Customer Reviews for

Shopaholic Takes Manhattan (Shopaholic Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 549 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

LAUGH-OUT-LOUD!!!

Have you ever read a book that made you laugh so much that it was actually painful??? That's this book!!! Rebecca is back, as hilarious as ever!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

too much of a good thing?

i thoroughly enjoyed the first book, but i found the second book to be a little excessive and over the top. i found myself actually rooting AGAINST becky and her annoying excesses. i think it's best to stop after the first.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 155 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    Perfect for a Shopping-crazed, New Yorker

    As a native of New York City, I can certainly identify with the strong desire for the finer things in life. Even though buying Gucci or Prada is WAY out my budget, I can relate to the financial woes that Becky goes through. My favorite places to shop are hundreds of dollars less expensive, but I always tell myself 'this is the last thing I'll buy for a long time'. Did that promise work? The new Burberry scarf is enough proof that I didn't have the will power.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    A great story about love, and shopping! Fantastic characters!

    I absolutely adore Becky! She is hysterical and I love her thoughts, her friends and silly habits! I just finished the book on tape and I highly recommend this story to anyone who enjoys a good girly-book about love, a frustrating career, shopping and life in your 20's!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2003

    Enjoyable read!

    I read 'Confessions of a Shopaholic' and really enjoyed it so I decided to buy this one inspite of being very busy. However, it turned out to be enjoyable! It does lean toward the fairy tale side at times though. And sometimes I want to strangle Becky because of her stupiditity. She tries to rationalize every purchase but it isn't very logicial. I'd still recommend the book though. Truly enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    Who? Me? a shopaholic?!!!! Liked it very much!!!

    OH MY GOD!!!!! After reading Confessions of a Shopaholic and Shopaholic Takes Manhattan I'm starting to think I might have a problem as the main character has with stores, all kinds of stores...basically, with shopping. Great book, easy read (could not put it down, thus, very jealous husband!!), hilarious, a little on the fairy tale side, but that's okay, and anyway, who wants to read about reality when we have to experience it everyday, ha. The only negative comment I can make is that in the beginning these books are a little slow (and thus, the four stars instead of five). Anyway, read it, don't analyze it too much....it's comedy, and enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    SHOPAHOLICS BEWEAR!

    wow, what an amazing series....but i have to admit, as a shopaholic myslef, you think i'd be learning lessons from Becky.instead i find myself rationalizing my bad habits just like her...yikes! still, i give it two shopping bags up! i'll be depressed when 'shopaholic ties the knot' is done:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2003

    Funny book, but annoying title character

    I very much enjoyed reading this book. It was a fun, breezy, completely mindless novel, but I found myself getting completely annoyed with Becky Bloomwood! Yes, she was certainly entertaining, and I do wish I had her flair for shopping, but I think I'm much too practical of a person. I could never fully empathize because I found her to be completely irresponsible. But I did enjoy reading this, and I would highly recommend it to anyone for a fun book to take to the beach or the gym to pass the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    I can relate!

    Becky can justify every purchase, no matter how bizarre or unrelated to what she sets out to buy. A good insiders guide for men to help them understand that women don't have to shop - we NEED to shop! A fun, light, summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Painful, But Entertaining!

    It hurt me to read this book--it was totally me! Poor Becky...but at least I'm not as far in debt as she's been. I finished this book in just 3 days. It was so easy to read, each chapter was so entertaining, and I kept my fingers crossed for a happy ending. I enjoyed this book thoroughly, and it makes me want to go pay off some credit cards. I'm really excited to see the third in this series is coming in March 2003.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 155 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8