! GREAT SERIES! I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Great sequel

    This is a book done right!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the cutest books I have read!

    This book gave the feeling to want to keep reading throughout the whole story. Full of surprises and a very good sonse of humor. A perfect fluff novel to fill the indulgence of a rainy day or late night bedtime story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shopaholic Series - A must read for anyone who loves comedy

    I have read the entire shopaholic series. After reading the Twilight series, I needed something light and funny and this series is just that. Becky Bloomwood is a funny character, but she has depth. There are life lessons that she learns as she goes through several phases of life. I found myself laughing out loud as I read through each book in the series and really enjoyed each book. I only hope there are more to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 554 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28