BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shotgun Bride (McKettrick Series)

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun western romance

In the 1880s their aging dad informs his three sons that the first one married with a child inherits the family ranch. It appears that the oldest brother Rafe and his relatively new wife Emmeline will win the competition as she is pregnant (see HIGH COUNTRY BRIDE).

...

In the 1880s their aging dad informs his three sons that the first one married with a child inherits the family ranch. It appears that the oldest brother Rafe and his relatively new wife Emmeline will win the competition as she is pregnant (see HIGH COUNTRY BRIDE).

Middle brother Kade advertised for a bride and six women answered. However, his interest lies in Sister Mandy who he believes is not a nun, but someone on the run. Mandy has mixed feelings about Kade, who she met a few years ago. She is happy he does not recognize her so he cannot expose her, but also sad because she so much wanted him to remember her. Though even more attracted to him then she was as a young teen, she fears that if her family finds her, Kade would become an expendable pawn especially to her odious stepfather.

The second McKettrick western romance is an exciting action-packed tale starring two delightful lead protagonists. Readers will appreciate Sister Mandy from the moment she trounces the socially conscious Kade) in a horse race. Though some confusion between the relationship between Mandy¿s stepfather and stepbrother exists and the resolution is too easy, this is an exciting Americana historical romance. The coda of SHOTGUN BRIDE is a wonderful setup for the youngest brother¿s story that will keep the audience breathless in anticipation.

Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slight Disappointment

Ms. Miller is one of my VERY FAVORITE authors. The writing was just a bit too heavy on the 'down home' descriptive lines. This book did not come up to her usual excellent writing. I look forward to the rest of the series as the premise of the series is very good!

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Fun western romance

    In the 1880s their aging dad informs his three sons that the first one married with a child inherits the family ranch. It appears that the oldest brother Rafe and his relatively new wife Emmeline will win the competition as she is pregnant (see HIGH COUNTRY BRIDE).<P> Middle brother Kade advertised for a bride and six women answered. However, his interest lies in Sister Mandy who he believes is not a nun, but someone on the run. Mandy has mixed feelings about Kade, who she met a few years ago. She is happy he does not recognize her so he cannot expose her, but also sad because she so much wanted him to remember her. Though even more attracted to him then she was as a young teen, she fears that if her family finds her, Kade would become an expendable pawn especially to her odious stepfather.<P> The second McKettrick western romance is an exciting action-packed tale starring two delightful lead protagonists. Readers will appreciate Sister Mandy from the moment she trounces the socially conscious Kade) in a horse race. Though some confusion between the relationship between Mandy¿s stepfather and stepbrother exists and the resolution is too easy, this is an exciting Americana historical romance. The coda of SHOTGUN BRIDE is a wonderful setup for the youngest brother¿s story that will keep the audience breathless in anticipation.<P> Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    WONDERFUL ROMANCE!! MUST READ

    Linda Lael Miller has done it again. The McKettrick Cowboys are always up to something or going at each other. Kade and Mandy are so much alike. This is a wonderful book to curl up and read because you just will not want to put it down and way this one ends I just cannot wait for the third book to this trilogy. You will laugh, cry and love all the romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    very very historial

    I love L.L. miller books.. i love this series. It was alittle much on the historical front but still a geat book i can't wait to finish this one and move on to the next in the series. and then get the new one in june. I hope there are more to follow with maybe some grandchildren's lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    Slight Disappointment

    Ms. Miller is one of my VERY FAVORITE authors. The writing was just a bit too heavy on the 'down home' descriptive lines. This book did not come up to her usual excellent writing. I look forward to the rest of the series as the premise of the series is very good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    A good read

    Set in 1885, not as good as the first but still good. i like the sense of humor and the story line. Look forward to reading the next brother's story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    I really like this series!

    This is the 2nd book of a new series that Linda Lael Miller has out. Though there is more rough language than I would prefer, I like the freshness and vitality in these stories. Each character has their own unique personality. The hardest part about reading these books is waiting for the next one to come out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Recommend

    good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    All time favorite McKettrick!

    This book has it all! Western gun fights, disguises, horse races, indians and a whole lot of trouble. By far the best in the McKettrick series and I've read them all. Such a good storyline and plot along with a romance you can believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Kaylee

    Ugh bye *kisses you goodbye and takes a bath*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Adorably Funny Romance

    This was a fun romp full of great characters, funny scenes, romance and action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Good enough but not great! Don't think I'd recommend it to a fr

    Good enough but not great! Don't think I'd recommend it to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Fall in love with the McKettricks!

    I love the story of the McKettricks! Yoy fall in love with the whole family. I really couldnt put any of these books diwn for long. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Loved this seies

    Romance is the wild west with murder means for fast reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended - The McKettrick Cowboys is a captivating series.

    Highly recommended. The story makes me feel like im a part of that time and place. I feel like i am living right there watching it all unfold. Linda Lael Miller is an outstanding story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5