Customer Reviews for

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella

Average Rating 4
( 3882 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1685)

4 Star

(900)

3 Star

(654)

2 Star

(315)

1 Star

(328)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

122 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

don't buy if you have a nook

don't buy this book if you have a nook -- Myer is putting a pdf version up for free on her website just save the pdf to your docs and you can read it on your nook

posted by rach35marie on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

84 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Who cares about Bree?

As a Barnes And Noble Employee, I want to know out of the hundreds of people who buy these just from my store alone finish Eclipse saying, "Bree is my favorite character!!!" "Didn't you just love it when she..." NO! Because she was a blip in a huge story. I think this w...
As a Barnes And Noble Employee, I want to know out of the hundreds of people who buy these just from my store alone finish Eclipse saying, "Bree is my favorite character!!!" "Didn't you just love it when she..." NO! Because she was a blip in a huge story. I think this was a waste of her time. I agree with the customers saying she should get off her High horse and finish Midnight Sun! It was absolutely beautiful and it was great getting a guy's perspective on passion and what that feels like. It wasn't even the fan's fault for Midnight Sun getting leaked, it was her own, which she admitted, because she lent out manuscripts to people. Why punish your readers?

posted by CourtAK on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3901 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 196
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    don't buy if you have a nook

    don't buy this book if you have a nook -- Myer is putting a pdf version up for free on her website just save the pdf to your docs and you can read it on your nook

    122 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Agreeing

    I'm sorry to have to agree with the masses (not my thing), but Ms. Meyer should really, really finish Midnight Sun. I'm currently re-reading Twilight (for the millionth time) and subsequently re-reading Midnight Sun for about the same number of times because they are so inseperable and intertwined. I'm on page 234 of Midnight Sun and the dread of knowing it will soon end before we get to the meadow saddens me, AGAIN. We know how Bella feels and what she thinks in each scene and Midnight Sun tells us how Edward feels and what he thinks up to that meadow scene. I enjoy the little things...like the knowing smiles and odd looks each has when in the others' company. This is just wrong on so many levels to cheat us out of that and give us...Bree? Why? I'll agree with someone else here who posted that this was a slap in the face. It really feels like that. As if Ms. Meyer said to herself 'they'll take any crap I dish out, so here take this and leave me alone'. Wow.

    61 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    Tired

    Now that the Twilight Saga has been published, will Meyers continue to rewrite the story over and over? Apparently so. In this short story, we get to see the world of Twilight from Bree's POV. You remember Bree don't you? She was a "blip" of a character in the newborn army that was saved for last only to be ripped apart and burned. Maybe we can look forward to "her" description of Edward's milky white skin as she's torn asunder.

    The one thing that has always bothered me about the Twilight series is the lack of character background. Meyer's has a great storyline, but spends far too much time on trivial matters and then glosses over the more interesting aspects of her storyline. It would be much more rewarding to see a series on the Volturi, the Nomads and the Vampire Wars. I would like to know how "her" vampires came to exist from the very first vampire's point of view.

    49 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more expensive than hardcover

    Can someone tell me why the e book is more expensive than the hardcover version. This is starting to make me doubt that I should have bought the NOOK. I guess if I want to read it I will just have to wait until the price is lowered. Shouldn't cost more to download than purchase a hardcover book.

    36 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Promising but disappointing

    I loved the Twilight series so I was excited about The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner & experiencing some of the events of Twilight from a different perspective. I read the first 20 pages or so for free on Stephenie Meyer's website, and I was reeled in enough to purchase the ebook for my nook. However, the story quickly goes downhill. It becomes mostly a chronology of events, there is no character development or intrigue. Instead of letting the reader infer what happens at certain points, Stephenie spells out exactly what happens for the reader with no fanare. For example, (Spoiler-ish! alert) one of the newborns disappears and Bree is left to wonder what happened. A few pages later, she simply states, and I knew that [the newborn who disappeared] was dead. How did she know this? As the reader, I was beginning to suspect it but the story did not allow that mini-plot line to develop. That's just one example of how frustrating and unfulfilling the story was.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    This novella is free in ebook (pdf) format through breetanner.com

    To everyone complaining about the price(I completely agree!!!), the book will be available for free download on breetanner.com starting at noon on the June 7th through the July 5th. So you can pay to have it on the 5th or wait 2 days to get it free.

    For everyone complaining about this being a short story and not a continuation of the Twilight series, go to http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/breetanner.html to read a letter from Stephenie that explains all that. This book was never meant to be published, it was something she wrote to help her keep track of the story that evolved into its own publication.

    She also says that because this was a bonus for her, she wanted it to be a bonus for fans, hence the free download. All hard copies purchased through breetanner.com, however, will include a donation to the red cross.

    I personally cannot wait to read this!

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    eBook overpriced!!

    Come on b&n! How can an eBook cost more than a hardcover when it takes no materials to make the eBook? Create one file and sell, baby, sell. That is all you do with an eBook. Shame on you.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    Important info!! Read this!!

    If u go to www.stepheniemeyer.com and click on Twilight Saga tab at the top of her official site then look of the left side and tap on Bree Tanner she tells u y the book was written, it was meant to ne just fun for herself and it turned out to be a short story, a novella, not a book and she got the idea to write the Twilight Saga: Official Guide and was planning on putting it in there but her publishers said no the it would make the guide heavier then the Oxford Dictionary lol that it would be better as a stand alone book. On the same site on June 7th as another reviewer said, Stephenie is having the entire book available to read for free to everyone as a gift to us all for supporting her. She clearly states on her website that if u want to buy the book to add to ur collection then u can and that $1 from each book sold in the US from the first printing is going to the American Red Cross. She provides a direct link on her website to read the book for free on June 7th. She also states that the book came in handy for the screenwriter of the movie Eclipse who had a ton of questions about the newborns and what was going on in Seattle, hint to the Eclipse movie!! Well I've rambled enough for this review lol. I can't wait till I get my copy and add it to my steadily growing Twilight Saga Collection!! Happy Reading Everyone!!! Also I think a lot of reviewers need to stop complaint about the prices on here, B&N has the lowest prices out the esspecially on new products. If u font like their prices then just look elsewhere but u can't beat the quality that B&N offers to all their customers!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    Read entire book in one sitting

    I really enjoyed this more indepth look at the newborn vampires. At first I thought this was just another way for Stephenie Meyer to cash in on the Twilight craze but I am glad she released this short story. I hope that she continues to write more books in the twilight series. I wouldn't mind seeing additional short stories that examined other characters closely. It might be nice to have a story on Carlisle and another on Jasper. If you love the twilight series than it is a no brainer that you have to buy this book.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    How do you know?

    I'm writing a non-review. Why? I read a couple of these reviews that give little star ratings and are quick to critique a book that isn't even available yet to the public!
    If you haven't read the book; how on earth can you critique it honestly?
    Me? I've loved all the books Stephanie Meyers has released; including the Host. I don't anticipate myself not enjoying this one as well. However, I will refrain from commenting on this new addition until I'VE ACTUALLY READ IT. Sheesh.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    Whatever, Stephenie Meyer

    Ha. and she thinks she's doing a favor for all the twilight fans by writing another twilight related book. most people will probably read it because "oh its's part of the twilight series. it has to be good." but obviously, they're wrong. it's not even a continuation of the series, just a 100-or-so page novella written about a small part of eclipse in the POV of some minor character who is in two pages of the entire series together. what's next, 'The Tale of Angela Webber's Father'???

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    DO NOT BUY

    Until she puts out Midnight Sun I will never buy another book from Stephanie Meyer. Who is this Tanner any way and who cares. People don't give in, we need to stand together on this. I understand her feeling got hurt about the draft ending up on the internet but she has a few million of us that will buy the book any way and it seems to be even better than Twilight. How could Stephanie go wrong by finishing and releasing the book. I am quite sure she would find all the fans very happy if she did. (And make a ton of money to boot)

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    I have to wonder 'Why'?

    Why O Why must some people write a review on a book that has not been released yet?
    Please wait, read the book, then post an actual review of the book. This is not a blog arena.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    I can read and re-read the Twilight series over and over again without getting bored, so I was sooooo happy that I could add another book to my Twi-hard addiction. I thought this was a great read. It's fun to go back and look at the stories through a different character's eyes. It's a character that you know little about when reading the series, but there is so much to learn about her. Stephanie Meyer really dives deep when she writes her books. I hope that she continues to expand the series. Her attention to detail (the way she adds little bits of info, like a private conversation between Bree and Edward) really keeps you interested and makes you think. I absolutely loved LOVED this book. Please Stephanie, DONT STOP!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    Seriously??

    OK...To Anonymous..the one that thinks Stephenie Meyers owes us and not the other way around...Seriously? I understand your frustration about Midnight Sun, Truly I do..I too would love nothing more than for her to come out with the rest of that Book...and she will when she feels up too it...Do not forget Authors are ARTISTS..you can't FORCE them to feel creative..it comes naturally and as far as her owing us..Im sorry and I hate to disagree but she doesn't owe us ANYTHING nor do we her..I am a huge fan of her books as well as you and your family are but you really should take a step back beyond the hurt and frustration you're feeling because she is a person too..shes not a writing machine put on this earth to serve us, her fans...Yes I do agree that, with out the fans, her books would be nothing but they ARE something because they are honestly just AMAZING WORKS of fiction and that is her craft...give her some time..Im sure she'll finish Midnight Sun but for now..Buy her newest book, because deep down you know you want to, at least thats my opinion I think you want to read this book because you enjoy Stephenies craft.. don't punish yourself by not reading it. And please, I mean no disrespect because you are completely entitled to your opinion and thanks for sharing it..I guess this was just mine.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    Before you comment on why Bree...

    Go see Steph's site. She states that she wrote this while writing Eclipse before Twilight was even published. As much as I would love to have Midnight Sun in my hands, I'll settle for this little Vampire adventure that coincides with Eclipse.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    disappointed with ebook price

    The ebook price is much more than kindle or BN harcover even. I bought the nook to get deals on new books too.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Had a hunch it wouldn't be as good as others...

    This one fell short for me...the writing was not nearly as good as other meyer books. At the same time...I wouldn't consider the writing the biggest draw for her novels...she is good storyteller and this one just wasn't a great story. I wasn't invested in the main character...I was mildly entertained and I do enjoy reading so I finished it. I think she can do better...not ready to give up on her yet.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Why not Midnight Sun?

    First of all this book has not come out yet so if it's good or bad I don't know what I do know is that Bree Tanner is not a main character. Bree is killed by the volturi in Eclipse and there's about ten page's with her so why did Stephenie Meyer's write this book why not Midnight Sun will she ever finish it and if so when. If she dosen't want us to read it then why is it on her website wich is my big question.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    Okay, let's be perfectly honest...

    It wasn't nearly as bad as it's so obviously being deemed by so many reviewers. It wasn't at all boring. I am a total bookworm, ranging anywhere from stuff like this to the classics like mansfield park, east of eden, sherlock holms, war and peace... etc. So, having had the pleasure of reading such an immense selection of genres, I think I can tell when a book is so utterly boring that you can't even bring yourself to finish it. I'm not saying this is an outstanding literary work of art, but it certainly isn't dull either. Reasons to read this book include:

    1. It gives you insight on the Twilight world that you can't see through Bella's eyes.

    2. Like the Twilight series, it's a short and easy read. I know a lot of the twilight book are 700+ pages, but regardless of how "long" Breaking Dawn was, it's such an easy read, you can finish it in a flash. If you really want to see a long book, read something like Atlas Shrugged, then you'll know. (my apologies for getting off-topic) Anyway, this book is a short and easy read, BUT I did notice that it was written better than any of the Twilight books.

    3. The Protagonist, Bree, is realistic, she isn't a mary sue character, she is weak, but her strong will makes up for that weakness, and she really becomes a lovable character regardless of that fact that she's made quite a few wrong choices. Bree's character is a 100% improvement on that of Bella's "Woe is me, I'm so flawed yet everyone thinks I'm gorgeous" awful characterization. She isn't a strong female role model at all. I've never read a book with a character that screams Mary Sue nearly as much.

    4. You get a new outlook on the Cullens, Vultori, and the newborn army.

    ... All in all, this book is worth reading if you enjoyed the twilight series, but in order to enjoy it, you have to embrace a new character as the protagonist. Just because Bree isn't perfect Bella, doesn't mean she can't bring anything interesting to the table. You just have to expand your imagination into accepting her. You won't regret it.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3901 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 196