Customer Reviews for

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella

Average Rating 4
( 3884 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1686)

4 Star

(901)

3 Star

(654)

2 Star

(315)

1 Star

(328)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

122 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

don't buy if you have a nook

don't buy this book if you have a nook -- Myer is putting a pdf version up for free on her website just save the pdf to your docs and you can read it on your nook

posted by rach35marie on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

84 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Who cares about Bree?

As a Barnes And Noble Employee, I want to know out of the hundreds of people who buy these just from my store alone finish Eclipse saying, "Bree is my favorite character!!!" "Didn't you just love it when she..." NO! Because she was a blip in a huge story. I think this w...
As a Barnes And Noble Employee, I want to know out of the hundreds of people who buy these just from my store alone finish Eclipse saying, "Bree is my favorite character!!!" "Didn't you just love it when she..." NO! Because she was a blip in a huge story. I think this was a waste of her time. I agree with the customers saying she should get off her High horse and finish Midnight Sun! It was absolutely beautiful and it was great getting a guy's perspective on passion and what that feels like. It wasn't even the fan's fault for Midnight Sun getting leaked, it was her own, which she admitted, because she lent out manuscripts to people. Why punish your readers?

posted by CourtAK on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 3903 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 196
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    lets all just be happy that she has finally written again!

    sooo i know its not midnight sun.. bummer. get over it we are probably not going to get it or will we who knows!? BUT she did write another novel based on the twilight saga and its going to be amazing! THANK YOU STEPHANIE FOR WRITING AGAIN. keep them coming!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Eh.

    If people read this without first reading the twilight series, it would make little or no sense. Simply, this novella can't stand on its own without prior knowledge of the twilight universe. Even with the knowledge, this book is incrediably boring and for what i paid or it- didn't get anything out of it. Why this character anyway? There is nothing remarkable about her journey. She was literally just a blip in their world and still remained insignificant in hers. I found the idea of what a newborn is like according to the Cullens vs what Brees experience was different too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The short second life of Bree Tanner

    If I'm being honest, I didn't really like this book. It was entertaining, even though I feel that it wasn't well-written and most of the book I didn't have any idea what was going on. When I first read Eclipse I instantly want Bree to be part of the Cullen family, so when this book came out I remember that Bree was supposed to die so I wasn't really excited for this book. I finished to read it in 2 days and wasn't really pleased with the end, even though I knew how it was going to end ever since I read the first page. Stephenie Meyer's magic that made me addicted to the twilight saga wasn't at all in this book, so in my opinion i don't recommend this book, but that's just my opinion.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Telling of an Unnecessary Tale

    I was underwhelmed by this book. I went in to this read thinking that the author would expand greatly on the part Bree played in the Twilight universe, however at the end of this book the reader does not gain anything. It is a completely secluded story that has no effect on the rest of the characters. This is not necessarily a bad thing, however, there is really no need for this book. There are no new ideas presented or even an interesting conflict of any kind that is resolved. In fact the conflict resolves around the battle which the reader would already know the conclusion of if they have read the other Twilight books. I would suggest skipping over this book, if nothing else read the free version online and do not waste your money on this novella.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    Extremely disappointing!

    I wouldn't recommend this book unless you are just borrowing from a friend. Not worth the money. It felt like she was just trying to sell another book - rushed, nothing captivating. It wasn't well written and did not mirror the wonderful writing from the Twilight series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    This is Ridiculous.

    I am as appalled as the rest that Stephanie Meyer has, instead of giving us Midnight Sun, worked on a book about someone I couldn't even remember at first. I have remained a true fan thus far: bought several copies of each book, watched every movie despite how I loathe the actors and their portrayals of my beloved characters, and I even bought the graphic novel despite the huge let down since I've been WAITING for Midnight Sun since it leaked. But no more. The Twilight Craze has gone too far. Give the fans what they want instead of squeezing every dime out of us first.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BEFORE YOU'VE EVEN READ IT!!

    I'm Super excited to read Stephanie Meyer's 'The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner'. To those of you saying "Why write a book about a character w/ such a small part? Why not write one about Jacob or blah, blah, blah?" In MY oppinion, writing a spin off about Jacob or one of the larger characters would be great but writing one about Bree & "her" world is genious!! We already know so much about all the bigger characters, what they think, what they're doing, what "their" world is like but we don't really know anything about Bree and the other small characters. I think it will be great to get a glimpse into their little world & find out what they think & how they feel. I think Stephanie Meyer has an amazing idea here & is onto something that has the potential to go FAR beyond this one book.
    Also, to those who say her adult book 'The Host' wasn't good... How old are you? If you're young, it makes sense that you may not like it yet but if you're 18 or over, well, maybe you're not ready for a "big kid" book just yet either. Either that or your so close minded you're only able to read books about one subject & one subject only. Vampires. Don't get me wrong, Vampires are great - really fun to read about - but there are SO MANY other things out there & in 'The Host', Meyer writes about something just as amazing & interesting as Vampires. I couldn't get enough of that book & when it came out in paper back and I saw that it had another chapter that would have gone in-between 58 and 59, AND had the book club discussion in it, I bought that as well & read it all over again.
    Meyer is an amazingly talented writer, & not just on the subject of Vampires. Open your minds. If you really didn't,(or don't), like the book, fine, you're entitled to your oppinion but if you're just saying it b/c it's not on a subject matter YOU happen to prefer to read about, don't review the book. And since NONE of us have read 'The Second Short Life of Bree Tanner', how about we ALL wait to judge it until AFTER we read it?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    ?

    Sounds dumb if you ask me. I dont really enjoy when writers go off a series and change it into another one by using a different character. Midnight sun was fine because it was just another point of view and it was fun to hear Edwards side, but if you ask me this doesn't sound very interesting. Sorry Twi-Hards. I love twilight jut not this.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You have to be kidding...

    For those who are die hard twilight fans may see interest in the book but otherwise, I believe that unless Ms. Meyer comes up with a new book or series, she'll just burn out. This series itself has been over-rated since the second book. Do yourself a favor and pick up something more thriling, even if it means re-reading the harry potter series...

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    What is she thinking?!

    Honestly, who really wants to read about such a minor character?! This is totally ridiculous. If anything she should write a spin-off about Jake and Renessmee. No one cares about Bree! I've read her book The Host, not so good. She should stick to books she knows will be successful.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    the point??

    Okay can anyone see the pattern here, this is the exact same thing JK Rowling did, except her short story was not pointless and was really just fun. So we start with a hit series and then are own little short stories connect to the book. I am disappointed in Stephenie for throwing a hissy fit because part of her midnight sun was released, so what pick up and move on with the book! JK Rowling 7th book's epilogue was published like a day before the book release did she care did it effect her no, the book is now a future classic!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Calm Down! jeez!

    O.k. calm down people! we all get it, you want more about Edward and Bella's romance, but haven't you ever wondered what goes through the mind of a vampire who isn't a Cullen?!? some people like me do, and i for one appreciate Stephanie writhing this book. you cant please everyone but just be open minded to this book. you haven't even read it! it could possibly answer some questions for you and help you understand things in the other books further. don't judge the book yet people. jeez!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    SM should move on with EPOV

    I'd love to see SM write post Breaking Dawn. Let's see some happy times for Edward. Yes, MS was great, better than Twilight, and it's too bad she never finished it, but at this point, we all get it. Instead of SM rewriting from Edward's POV, how about just continuing from his point of view? SM is the only one who really gets to decide what happens next. That's what I want from the creator of this saga--Others, such as the unfortunate Mr. Pattinson and the screenwriter we love to hate, Ms. Rosenberg, have given us their version of Edward's POV--and will continue to. Find the Dark Side of Moon for more of what you crave. But why waste SM's creator power with telling us the same story again? Give us EPOV, just give it new. Go Blondie!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really Stephenie Meyer?

    *steps on the soapbox* Stephenie, why the heck would you decide now to write and publish a book about a character who appeared in ONE out of FOUR books, and for what? Like a chapter at most? Yes, the fans appreciate something that's NOT Bella's POV, but probably would much rather prefer a principal character. Heck, as much as I can't stand her, I would take a book from Rosalie's POV!

    Yes, we ALLLLLL know how let down you were when Midnight Sun was leaked on the internet, but, dare I even ask the question, if this was a fear you obviously had, why would you put it out there for people to read? Did you HONESTLY think this wouldn't happen? Understand, your true fans WANT to know it from Edward's POV. Stop writing about insignificant characters just to get more money in your pocket, and give your fan what they really want.

    *steps off the soap box*

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well...*sighs*

    I love Stephanie, but I do agree with the majority of you other fans. Although I was excited when I heard about this book, it's truly sad she can't release Midnight Sun. No Steph! I don't want to have to read it on your website, and my eyes hurt from reading it online. I want it in my hands, and ON MY SHELF!! RELEASE IT! So what if it's been leaked, ppl/your fans will still buy, and still want it! It's not fair to us either. Think about that.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    WHY BREE?

    Why not Midnight Sun?? Bree was a very minor character, why waste time writting a book about someone so minor. it just doesnt make any sense and its not logical to do that. and the reason people are saying they love bree is because they love anything with the twilight saga. out of all the characters, the aunthor had to choose the most monor one ever that doesnt really matter either way. Like i said Makes no sense and it was NOt LOGICAL thinking there.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    excited

    I am thrilled to see a new book added to the saga. My hope is that she will finish the Midnight Sun book along with adding new books that give Edwards & Jacobs perspective throughout the series. It wouldnt hurt to give us another book detailing their life after Breaking Dawn. Fans want more. Those who want to leave the series as is can leave it or continue to enjoy the authors other works.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Can't Wait!!!

    I'm so looking forward to reading this book! I'm so excited. I'm happy that Stephenie is going to post this online. I won't be able to purchase the book right away but I know that I will buy it just so I can say I have the whole series on my shelf. I'm def. going to read it online so thanks for that Ms. Meyer!
    Bree seems like she would be a great character. I felt so bad for her. First she was lied to and had to fight in a meaningless war, then given compassion and possible hope of living by Carlisle only to be mercilessly killed by the Volturi. It will be nice to hear her story.
    I wish people would stop complaining about Stephenie finishing Midnight Sun. I'm getting tired of hearing about it. Yes I would love to see it completed. And yes I want to read it too. But if people don't stop talking about it, it won't ever be published. How would you feel being hounded all the time? I certainly wouldn't be in the mood to write anything. I'm just glad to see her still writing. Keep up the good work Stephenie! I'm rootin' for ya!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    Stop complaining !!

    Ok fans, you need to understand 2 thing before you make an opinion on this book or midnight sun:
    Midnight sun hasn't even been finished yet.. so they can t release it yet!! simple as that.. so we all have to wait for that one.
    And then this "Book", is not like she was planning on releasing this book, this was an add to the Guide(coming soon), and It became too long and they decided to just sell it on its own. So relax everybody.. I am sure Midnight Sun will be released once its finished!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    Midnight Sun please

    I totally agree with do not read this is going to be totally unimportant. I love the books but i am getting tired of these re-releases of the same book. I for one never saw the so called released draft of midnight sun. I did read the sample chapter from her website and i wish she would finish it. There is no use crying over spilled milk.. just wipe it up and start over

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 3903 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 196