Customer Reviews for

Shopaholic Takes Manhattan (Shopaholic Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 552 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(304)

4 Star

(157)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

LAUGH-OUT-LOUD!!!

Have you ever read a book that made you laugh so much that it was actually painful??? That's this book!!! Rebecca is back, as hilarious as ever!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

too much of a good thing?

i thoroughly enjoyed the first book, but i found the second book to be a little excessive and over the top. i found myself actually rooting AGAINST becky and her annoying excesses. i think it's best to stop after the first.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    too much of a good thing?

    i thoroughly enjoyed the first book, but i found the second book to be a little excessive and over the top. i found myself actually rooting AGAINST becky and her annoying excesses. i think it's best to stop after the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The beach read for July is Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie

    The beach read for July is Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella.
    Synopsis:
    Rebecca is now a television personality on Morning Coffee. She has managed to befriend Mr. Smeath but he has news of his own. He will no longer be in charge of her account at Endwich Bank. Of course there is shopping! Rebecca really wants to see her relationship grow with Luke. He stays busy with work and Rebecca lets him set the pace of the relationship. The game changer comes when Luke asks Rebecca to move to New York with him. Will Rebecca be able to survive New York! Will Saks Fifth Avenue survive the Shopaholic? Will Luke become more committed?
    My Thoughts:
    I did not love this book. Ms. Kinsella does a wonderful job of creating a superficial and narcissistic character in Rebecca Bloomwood. I felt that the story was a little bit better this time around. I just couldn’t compel myself to finish the book. I guess the humor is a little lost on me. Meg Cabot fans will love this book!
    Shopping is a theme that runs through this series. Are you a thrifty spender? Do you compulsively shop? Is retail therapy one of your favorite past times? If your answer is yes to this question then you are a Shopaholic?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Somethings should be left alone...

    But instead they make a sequel. This book just really annoyed me at some parts...some? Well, ok...MOST Parts. Becky Bloomwood is starting to get on my nerves, she always finds herself in the situation when she's already GONE through it ten times before, you'd think someone would learn by now? Confessions was a really good, quick read, but this was...stupid. What a waste of time, I doubt I want to read the next two installments of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    Shopaholic Takes Manhattan

    So-so in every aspect. Read a Vogue or Instyle instead - would probably be more entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    Shopaholic Takes Manhattan

    A friend lent me this book and while she warned me it didn't win the Nobel Prize, I was still disappointed. What of the fun & colorful cover and the interesting title? That's were it all starts and ends. Take my advice, DON'T JUDGE THIS BOOK BY IT'S COVER!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Becky's irresponsibility gets a little tiresome

    I agree with the first reviewer. Although I loved the first book, and the second does read quickly, I felt like enough is enough....Becky's irresponsibility gets a little tiresome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1