Customer Reviews for

Show No Mercy (Black Ops, Inc. Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    GETTING BETTER EVERY TIME!!1

    I loved this story. Gerard just gets better with each book she writes. The characters had such great depth, and Gerard really gave them excellent back stories to reveal their personalities and reasons for why they are who they are. Gabe was the great alpha, don't-want-to-love-again hero. But, he was so much more than just your typical alpha hero and wasn't just a cliche. Jenna was a tough, yet vulnerable, very likeable heroine and the two had great chemistry together. <BR/>What I especially liked was the balance of romance to suspense. It seems more and more romantic suspense books are leaning more to the suspense story and the romance is more of an afterthought or just a sub-plot. Some seem to think if there is the prerequisite sex scene or two that constitutes a romance. Not so, in my mind. Gerard knows how to write great romance and her suspense stories are taut and nail-biting. I can't wait to read the next in the series. The excerpt at the end of SNM was really a teaser. It didn't even reveal who the hero is in the story! But, it will surely be great whoever gets to be featured, as she laid out the groundwork for the next books well. A good read, I highly recommend

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Gay knifer in da houseenhouse

    Not my acount just a pal if mine rp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    So far not impressed

    The story started ok. The set up seemed promising. But , them, I feel the characterization of Gabe and Jenna rwrre both too much.in areas and lacking as well. Jenna didn't know when to shut the heck up. Too pushy,which I know reporters can be !! But,finesse is needed with all men. Especially, alpha males.
    Gabe was better to a point, but that get going hurt, no matter the consequences ,naw too much. I'll finish this book and may try another. But I'll see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    I enjoyed the story very much. Until the end. Yes, the wonde




    I enjoyed the story very much. Until the end. Yes, the wonderful happy ending. BUT there was a lot missing. He had issues. She had issues that really werent dealt with. He just showed up, having figured it all out. Which leads to the happy ending. But as I said, a lot missing. How did he get there? What brought that life change on? A great thing about this story is the surprises. I wont spoil anything. But stuff happened that &quot;never&quot; happens in love stories. And this is a love story. Its also a great ''special ops'' kind of story too. I will be moving on in the series. Hoping that next time, we get the whole journey from &quot;no way&quot; to &quot;I want to be with you&quot;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    jac2848

    did not like nook sample

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Too many cliches

    Interesting story as far as it went. But the two lovers were too typical and too conflicted.... all this I can't do this to her, I'm too dangerous, I can't do it, then in a blink, Oh I guess I can and they're at it. And the goblins were a little toooooo tooooo. I mean, gimme some humanity please, even in the villains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    highly recommended

    Good story line along with romance. Read the entire series. Characters build on each other to make the story even more interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    This was the first story I've read from this author. I was excit

    This was the first story I've read from this author. I was excited because the other reviews sounded promising. I feel like I read something entirely different than everyone else. I like hero/heroine stories especially with special ops. The storyline was good and the characters were well developed. Gabe is definitely an alpha male. However, I found myself skipping over a lot of paragraphs because it became blah blah blah blah blah. It was repetitive and I was waiting and wanting more dialogue. Not sure if I want to read anymore in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Great series!

    I loved this series...I had to read them one after the other...and I love how it all wraps up at the end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Man Who Showed No Mercy Learns to Feel Grace

    Thank you to Buggy for recommending Show No Mercy, the first book in the Black Ops series. I definitely plan to read the next six novels based on this excellent beginning.

    After leaving the military, Gabe Jones and his "brothers" become part of Nathan Black's private security-mercenary-kickass firm "Black's Operations, Inc" (a cute twist on Black Ops. They're also known as Black's Obnoxious Idiots). Gabe is reeling from losing his buddy Bryan in war and his love Angelina in a skirmish with terrorists. Losing so much has left him cold and hard, with no faith or hope.

    Enter Jenna McMillan, hotshot journalist with a sassy mouth and spunky spirit. She had been covering said terrorist skirmish in Argentina when she'd met Gabe nine months ago. Despite his rough demeanor, she'd fallen for Gabe, only to have him shove her on a transport plane and force her to return to the states without a hint of returning her affection. The rejection had burned her, and she'd come home to the family farm to cool off. However, her editor begs her to return to Argentina to cover a hot story.

    Will she return to the land and the man that smote her? Will she run into Archangel Gabe Jones?

    OF COURSE she will! And their reunion is awesome. When circumstances force them together, we are all in for a fun and rocky ride. A thin layer of hatred barely covers the unresolved sexual tension simmering underneath. Gabe is downright rude but Jenna dishes it right back.

    "Your side." He nodded to the left side of the bed before he hobbled around to the right and sat on the edge of the mattress with his back to her. "My side. Any questions?"

    "Well, it's pretty complex, but I think I got it."

    Ha ha!

    One of my favorite parts of the story is the little stuffed dog Jenna carries around with her, "Nugget". What a beautiful symbol of her vulnerability---softness you'd never know by looking at Jenna. But Gabe knows. And he's the only one who can peel off the layers to get to who she really is.

    She does the exact same for him.

    Her smile was as brilliant and as vital as the future she'd given him. Then she swore like a drill sergeant when Holliday laid down a full house that beat her flush.

    God save me from this woman, he thought, and at that instant he realized that he and God had finally taken steps toward a tentative sort of peace.

    Lovely!

    The villain is appropriately evil and totally reminded me of the emperor from Star Wars. A side romance involving Juliana surprised and pleased me. I didn't find this first novel quite as emotionally compelling as Pamela Clare's I-Team series, but I'm eager to dive into the rest of the novels to drink in this romantic suspense goodness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Fantastic read!

    Be sure to pick this book up asap. It is awesome. But don't stop there. Read the rest of this series next (in order). The stories are 100% amazing. As long as cindy gerard keeps writing, i'll keep reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Awesome Book

    I couldn't put it down. Can't wait to read #2 of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat suspense and great romance too. Looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    Definitely a must read!

    I picked this up one day from the library because I was in need of a book to relax me and take my mind off things and it did not disappoint! I love mystery/suspense books with a little romance thrown in but have been often been left dissapointed by some authors because it seems like they recycle particular plot lines and characters over and over and slap a new title on the cover. Well so far I have completed "Show no Mercy" ( Black Ops #1) and "Take no prisoners" ( Black Ops #2) and have just began "Whisper no lies" ( Black ops #3) and am really pleased with the characters and plots so far. I love getting to know each of the "BOI's" and look forward to the next books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Romantic, funny full of action

    This whole series is great, they are funny, full of suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Show No Mercy

    This was a good book.
    Gabriel is a Special Op Agent turned private into a private sector of the government working in Argentina. Jenna is a news reporter who met him a year ago during a raid. She comes back home shaken from the events only to return to face her fears of her job and to hopefully find Gabe again.
    They obviously meet, and the tension between them is great. Jenna is placed in danger and Gabe has to face his worst fears of loosing her to a mad man that had once killed the women he loved.
    The story takes twist and turns and is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Too bad there are only three books in this Black Ops series.

    One can only hope that Ms. Gerard will reconsider and continue this line of very entertaining books. It was fun reading with just enough 'everything' to keep the pages turning. I recommend the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ!

    I was anxious to read this book after reading Gerard's Bodyguard series. I would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of action but who also wants to feel connected with the characters. I would definitely suggest reading her Bodyguard series before this one for background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Romance, Suspense, Steam & Characters you love.

    I loved the story, the characters, the action - every bit of it, cover to cover. Gabe and Jenna definitely had a chemistry the reader could feel and the story was riveting. If you're looking for a story that is action-packed, filled with sexy characters and scenes and tugs at the heartstrings all at the same time, this book is definitely up to filling the bill. It was a captivating read from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i love all these books

    i cant wait til the next one comes out in sept. i love all the fellas in this series ill be sad when its over, i feel like i know them lol. love love love her books...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6