Customer Reviews for

A Short Guide to a Happy Life

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is the book that changed my life!

I read this book when going through a tough time in my life. I had lots of questions about how my life was going and I was the only person who could answer those questions. A Short Guide to a Happy Life helped me sort through lots of debris in my life and find a path ...
I read this book when going through a tough time in my life. I had lots of questions about how my life was going and I was the only person who could answer those questions. A Short Guide to a Happy Life helped me sort through lots of debris in my life and find a path to happiness. I have given this book to many friends at tough times in their lives as well and I hope it has helped them as much as it helped me.

posted by sheltielover on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointing

I like Anna Quindlen, but this book was dissapointing. I can't imagine why it's been successful other than brilliant marketing and the author's good name. Perhaps I just expected too much, but there is not much more to this little book than 'you should get a life, and a...
I like Anna Quindlen, but this book was dissapointing. I can't imagine why it's been successful other than brilliant marketing and the author's good name. Perhaps I just expected too much, but there is not much more to this little book than 'you should get a life, and appreciate it.' Over half the pages are taken up by unoriginal stock photos. If you want a little book filled with truly thought-provoking advice on living a happy life, I highly recommend 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' by Taro Gold.

posted by Anonymous on April 26, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Yicb

    Ivm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Get a life

    We've all heard the saying life is what you make of it. This little gem of a book is pretty much just an expansion on that simple phrase but it's really nice to see it spelled out so well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    A must read for everyone!

    This is a short, easy to read book but has such awesome reminders about how precious is life and the people we share it with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Nice

    inspirational

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    Brilliant

    Every word of this book is true - her clarity on life and our mortality makes this a must read!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    I loved this little book!

    It's a page turner, and an easy book to read in one sitting. I felt very content after this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Gotta learn to be happy

    This book reminds us that happiness is a state of mind and something we have some control over. I also enjoyed reading 'The Emotional Intelligence Quickbook' for some hands on strategies I could use to build happiness in my own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    A Short Guide to a Happy Life

    Like a simple proverb, this book is straight to the point, and gets to the matter, not wasting any words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    A Short Guide to a Happy Life

    I'm happy to have read this book because it made me feel happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Gratitude and life skills

    This is a charming book. I felt happy as I read this book, so it works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    Charming Quick Read with Lasting Impact

    This is a beautiful little book that touches the heart. It is written in a very warm up-close and cozy style. This book makes a great coffee- or end-table book because it is enjoyable and useful to read more than once. Also makes a great gift. A feel good book in every way--style, content, appearance....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    Small, Wise, Honest Book

    Brief, well-written essay about what's is most important in life, told with Quindlen's novelistic eye for detail. I'm also in love with 'I Sleep At Red Lights: A True Story of Life After Triplets,' by Bruce Stockler, an amazing story of how a man finds the meaning of life in the day-to-day chaos of losing his job, becoming a stay-at-home Dad for four kids and arguing with his wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Enjoy this book. . .

    I received this book from my mother's best-friend for my high-school graduation. She wrote inside of the front cover, Dearest Eva, Enjoy this book. My mother died of cervical cancer when I was 12 and after reading this book, I truly looked at life a different way. I beleive everything Anna Quindlen says in this book. When I need some direction or start to miss my mom, I read this book. It has truly crafted my sprirt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    Well written and worth reading

    This author gives you the resources to live a happy life. Read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2003

    Nuggets of valuable knowledge

    A little story filled with tidbits worth remembering. People complain that it's too short. So what? I find that life's most valuable lessons are inversely proportional to the number of words spoken or written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    So inspirational, meaningful, yet so simple

    The beauty and genius of this book is the fact that it is so simple and straight forward, yet the simplicity of the message seems to elude so many of us because we are conditioned to think life needs to be more complex in order to find happiness. This is the point so many of us are missing. A book does not need to be vastly complex to have wonderful insight and meaning. To those of you who don't get it, read it again and again. Hopefully, you will get the wonderful gift of her insight, she is trying to share with all of us....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    Excellent!!!

    This is one of the MOST HONEST books I have seen on this topic. Anna Quindlen deserves a big thumbs up for this inspiring book. I hope people read this book at least 2-3 times!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    WONDERFUL OUT LOOK WE ALL NEED ON LIFE.

    ANNA QUINDLEN USED WORDS THAT I HAVE FELT. AFTER THE DEATH OF MY HUSBAND (I WAS ONLY 30) I BEGAN TO LIVE MY LIFE AS ANNA DID; AFTER THE DEATH OF HER MOTHER. THE POINT BEING DON'T LET TRAGEDY HAVE TO HAPPEN IN ORDER FOR YOU TO LIVE A FULL LIFE. DON'T TAKE ANYTHING FOR GRANTED. LIVE FOR TODAY AND NOTICE ALL THE RICHES GOD HAS GIVEN US. STOP AND SMELL EVERY FLOWER. LET YOUR SENSES COME ALIVE WITH EVERYDAY. LIVE EVERYDAY AS IF IT WERE YOU LAST AND THEN YOU WILL BE LIVING A TRUELY BEAUTIFUL LIFE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    Good common sense applied

    This is a great little book. It seems like we all know what the aurhor is saying but we need a gentle reminder each day. If you are looking for a gift for a loved one, I would recommend that you buy this book and the book An Encounter With A Prophet and combine the books as one gift. Little is the only negative about the entire book. I wish there was more of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    A Short Guide to a Happy Life

    I really enjoyed this author/actress' book. Small yet spriteful. Lots of good cheer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2