BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella

Average Rating 4
( 3886 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1688)

4 Star

(902)

3 Star

(653)

2 Star

(315)

1 Star

(328)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

122 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

don't buy if you have a nook

don't buy this book if you have a nook -- Myer is putting a pdf version up for free on her website just save the pdf to your docs and you can read it on your nook

posted by rach35marie on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

84 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Who cares about Bree?

As a Barnes And Noble Employee, I want to know out of the hundreds of people who buy these just from my store alone finish Eclipse saying, "Bree is my favorite character!!!" "Didn't you just love it when she..." NO! Because she was a blip in a huge story. I think this w...
As a Barnes And Noble Employee, I want to know out of the hundreds of people who buy these just from my store alone finish Eclipse saying, "Bree is my favorite character!!!" "Didn't you just love it when she..." NO! Because she was a blip in a huge story. I think this was a waste of her time. I agree with the customers saying she should get off her High horse and finish Midnight Sun! It was absolutely beautiful and it was great getting a guy's perspective on passion and what that feels like. It wasn't even the fan's fault for Midnight Sun getting leaked, it was her own, which she admitted, because she lent out manuscripts to people. Why punish your readers?

posted by CourtAK on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3905 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 196
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    Stephanie Meyer rocks

    I am a huge fan of not only the entire Twilight saga, but Stephenie Meyer as well. I just read a naive comment from one of the "reviewers" stating that SM needed new ideas and she was basically just money hungry. Be sure to do your homework next time you review. She has apparently entertained millions with her stories and has generously donated plently of money and/or merchandise to many. Her novella is available to read for free from June 5 - July 7 and one dollar from every book purchased is donated to the American Red Cross. Keep in mind, SM was just another one of us before she was big, so do not be so hasty to judge. I appreciate her as a person, an author and humanitarian.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    What?

    Why do people write reviews on books that have not even been released yet? I gave 5 stars just to join this crowd. Hmmm, I feel dumbed down already.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    TOO LITTLE, TOO LATE

    After an agonizing long wait (while she revelled in the spot light and squeezed every drop of fame and fortune out of 4 books) this "Novella" has come up very short of what we devoted readers really needed. Yes, mor Midnight Sun. Get your big girl pants on and deal with it Steph. Be flattered that it was such an internet smash! Finish it! Sell it! Move on to our other favorites........yes, Jacob & Renesmee. NOW!! NO MORE WAITING!!!!!!!!!! Return to the artist you once were.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    Finish Midnight Sun

    I will not be reading this book. I would read Midnight Sun if she ever gets around to finishing it. I was a little put-off by her acting like a two year old.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hmmm...

    I can't help but think of the chapter in Anne Rice's "Queen of the Damned", written way back in 1989, entitled, "The Short Happy Life of Baby Jenks"... all about a fledgling vampire trying to make her way in a new, brutal world... seems it was all about her entry into the world via a "wild bunch" type gang of vampires who were propelled only by blood, vengeance, and a taste for violence...

    Intriguing.

    7 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book!!

    When I started this book, I didn't think that It was going to be as good as the other ones (from the twilight saga). But I was very wrong!! It;s actually another love story but pretty much attached to Eclipse. Sad because of the ending, but it is worth to read.!! Thanks Stephenie!!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BOOK

    I really enjoyed this book. The short second life of bree tanner an eclipse novella. The romance and the suspense....(wow)!!! It's a have to read. Especially if you're familiar with the twilight saga. This book kept me interested. I could not put it down. I needed to know what was going to happen next. Stephanie Meyer did an extremely well job in writing this book; and keeping her audience interested.... Even though I already knew the ending I still wanted to know how it happened, why did it happen, and so forth. This book takes you into the life of these new born vampires. It let's you experience how they felt. Give's reasons and answers as to why they choose not to trust each other or anyone. And it also exposes the lies they have been told. So, I totally recommend this book to all the Twilight fans and anyone who loves a love story mixed with suspense.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Who is Bree Tanner?

    Honestly, before I started The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner, I couldn't remember who Bree Tanner was from Eclipse.
    I soon caught on to who she was (the vamp towards the end of the book that gets killed by Jane and Felix...ring any bells?).
    I really liked this book! I liked being in the head of a vampire, and I really liked how different they were from the Cullens (or the "Yellow Eyes").
    I found Bree interesting and intriguing, and I read the book in one sitting (you can read it for free on BreeTanner.com --a gift from Stephenie Meyer to her fans!). I liked how Bree thought, how she acted (well, when she wasn't feeding), and I liked the mystery of the book, and how it keeps readers drawn in to the story line-even if you think you've had enough 'Twilight', I guarantee you will love this book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    I totally fell in love with the character Bree. I had no sympathy for her at all while reading Eclipse. This novella opened up a whole new perspective of the Twilight Saga. Loyal readers already know how Bree's story ends..oh how I wished it ended differently for her! Totally enjoyed this short story - Patiently awaiting Midnight Sun!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    WOW....

    Dear Meyer,
    I am a major twi fan and to be quite honest I am not happy with your selection on this book. If you are going to write any other books besides the first four, you should have wrote it on something we are interested in. For example, Bella's new life as a vampire. I just do not understand why you would give up on something that has made you a lot of money.I don't believe I will purchase your book. You have really let me down. Espeacially because you left me on somewhat of a cliff hanger in breaking dawn. I can't believe you would write a book that is based on twilight, but not with the same characters. I promise you this book will not do as well and if it does there won't be as good reviews.
    Sincerley,
    Once a Twi Fan

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    How about continuing with a 5th book of the series?

    What about continuing a 5th book of the series??? A new wonderful character was introduced in the 4th book...ahem, Renesmee, so yeah...there are a lot more things that could happen with the continuation of the series, not just little side stories.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What is this?

    You CANNOT be serious? She really wrote a Novella? This is crap! That's right Smeyer, just milk it all for all it's worth and when Twilight has run dry, why dont you MILK IT SOME MORE!

    It's a crap series and this is a crap novella.

    "Good for finding yourself?"
    Get a life and go read a real vampire novel.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    just another way to put cash in meyer's pockets

    i love the twilight series, but this book did not meet my expectations. basically just eclipse re-stated through bree's eyes. boring and not really entertaining. just another way for meyer to make money.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    Not at all what I was expecting.

    (We both have the same name, BREE! lol)

    I did not expect to like this book so much. Honestly, when I first found out Bree was going to have her own book I didn't understand why. She was a minor character and other people deserve their own books, but when I read it I LOVED IT! Bree isn't so bad a character like Eclipse makes her seem. She's a good vampire too, and honestly, I think SM should have kept her around. The only thing I wish she wrote more about is DIEGO!

    Anyways, it is a short book, it doesn't have chapters, and it's a good read BEFORE seeing Eclipse.

    I'd recommend it to any Twilight Saga Fans!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    Unnecessary Reading!!!

    I am a huge Twilight Saga fan. I almost always listen to reviews of other readers before reading a book. Although Stephanie Meyers writing is a little not quite up to par with great writers, her books are very entertaining. I was hesitant on reading this but I read a review that said it has important info in this book. False! You get all you need about the life of Bree in the Twilight Saga. Not only is this book not entertaining, but it drags and drags and when Bree finally gets to the battle with the Cullens an the Volturi, it's over. Please think twice about wasting your money on this book. If you would like, do like me and read it for free on Stephanie Meyers website.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    A Must Read for Avid Twilight Readers.

    I just bought the book this morning and finished it this afternoon. It was so exciting that I expected more and I forgot it was just a Novella and I can't take my eyes off the book. For Twilight fans, I really recommend it.

    I can see from a lot of reviews that they find it rediculous for S. Meyer to produce a another book before Midnight Sun. The book The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner is a point of view of another newborn vampire and in which a lot of people doesn't understand why S. Meyer used Bree's life in this new book. If you read the book, Bree's life is quite related to Bella, but in Bree's position she is much more naive on what is happening to her. It will also give you a vivid understanding the difference between how a regular "Newborn" feels and how Bella controlled her thirst as it was stated in Breaking Dawn. As far as I try to understand, S. Meyer wants us to know the life of newborn vampires and to compare how Bella faced the challenges of her new life compared to innocent kids who are turned into monsters.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Stephanie Meyer Twilight Saga Series

    about a month ago i watched twilight for the first time it was on the television and i was so intriguing that i had to watch it again so i looked trough the cable channels to find out what time it would come on again, then i found out that there was another one called new moon i had to go out immediately and purchase the dvd's, after watching them over and over i found out that there were four books twilight, new moon, eclipse and breaking dawn. i went straight to barnes and noble to purchase them all of them. i asked the sales person to help me and they suggested i purchase it on line through them to get all four books together but i couldn't wait so i purchased them individually all at the same time. i did't care how much they cost. i read eclipse in 2 1/2 days and as soon as i was finished i started reading breaking dawn i read this one in 2 days. i then found out about the short second life of bree tanner and had to have it so i purchased it online and can't wait for it to arrive. i love the books so much i am re-reading them all again. i can't get enough of this series, if i am not reading the books i am watching the movies. i have never in my life read an entire book before i always get bored with them and i am 43 years old, but i could not stop reading these. the books keep you wanting more, you don't get tired of reading them because you can't wait to see what happens next even after you have read the book when i start re-reading them i still have trouble putting it down even though i know what is going to happen. it is so hard to put down. i read all day on a saturday when i was off and realized i had not eaten because i didn't want to put it down. i hope Stephanie Meyer will write another book with all of the characters and how there life turned out about there travels and what they encountered and how nessie turn about after she has grown up and is jacob by her side. if you haven't read any of these books you have too. it's not just for teenages take it from me i am a 43 year old mother of 3 grown sons and i have 1 grandson and i am facinated with the series. i just gave the book eclipse to my sister to read i told her she would love it and i called her the next day but she said she couldn't talk because she was reading eclipse and couldn't put it down. Thank you Stephanie Meyer.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    ...

    I first heard that Stephenie Meyer was debating on writing a story about the new born vampire named Bree. It doesn't seem interesting at all and seems like a waste of time. Bree isn't really a significant person in the story and is just a background character. I'll still read it, but I doubt it will be good.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Craving Midnight Sun

    I agree with all the fans that are CRAVING Midnight Sun! As much as Edward needs blood to exist, Twilight fans need Midnight Sun!I know this story about Bree gives a different look at the dark side of being a vampire. I'm drawn to the Twilight series because it isn't your normal vampire book. It's not all killing & gore. We have enough killing & gore of humans in real life. This is so much more then that! It lets you forget your troubles. It pulls you into it. We need to see the finished copy of Midnight Sun. Absolutely cannot wait for it till come out! Till then I'll keep rereading the Twilight series. I'm not interested in The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner. I know it willnot be in my set of collectors editions I'm collecting.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    How can she not write about the second most important character in the Saga. Edward!!!

    I am so upset with her and her pride, how can you write books from everyone's propective,and not write one from the second most important character in the entire series, Edward!!! Specially someone I could not even remember Bree. I want to know how he felt. Letting a leak take advantage of her talent it's a shame and only shows the character of such person. Instead of writing dumb things about a new turn vampire, why not keep writing the one she already started from Edwards point of view, or about Renesmee and Jacob's love, how will that work and developed. There is so much story left to write about and potential, why settle for a character that very few people even remember. Seriously, is she feeling ok?. Maybe she will get mad about this posting now and stop writing, as she seems to let things like this get in the way of her visions. HAHA

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3905 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 196