Customer Reviews for

Show No Fear (Nina Reilly Series #12)

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Disappointed

    I was disappointed when I realized that this was a prequel. I find it annoying after reading 11 other stories to go back in time to find out how things began. If you can't do it in the beginning why do it at all? I found myself looking for inconsistancies in the story rather than enjoying it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    I am rating this book...even though I did not finish it!

    I am so disappointed. I have not read O'Shaughnessy's books for some time. When I saw this new one come out I took it out from the library. I guess I did not read the book jacket thoroughly enough. It's storyline was about Nina Reilly's pre-lawyer days when she was a paralegal and going to law school. I realized something was amiss when the character Paul van Wagoner was introduced into the story. I knew they had had a relationship in the previous books. I reread the book jacket and then realized that this storyline was going back in time. For those readers of this series, I think this fact should have been identified better in the book itself. This book is written as if it is first in a series and it is not. For those readers that are new to the Nina Reilly series you might enjoy the book. For me, I felt cheated and would have preferred the writers move forward than backwards.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    WELCOME POLLYSTEP

    Good luck!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Love Nina Reilly series!!

    I am a big fan of a lot of series novels and the Nina Reilly books are no exception. Great female lead who is flawed like all of us, but does her best to take care of her family, friends & clients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Great series

    Have the whole set. Love their stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Liked the story, disliked the reader...

    I have always enjoyed O'shaughnessy's books, and I've listened to each one rather than reading the printed page. It's been awhile, but I surely don't remember the reader being Dagmara Dominczyk, or if so, I must not have been used to good readers. Dagmara has a very annoying voice, no expression, and makes no attempt to develop a voice for each character. Her mono-tonal reading with that squeaky, accented voice is most offputting, and if it weren't for my liking the Nina Reilly series, I would have given up during the first cd. As it is, I am now on cd # 4 of 5, and am certainly glad I have the abridged edition. I can say with certainty I will never listen to a book narrated by Dagmara again. If Ms. O'shaughnessy persists with this narrater, I will read rather than listen to her next book.
    As for the story, as mentioned before, I am a fan and it has been very interesting learning Nina's previous history. This has been a slow starter, didn't really get going until the end of the third cd, and hasn't been my fave, but enjoyable nevertheless...except for the reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    THIS IS A GOOD TIME TO START READING THIS SERIES!!!

    I don't know how my mystery group has missed these Nina Reilly books in all of our years of reading together, but somehow we did. This mistake will now be solved as we have decided to read all of her books now that we have gotten a taste of the series with this prequel to the books already written by the O'Shaughnessy sisters.



    In SHOW NO FEAR by Perri O'Shaughnessy, the trials and hardships of the characters are extremely interesting and relevant to crimes we hear about all over the news today. Coming into a firm as a paralegal, Nina has high ideals and hopes, bur she soon realizes that there is safety nowhere, and she decides that criminal law is something that she is finally driven to pursue for all of those other people in the world who have been put in sad, hopeless, and fearful positions through no fault of their own.



    Nina has the love of her Mom and her young son, and her addicted brother, to drive her to provide better lives for all of them. When her Mom develops a chronic deadly disease and is taken advantage of by a would be doctor, Nina also finds herself dealing with an abusive stalker old boyfriend who now wants to be involved in Nina's life. This is only part of the many turns and twists that are being dealt with by Nina, while the murder of two people is also being investigated. Never a dull moment! Completely engrossing, this book has an emotionally driven story line that keeps the reader anxious, empathetic, and driven to know the "truth". Like meeting someone new and really wanting to know what makes them "tick", this book has started a new need to read!! All of Nina Reilly's stories are now part of our immediate reading list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I have been a reader of Perri O'Shaughnessy books for a very long time. This is the worst book they have written.

    The writing was disjointed, the story line truly not believable and I work in law. This was clearly not their best effort. I wasted a gift card on this book.

    It is unlikely I will buy another book by these authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The past should be in the future

    I have all of the "Nina" series books. I have always enjoyed the sister's writing, and "Show no Fear" was no exception.<BR/>My only complaint is I wish they would have written in the current with flash backs to the past. Already knowing about Nina's future made this book less enjoyable. We already know from reading her previous books about Paul and how they met, Nina's first husband and her son's father and her brother Matt and his addiction problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Show no Fear is Confusing

    Takes you back to the start of Nina's career. All the characters come and go in the book and, if I had not read all the other books, I would not have known what was going on. A little disappointed, but I'll still buy her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    Thank You

    It was good to read about my old friend Nina and see how it all started. It was a different approach and one I liked. Thank you for the fun and mystery to warm me on these cold winter days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    clever engaging prequel

    In 1990 in Carmel-by-the-Sea, California, paralegal Nina Reilly is a single mom who raises her preschool son Bob while attending law school. She is also very concerned with the health of her mom Ginny who is dealing with both a circulatory ailment and a botched acupuncture treatment while at the same time pushing for a malpractice suit. After a four year absence from her life, criminal defense lawyer Richard Filsen, claiming Bob is his son, wants a paternity test performed and if the results confirm his belief, he demands shared custody. Nina asks partners from the law firm she works at, Jack McIntyre and his ambitious girlfriend Remy Sorensen, for help. However, someone kills Richard and Ginny. Although she cannot see the connection besides herself, with the assistance of homicide cop Paul van Wagoner, Nina investigates needing closure for her mom. --- This is a clever engaging prequel to the wonderful Reilly legal thrillers. Nina is a wonderful protagonist with her plate full only to get even fuller. The story line is fast-paced and filled with superb twists, but most important the book remains true to the lead character¿s ¿future¿ tales as Perri O'Shaughnessy shows no fear with this deep look back at the paralegal days of single mom Nina Reilly. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2