Customer Reviews for

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella

Average Rating 4
( 3884 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1686)

4 Star

(901)

3 Star

(654)

2 Star

(315)

1 Star

(328)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

122 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

don't buy if you have a nook

don't buy this book if you have a nook -- Myer is putting a pdf version up for free on her website just save the pdf to your docs and you can read it on your nook

posted by rach35marie on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

84 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Who cares about Bree?

As a Barnes And Noble Employee, I want to know out of the hundreds of people who buy these just from my store alone finish Eclipse saying, "Bree is my favorite character!!!" "Didn't you just love it when she..." NO! Because she was a blip in a huge story. I think this w...
As a Barnes And Noble Employee, I want to know out of the hundreds of people who buy these just from my store alone finish Eclipse saying, "Bree is my favorite character!!!" "Didn't you just love it when she..." NO! Because she was a blip in a huge story. I think this was a waste of her time. I agree with the customers saying she should get off her High horse and finish Midnight Sun! It was absolutely beautiful and it was great getting a guy's perspective on passion and what that feels like. It wasn't even the fan's fault for Midnight Sun getting leaked, it was her own, which she admitted, because she lent out manuscripts to people. Why punish your readers?

posted by CourtAK on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 901 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 46
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    don't buy if you have a nook

    don't buy this book if you have a nook -- Myer is putting a pdf version up for free on her website just save the pdf to your docs and you can read it on your nook

    122 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more expensive than hardcover

    Can someone tell me why the e book is more expensive than the hardcover version. This is starting to make me doubt that I should have bought the NOOK. I guess if I want to read it I will just have to wait until the price is lowered. Shouldn't cost more to download than purchase a hardcover book.

    36 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    Before you comment on why Bree...

    Go see Steph's site. She states that she wrote this while writing Eclipse before Twilight was even published. As much as I would love to have Midnight Sun in my hands, I'll settle for this little Vampire adventure that coincides with Eclipse.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Why not Midnight Sun?

    First of all this book has not come out yet so if it's good or bad I don't know what I do know is that Bree Tanner is not a main character. Bree is killed by the volturi in Eclipse and there's about ten page's with her so why did Stephenie Meyer's write this book why not Midnight Sun will she ever finish it and if so when. If she dosen't want us to read it then why is it on her website wich is my big question.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    Okay, let's be perfectly honest...

    It wasn't nearly as bad as it's so obviously being deemed by so many reviewers. It wasn't at all boring. I am a total bookworm, ranging anywhere from stuff like this to the classics like mansfield park, east of eden, sherlock holms, war and peace... etc. So, having had the pleasure of reading such an immense selection of genres, I think I can tell when a book is so utterly boring that you can't even bring yourself to finish it. I'm not saying this is an outstanding literary work of art, but it certainly isn't dull either. Reasons to read this book include:

    1. It gives you insight on the Twilight world that you can't see through Bella's eyes.

    2. Like the Twilight series, it's a short and easy read. I know a lot of the twilight book are 700+ pages, but regardless of how "long" Breaking Dawn was, it's such an easy read, you can finish it in a flash. If you really want to see a long book, read something like Atlas Shrugged, then you'll know. (my apologies for getting off-topic) Anyway, this book is a short and easy read, BUT I did notice that it was written better than any of the Twilight books.

    3. The Protagonist, Bree, is realistic, she isn't a mary sue character, she is weak, but her strong will makes up for that weakness, and she really becomes a lovable character regardless of that fact that she's made quite a few wrong choices. Bree's character is a 100% improvement on that of Bella's "Woe is me, I'm so flawed yet everyone thinks I'm gorgeous" awful characterization. She isn't a strong female role model at all. I've never read a book with a character that screams Mary Sue nearly as much.

    4. You get a new outlook on the Cullens, Vultori, and the newborn army.

    ... All in all, this book is worth reading if you enjoyed the twilight series, but in order to enjoy it, you have to embrace a new character as the protagonist. Just because Bree isn't perfect Bella, doesn't mean she can't bring anything interesting to the table. You just have to expand your imagination into accepting her. You won't regret it.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Calm Down! jeez!

    O.k. calm down people! we all get it, you want more about Edward and Bella's romance, but haven't you ever wondered what goes through the mind of a vampire who isn't a Cullen?!? some people like me do, and i for one appreciate Stephanie writhing this book. you cant please everyone but just be open minded to this book. you haven't even read it! it could possibly answer some questions for you and help you understand things in the other books further. don't judge the book yet people. jeez!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well...*sighs*

    I love Stephanie, but I do agree with the majority of you other fans. Although I was excited when I heard about this book, it's truly sad she can't release Midnight Sun. No Steph! I don't want to have to read it on your website, and my eyes hurt from reading it online. I want it in my hands, and ON MY SHELF!! RELEASE IT! So what if it's been leaked, ppl/your fans will still buy, and still want it! It's not fair to us either. Think about that.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I HAVE NOT READ THIS

    Okay first off, people need to calm the ef down about Stephenie Meyer not publishing MIdnight Sun, and publishing this book. Be grateful shes giving her fans something even though Twilight is DONE. FIrst of all we all know what happens in Twilight so is reading Midnight SUn that necessary? I got over it like two years ago, so some people need to get over themselves NOW. Second, she DOES NOT have to publish anything, so how is she punishing us, she said she doesnt have the heart to write Midnight Sun anymore, so leave her the freak alone.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    The Dark Side of S. Meyer

    My thoughts...As a fan of the Twilight series, I enjoyed this novella. It really showed a different side of the vampire story. The flip side is dark, scary, and evil. The vampires are fighting for survival, status, and food. Even though I knew how the story was going to end, I was reluctant to get there. While short and to the point, this novella kept me interested and turning pages.

    Fans of the Twilight Saga will remember Bree from the books. This novella tells of her short second life. What I found interesting, was the new vampires' lack of knowledge. It was fun to learn with them what their strengths and weakness were. As with the Twilight Saga, Meyer did a great job of describing experiences through the vampire's eyes. Aside from Bree, we also meet two other interesting characters, Diego and Fred. Fred, who quickly became my favorite, has a special talent that comes in handy. I would love to see his story developed.

    Overall, this quick read will give fans another look into the world of Twilight. Don't expect to read about your favorite characters, but look forward to seeing the darker side of Stephanie Meyer's writing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bree Tanner, Newborn in Eclipse

    Stephenie's story of Bree is interesting and sad. She was definitely in the wrong place at the wrong time when Riley grabbed her and brought her to Victoria. Bree is smart when she finds the safest place to hide -- next to Freaky Fred, a vampire who can make people feel nauseous and unaware of him.

    Bree thinks she may have found a friend in Diego and thinks they could be more than friends if they can get away from Riley and Victoria. Both of them accidentally discover that they will not burn up in the sun and this knowledge is dangerous for them.

    For those of us who have read Eclipse, we know how Bree's story turns out. For this Ebook, I thought the price should have been a little lower than the hardcover, but oh well. I still enjoyed it and we finally see a glimpse of what the world for a newborn vampire is really like. We all know Bella wasn't the typical newborn.

    I recommend this ebook for everyone who is a Twilight fan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Loving Midnight Sun

    I am also waiting for Midnight Sun to be Published. I love the series and I completely understand why she is not publishing it, but I am not really interested in Bree's second life. I want to know how Edward feels about the first kiss with Bella, and how he reacts when she is not at the airport. I am the type of person who does not let people bring me down. I would love for Stephenie Meyer's to fight back and prove to the ignorant thief's who stole Midnight Sun from her, to publish it and make millions of dollars off the book. I will always support Stephanie Meyer's and can't wait for it to be published!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    WOW

    OK. Whatever you do DO NOT INSULT STEPHANIE MEYERS!
    SHE IS MY FAV WRITER!!!!
    watch out haters,
    Roxy
    (Ps press yes if you agree)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    Love Bree Tanner

    Eclipse was my favorite of the series and though i wish there was more, Bree's story is not one to be missed, it answers questions about Victoria, and validates suspicions about Jane's involvement in the whole Vampire Army thing, it really is a great book, and when craving more you can really sink your teeth into this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Short but interesting.

    The thing that confused me most, that possibly I liked most as well, was that there were no chapters. Since the story is told from a vampire's point of view for only a couple days or so, there is no need for chapters since she never sleeps and the story is continuous. It's a good, quick read, but certainly not my favorite part of the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Meyer Does it Again

    I think this book is so good! Not only does it give us a better understanding about what Victoria was planning for the newborn vampire army but what its like to be a newborn vampire. There is a good mix of romance between Bree and Diego and a mix of the darkness when Bree is sitting by the fire and the Volturi are there. Once again, Meyer's writing has made my imagination really roam free. Her writing techniques are deffiently unique and very very detailed. This is an excellent book to read and reccomend it to anyone who fell in love with the Twilight Saga.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    I'm Glad she's writing

    I loved all of the books. but Eclipse had to be my favorite. I;m glad that she gave Bree a story. she was brought into the book at such a crazy part, and then was just killed... I'm glad that we can see what life was like with Victoria. i do wish that Stephanie Meyer would finish Midnight Sun. it was a really good read.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I am a 26yr old mother of two and I have a husband who is jealous of Edward Cullen :)

    All though I am a bit disappointed in the direction Stephanie decided to go with the Twilight Saga, I am very curious. I'm sure it will be a good book, I love the way she writes. I am excited that we are getting a different perspective in Eclipse because it is my 2nd favorite out of the series. I can't wait to get back into the Twilight world, even though I haven't stopped re-reading the series over and over yet. haha. And I'm still waiting on Midnight Sun, I'm sure it would end up being my favorite because already what I have read of the ruff draft it was by far her best writing.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Happy

    I'm not really interested in Bree since I didn't really care about the newborn vampires in Eclipse but I'm happy to finally have something new to read from Stephenie Meyer.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Enjoyable!

    I enjoyed seeing things from Bree's point of view.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    A great addition to the saga, another surprise I was not sure i

    A great addition to the saga, another surprise

    I was not sure if I wanted to read this book when I found it, as noted by the masses this is not the perspective I was most hoping for. But since I had so enjoyed Meyer's writing style I decided to give it a try, and like I was with the entire saga, I was pleasantly surprised. It did give an interesting outside look at the family we came to love, but much more than that it was another fascinating exploration of another interesting character. I suppose it won't be a terribly interesting book for those who are only infatuated with the Bella/Edward romance of Twilight, but more mature readers will appreciate another really well written story. Bree truly is worth reading about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 901 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 46