Customer Reviews for

Shopaholic and Baby (Shopaholic Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 376 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I found myself laughing out loud throughout Becky's adventures i

I found myself laughing out loud throughout Becky's adventures in pregnancy. From her obsession with shopping in all the chic baby boutiques, to ordering online and from the glossy upscale catalogues, to investing in "antiques of the future" for her baby's por...
I found myself laughing out loud throughout Becky's adventures in pregnancy. From her obsession with shopping in all the chic baby boutiques, to ordering online and from the glossy upscale catalogues, to investing in "antiques of the future" for her baby's portfolio, Becky was in fine form. Now working (more or less) as a personal shopper at a laughingstock of a store, Becky finds ways to make it soar while enlisting the help of an old friend. Familiar characters like Suz, Mr. and Mrs. Bloomwood, Janice, Tom, Jess, and of course Luke, are all featured prominently as Becky goes in search of the A-list obstetrician, the choice of all the glam people, only to discover she is Luke's ex-girlfriend and still carries a torch for him. SHOPAHOLIC & BABY is one misunderstanding after another, although it begins to look like maybe Becky isn't really misunderstanding anything at all. Is Luke really having an affair With Venetia? Will Becky allow this woman to deliver her baby? And what about all those baby strollers she bought? Will she be able to keep them all?  Quite simply, it is funny, believable and has a mother who readers should be able to relate to - or actually a mother-to-be. From the first days of pregnancy to other decisions, large and small, she is eccentric and lovable, in her own quirky way, fuming at her husband as he juggles business and HER needs, getting in debates with him about whether to learn the gender of the baby during an ultrasound, etc..great read. Trust me...    

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on October 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Give It Up

While I have enjoyed previous Shopaholic books we could have done without this one. Becky is so incredibly stupid you just can't believe the things she does. She is a spoiled brat and so obsessed with herself. The inaccuracies regarding pregnancy were appauling as we...
While I have enjoyed previous Shopaholic books we could have done without this one. Becky is so incredibly stupid you just can't believe the things she does. She is a spoiled brat and so obsessed with herself. The inaccuracies regarding pregnancy were appauling as well. No one gets an epidural while they are in labor and who would believe her water had broken when it really hadn't. Stick to shopping!

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 377 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I found myself laughing out loud throughout Becky's adventures i

    I found myself laughing out loud throughout Becky's adventures in pregnancy. From her obsession with shopping in all the chic baby boutiques, to ordering online and from the glossy upscale catalogues, to investing in "antiques of the future" for her baby's portfolio, Becky was in fine form. Now working (more or less) as a personal shopper at a laughingstock of a store, Becky finds ways to make it soar while enlisting the help of an old friend. Familiar characters like Suz, Mr. and Mrs. Bloomwood, Janice, Tom, Jess, and of course Luke, are all featured prominently as Becky goes in search of the A-list obstetrician, the choice of all the glam people, only to discover she is Luke's ex-girlfriend and still carries a torch for him. SHOPAHOLIC & BABY is one misunderstanding after another, although it begins to look like maybe Becky isn't really misunderstanding anything at all. Is Luke really having an affair With Venetia? Will Becky allow this woman to deliver her baby? And what about all those baby strollers she bought? Will she be able to keep them all?  Quite simply, it is funny, believable and has a mother who readers should be able to relate to - or actually a mother-to-be. From the first days of pregnancy to other decisions, large and small, she is eccentric and lovable, in her own quirky way, fuming at her husband as he juggles business and HER needs, getting in debates with him about whether to learn the gender of the baby during an ultrasound, etc..great read. Trust me...    

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Disappointed

    My main issue with this book is that the main character never seems to learn anything from her mishaps in previous books. Thus, it seems as if I'm reading the exact same book repeatedly. There is no growth in her she makes the same mistakes over and over and over. I hope the next book in the series finds her just a little wiser and a little more mature.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    Give It Up

    While I have enjoyed previous Shopaholic books we could have done without this one. Becky is so incredibly stupid you just can't believe the things she does. She is a spoiled brat and so obsessed with herself. The inaccuracies regarding pregnancy were appauling as well. No one gets an epidural while they are in labor and who would believe her water had broken when it really hadn't. Stick to shopping!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Incredible!!!

    This book is absolutely addictive! I read the whole thing in one day!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    I've missed Becky

    Working at a bookstore has a few perks. I received an advanced copy of Shopaholic and Baby and finished it moments ago. Reading about Becky Brandon (nee Bloomwood) again is like seeing an old friend after years apart and yet being able to fall easily back in sync as if no time has passed. The Shopaholic books are rare for the fact that they make me laugh out loud, and the latest work is no exception. Though some of the plotlines are a bit darker than previous, Kinsella still sprinkles even the most somber moments with wit which you have to read twice because you laugh too hard the first time through and lose your place. Or maybe that's just me. Either way, I highly recommend this and all the books in the Shopaholic series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Shopoholic and Baby

    I was really looking forward to this book and I was not disappointed it was nice to be with Becky again through this new step in her life. There was challenges as there always is in life, but more so as Becky gets herself into trouble yet again. While she seems to correct her mistakes more quickly and actual goes to Luke instead of keeping it a secret until a major problem it still seems that her financial problems continue. Becky even though she can be self absorbed in her shopping she is always there for those she cares about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    If

    If u like sophie kinsella u will like madeline wickham. That is rlly sophie kinsella and this is just her penname. The other books r good but the writing is different so so are the authors names.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Shopaholic and baby

    I havent read the book yet but everne is telling me i should and so were my girlfriends and if i cant trust my girls who can i trust

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!"

    I read this book 3 times in a row! You need to rea d this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    I enjoyed reading this one. Good plot, excellent writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shopaholic & Baby

    Thoroughly fun read - as usual!!! Couldn't put it down - always glad to see the next one that comes out! A real escape type of reading!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Serena

    ((Is she born yet? Oh, and sorry I dissapeared, I fell asleep.)) ~ Serena

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Question.

    Can I be a twelve-year-old girl?))))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    The puppy

    Sorry i passed out. He played around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Maria

    Yes go to next res thats the nursery k))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Liam

    Is carried there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Good like always

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Great

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Loved it

    She just so hillarious wish she could keep writting about becky miss miss her ... buy this book buy the whole series is AWESOME BRILLIANT :)))))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Fun read

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 377 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19