Customer Reviews for

Short Stories For Older, and Not Quite So Old, Children

Average Rating 3
( 957 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(326)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(150)

2 Star

(105)

1 Star

(240)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

poop on a stick

this book wwas very interesting! i love reading short storiesthis is a good read for peiple who like werid stoeies

posted by 9535082 on December 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

Not recomended by Calif. Dad

I'm not sure whom these stories are written for, but not me and my 6 year old son. They (the 3 of them that were randomly chosen) are not interesting, funny or insightful. I am deleting it.

posted by gammon on March 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 963 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Not recomended by Calif. Dad

    I'm not sure whom these stories are written for, but not me and my 6 year old son. They (the 3 of them that were randomly chosen) are not interesting, funny or insightful. I am deleting it.

    64 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    quick read; not the best writing

    not a science fi fan. Definitely not a book I want to read to my child or have my child read. Glad I previewed before deciding to read to child

    51 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay

    I'm 11and I hate it but my four year old brother loves it

    41 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    a great story

    I would rate this book 0 out of 5 stars

    34 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    poop on a stick

    this book wwas very interesting! i love reading short storiesthis is a good read for peiple who like werid stoeies

    27 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    I can say only: Enchanting and wonderful! And it's free- Fantastic.
    I will look for more of these exciting stories.

    21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Lacking...

    Each story had a great setup but failed to effectively close the tale.

    If you are looking for an entertaining book of short stories, Move Along!

    A couple of recomendations that trump this collection are the

    Weenie series by David Lubar
    and
    M is for Magic by Neil Gaiman

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    DONT BUY!!! :(

    Like a chapter out of a random book! No bigining No ending! Im luky it was free! PS im in 5th grade!

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Amazing!

    This book will bring you to tears make you smile and give you laughs!

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    good stories for kids

    They have many good stories that are apporpieate for children and are good for writing summarys.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Balderdash!

    This book was simply horrid. Utterly apalling. Most certainly! This was so racist! Wow. My mouth is agape. I advise you never to risk your innocence and purity at the hand of such vile profanity. Do not read this book if you value your mummy's kisses. My word! Why, I never! Never have I witnessed such hatred in the written word in all my nine years of public school as I have in this filthy little book. I am speechless, struck dumb by the sheer bias and stereotypical malarky contained inside these electronic pages. Because I am now unable to verbally communicate with my fellow man, I had to warn you my brothers and sisters with this absolutely ludicrous reveiw.
    Though, absurd it may be, my nonsequiterous tirade has a dollop of truth smeared into the fabric of its very being. Everything in the previous paragraph should be disregarded except for the fact that you won't buy this book without later chopping off your fingers with a dull, rusty butter knife. It is that bad. It is a piece of crap. You will laugh about how stupid it was.
    Why, you may ask, did I type a review for such a inconsequential steaming turd. Good question. I lied; it wasn't a good question. I was just bored and am currently waiting for a meteorite to pierce my roof and then my skull, ultimately killing me. I've died before. It is a fairly wild ride. I just like messing with people who are weird enough to read some freakishly long reviews written by complete idiots. Yes that means that I too, am an idiot. An idiot who can not dance.
    Did you see that long space between "can" and "not"? I bet you did. Or you wouldn't be reading this right now. Ha! Ha! Ha! I can't beleive you are still reading this or scanning or whatever you think you're doing, whatever the case may be. Stop reading this right now. It is for your own good! I am warning you.












    You just couldn't help yourself, could you? You just had to see what the genius would have slowly typed next. You wasted a few seconds of your life doing something that doesn't matter that you are never going to get back. Live every moment as if you would drop dead in the next ten seconds. See the world! It is a marvelous place with an astonishing array of mind-plowing things in it. Do not waste this precious thing called life. It isn't given to all. They have a different role, but they may supplant you if you do not fufill yours.





    What is your role? It is spreading the kingdom of Christ. The son of God and man. Jesus is everything. He is an extension of the Father: the Almighty God. He is the mediator between the divine and us. He bore the sin of the world for you. He did it for all who will live on this earth. He did it in exchange for his life. But he conquered the grave and rose from the dead.
    Who is this man to say he can take your sins? He is the son of God!

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Good book

    If you like funny UNrealistic stories you should get this book. I liked it and I am in fifth grade. Two of the stories you might not want to read to younger kids though. They are both about ghosts. All in all,YOU SHOULD GET THE BOOK!!!!!! :)

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    booknook

    great for kids when time to go to bed. i think everyone shiuld it this book!:)

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!

    This book is not for children!! It has strange ghost stories and none of thetales make sense! Dont waste your time, this is weird and confusing! Its so hard to follow and the stories arent written or ended well! I would give it 0 stars if i could! HORRIBLE!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Neither recommend or not.

    It seems like some of the stories are not completed.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Stop

    People stop putting bad stuff on here! Now! And be a christan! Find Jesus! JESUS LOVES U

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    ok

    ok book was too short

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Umm..........

    This is not really good for kids i dont recamend for kids

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Confusion

    This is how I feel when I read this book. Well written stories that go nowhere. It seems more like excerpts of potential stories. If you like short stories that go nowhere, this book is great.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Get this

    Its intresting buy it for kids

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 963 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49